Kindle Lending

Cover of

Cover via Amazon

We’ve all done it a million times. We finish a great book and loan it to someone else. Maybe it’s a friend, a coworker, or even a spouse. Regardless how close they are to us, there’s a pretty good chance that while we’ll let that paper back out the door, we’re not really interested in loaning them our entire Kindle device.

Amazon has remedied that.

The new Kindle book lending feature allows users to lend out digital copies of books they’ve purchased. But, there’s a limit to this; each digital book may only be lent out once, for no more than 14 days, and while it’s on loan the original purchaser can not access it.

By default, all DTP titles are available for lending, but if you’re signed up for the 35% royalty option you can choose to opt your titles out by deselecting the checkbox under “Kindle Book Lending” in the “Rights and Pricing” section of your title. Anyone who purchased your book before you unticked that checkbox can still lend it, however, but new purchasers can’t. Of note, if your book is enrolled in the 70% royalty option then there’s no way to opt out.

Authors won’t receive notifications (right now, anyway) that their books have been loaned, nor will they receive a royalty payment because no book was purchased. But, before you get angry about that, consider this. when you loaned that paper back to your friend/coworker/spouse, did the author know? Did they receive a royalty payment for it? The only difference I see is that Amazon has capped the number and duration of loans.

For more information, visit the Amazon.com Kindle Book Lending FAQ.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Sharon

     /  January 23, 2011

    smart idea. Nook is already doing this so kindle had to follow suit. The upside of lending is you get another person hooked on a series and they will go out and buy the next one.

    Reply
  2. I love this idea, I’ll be great to loan /borrow ebooks as you would a paper or hardback — this edges me to wanting a kindle as well as my Sony. Thanks for the news up-date 🙂

    Reply
  3. Now that is an interesting idea.
    I wonder if it will fly

    Reply
  4. Jo, I have never lent out a book or borrowed a book. I find it ethically wrong to rob an author that way! Just kidding. 😛

    Of course I have, and I never thought anything of it. I didn’t see it as hurting the author, and it was never meant to even hurt the publisher. What bothered me was when people would borrow things but not return them. Then if I liked the book enough, I had to go buy it all over again. *sigh*

    I don’t think this would have any significant drop in sales for authors. If they’re already popular, I don’t think they’ll drop down to poverty level. I can’t believe that JA Konrath will take a huge hit for this, for example. If I like a book or author enough, I’ll want to own a copy of their book. I think most people will be like that too.

    But on the side note, at least Kindle makes the people who borrowed the book give it back.

    Reply
    • ha ha! very true! I hate when people borrow a book and then disappear into the sunset, or even worse lose it and then refuse to have the common decency to disappear :p

      I’m not expecting to see it effect me much, one way or the other, to be honest.

      Reply
  5. That wont help me. Unless it’s Dr. Suess I am hard pressed to read a book in just 14 days. I barely get Dr. Suess done in that amount of time.

    Reply
  6. very interesting

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    PRE-ORDER YOURS TODAY

    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3,694 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    April 30- Release of Goddess of Night

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
