The Proof is Here

Last night I posted a blog elsewhere and expressed concern about my missing proof for Legacy of Ghosts. The gods of the mail service must have read it, because the proof arrived today!

The snazy front cover!

I’d like to point out that there is no pink involved this time – only a bit of purple. But purple is cool. And so what if it ends up colored a little girly? I am a girl, after all. And besides, this book has a lot more romance than the last one did. Yes, there’s still killing and blood, but the focus of the first one was setting up their situation, and the main focus in this one is setting their relationship up and dusting all the little road blocks out of the way so we can move on in the next book. so, yes, there is less fighting and killing in this book, but they couldn’t and more “emotional” drama, but they can’t “grow” any if they have to spend every second running for their lives. I mean, how can you establish a relationship that way?

Anyway, here’s the back:

There should be a gray box around the quotes.... but as you can see it is invisible

So yeah, I need to darken up the box on the back cover a bit, and as for the text, well….

"here's a typo, there's a semi colon, everywhere's some rephrasing..."

Yep. I’m on page 76 and I’ve already found a few typos, inverted quotes and changed some wording.Β  When I was first doing writing/publishing research so many blogs and sites commented that a manuscript “read” differently on paper vs on the computer screen, and they’re right! I know it must be psychological, but it’s there just the same.

Okay, silly as it is, wanted to share that with the world πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Amanda

     /  September 29, 2010

    Cool blog, Jo.

    You’re right, they can’t built their relationship, if they’re always running for their lives!

    I know what you mean by how it looks on one way on the screen, and one way on the page. I remember typing some story, awhile ago, and I read it, while it was still on my screen, and I made all the corrections I could see. Then, I printed it up, and I found out I had to make a few more corrections.

    Reply
    • yep, exactly! It sounds and looks good and then POOF it’s printed and suddenly there are all these errors! It’s like magic- bad magic πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  2. I look forward to the more emotional stuff. πŸ˜€ I think in a book (books if it’s a series), it’s good to alternate, so you have periods of spikes where things are intense in fights and then periods of rest where the relationship gets a tune up. I know that the emotional conflict is still tense, but it’s different when you go outside the romance genre which is nothing but relationship angst. LOL

    The book looks great. I’m looking forward to reading it!

    Reply
    • Yes, exactly! This was originally the second half of Shades of Gray (it was all one book called legacy of Ghosts) so there was the killing/fighting, then a sort of rest period where they got their stuff together before the big end finale. I had to go in and add some stuff into the “rest period” or it would have been too slow, but yeah, not a lot.

      Reply
  3. I know the feeling of wondering if your proof has been eaten by the mail gods. It took forever for My Lord Hades arrive.

    I love the cover art of your books and the theme you have going on. Can’t wait for the paperback to come out so I can buy it too, and see how it continues.

    Reply
    • It’s like this horrible waiting game, isn’t it? I think someone has to be behind it, enjoying the torment πŸ˜‰ (joking)

      Thanks! I’m waiting for your next book too, you know πŸ˜‰

      Reply
      • Stephannie Beman

         /  September 30, 2010

        πŸ˜€ I’m not so sure it’s a joke. Either way though, I’m glad that your proof arrived safely.

        I’m glad you enjoyed the book. You’re the second person to say so and Ruth was the first. I was starting to wonder if it was any good. πŸ˜‰

        Reply
        • Ha ha! Like the evil book proof troll hanging on to them, maybe? πŸ˜‰

          Ha ha! Goes to show you that whole “perception” thing Ruth was talking about! After reading it I thought it was so good I figured you had a pile of reviews already! Though a lot of people seem to be tight with them. I guess they forget, or don’t feel like going back or something….

          Reply
          • I wish! Then at least I would have an idea. But alas only two reviews. I got my first paycheck the other day, shows just how slow My Lord Hades is selling. 😦

            I hate doing reviews because I never know what to say, and I’m sure their are other people have the same problem too.

            Reply
            • Yay!

              Yeah, I put them off because I keep thinking that I will come up with something really intelligent to say besides “This was a great book!” or “this was a pretty good book” (I don’t review books I don’t like. I figure there’s enough bad press out there!)

              Reply
  4. Jonathan Harvey

     /  September 29, 2010

    Thanks for letting me know there would be some killing and blood in this vampire novel. I was begining to get worried πŸ˜›

    Reply
  5. Sharon

     /  September 29, 2010

    I am ready for some relationship building πŸ˜‰ blood and guts are a given in their world. When will we be able to order a hard copy of the book?

    Reply
  6. I know, it’s so weird how things look different on paper compared to on the screen! I know a lot of writers who HATE editing/revising on hard copy, but believe me, it’s better to do both. That’s what I suggest in the Revisions book: Edit/revise on screen AND on paper.

    Reply
    • Exactly! And it’s even different from a print out to an actual book. I think its because your brain has different expectations from each.

      Reply

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    PRE-ORDER YOURS TODAY

    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3,697 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    April 30- Release of Goddess of Night

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

    • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
    • Graphic by Nina Paley

    • Authors db

    • Joleene Naylor

      Joleene Naylor

      An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

      Personal Links

      Verified Services

      View Full Profile →

    • Editing services

      devilinthedetailsediting
    • The Ink Slingers Guild
    • Awesome Review Blog

      I Smell Sheep
    • Awesome Facebook Book group!

    •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
    • My pet hamster!


      Get your own hamster
