If You’ve Never Seen a Kindle….

The ever snazzy Kindle

Yeah, it may seem far fetched, but there are plenty of people who’ve never seen one of these bad boys. Until recently, I was one. Sure, I’ve seen the display models at wal-mart, but they never work, do they? So, when I ordered mine I really didn’t know what I was going to get.  With that in mind, I thought I’d share some basic kindle information with you. This is not a “how to use” the kindle article, but more of a “this is what it all looks like” post.

(of note – it is my scanner bed that is smutty. I thought about cleaning it, but I didn’t notice it until these were all scanned, so it would mean doing it over, and I’m too lazy for that.)

First we have the home screen, where your categories – or folders – are listed:

As you can see I am forced to share this with my hubby.

I was a bit concerned when I heard that the screens weren’t back lit, and I wondered how the words were going to show up. Sure, everyone says this eInk stuff is great, but the general collective and I don’t always agree. however, they’re right. The eINk shows up just fine without a back light, and is not only readable, but easy on the eyes.

Page one of Shades of Gray

Pictures do display, but with grayscale they’re kind of iffy. For instance, the Shades of Gray cover doesn’t look so good:

More contrast, please!

while some of the images from The Do-Nothing-Day came out pretty good:

The Do-Nothing-Day, soon to fall under a pen name

Okay, enough of the books. Let’s go check out the homescreen menu:

Experimental?

Yes, it says experimental. You see, you can do more on the Kindle than just read books.  For one thing, you can listen to MP3’s. Or, if you’re not in the mood for music, maybe you’d like to surf the web? Though it’s grayscale, the Kindle 3 has a decent browser. It displays html pages, like wikipedia, with ease:

The wikipedia page on Vampires

It even displays my google app email

some names have been blanked out to protect privacy

However, it doesn’t like ALL webpages

http://JoleeneNaylor.com doesn't show up at all

There’s one other nifty thing I want to share with you. You may have noticed that all those non functional display models have a picture on the screen. You might have assumed that this was a sticker, or that the device was actually turned on and just locked, but nope, it’s actually turned off.  Once the eInk arranges itself on the screen, it uses no power to continue to display it, so amazon has added these nifty little pictures to… well… I don’t know why, but they’re cool. Here are a few examples:

There's several images of famous authors, including Jane Austen

One of my favorites
some cool birds

I wonder if they have a picture pack you can get to add new images? That’s something I might look into in the future just because I can.

And lastly, I want to demonstrate the ever weird text to speech capabilities of the Kindle.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Irene Melgoza

     /  January 29, 2011

    You can browse the web, so does this mean you can also leave comments on web pages like MS or FB?

    Reply
  2. Carolyn

     /  January 29, 2011

    That *is* spiffy! I’m sorely tempted to get a Kindle, even though I already have a Nook. Cool stuff. 🙂 (and I love the idea of Stephen Hawking reading to me! LOL!!)

    Reply
  3. I love my Kindle. I have the version 2, but love it because I can read it at the park while my kids play. I can’t type on my laptop because the sun is too bright and the pages off a paperback can be too bright as well. But the Kindle is perfect, which was my main requirement for choosing it. lol

    You know, listening to your book on Kindle is a great way to do the final proof of your book. I’ll catch last minute errors that way that paper and even reading it on a Kindle won’t catch. 😉

    Reply
    • Yeah I am really impressed with the screen! I had such low expectations and it’s like wow! This rocks! (I just dated myself, there..)

      I originally wanted an older model, but they’re more expensive… what’s with that?

      Hee-hee, I have had fun playing with the text to speech 😉

      Reply
  4. Wow. The Kindle. So Awesome. I want a Kindle now.

    Reply
  1. Tweets that mention If You’ve Never Seen a Kindle…. « Amaranthine Night -- Topsy.com

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,491 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
