Six Sentence Sunday

It’s time again forSix Sentence Sunday, the cool blog group where writers post six sentences from a work in progress, a published work, or even something they are shopping around. It’s a great way to discover new writers!

(working cover)

This week’s comes from my work in progress, Ties of Blood.  Since I posted part of the argument last week, I thought the result would be fun to post this week:

“Yes, Mom, this is Jorick-” she nodded from one to the other, “-and Jorick, Mom.”“It’s a pleasure,” Jorick responded politely, his full lips concealing his long vampire teeth. “I’ve heard a great deal about you.”

Her mother surveyed him critically. “I wish I could say the same for you.” She moved towards him, her expression almost hostile.  “I suppose you’re one of Patrick’s friends, aren’t you?

Be sure to check out the other great writers and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment

50 Comments

  1. So Jorick was made to meet the mother… She sounds extremely critical. Wonder what will happen next.

    Reply
  2. Interesting conflict. I don’t think I’ve read a book where the heroine introduces the vampire boyfriend to her mother. lol

    Reply
  3. Oh, lol, but what does the mother say when she sees the teeth?

    Reply
  4. Sarah Grimm

     /  February 6, 2011

    Love this! Does she have a clue what he really is?

    Reply
  5. Can’t fool Mom! lol Fun six.

    Reply
  6. Ooh, the mother is going to be on a mission or fed on. lol
    Either way it builds up nicely

    Reply
  7. Seems like he might be in for a little bit of trouble. What fun!

    Reply
  8. lol interesting and fun!

    Reply
  9. Show her your fangs! That will take some of the critical out of her!

    Bwahahahahahhahahaha

    Reply
  10. Mom’s a stitch!

    Reply
  11. Not a good Idea to insult a vampire, Mom.

    Reply
  12. Mom’s are so particular. Really fun and funny.

    Reply
  13. Mom doesn’t seem to approve of Jorick. Great 6. My only criticism would be that I counted two adverbs in these six sentences. Not that I’m anti-adverb or anything, but it did stand out.

    Reply
  14. Meeting Mom. Yikes.

    Reply
  15. OK, will definitely have to add you to the ToBuy list and check your books… if all your vampires are like Jorick, I guess I can love them all! 😀
    Good job!

    Reply
  16. I need to go back and find out who Patrick is. You have my interest:)

    Reply
  17. I like that. I’m guessing she’s introducing a boyfriend, or at least someone she’s crushing on?

    Reply
  18. lol! I wonder if she’d be quite so scathing if she knew the truth.

    Reply
  19. Poor mom. I think she’s in for a surprise.

    Reply
  20. Ahhh, everyone loves the awkward parent introductions. Great post!

    Reply
  21. Sharon

     /  February 7, 2011

    The first book when we find out how the Jorick/Patrick/Katelina thing plays out is what really made me a fan of Jorick. Hands down, one of my favorite vampire leads out there! For you guys who haven’t read it, buy it. It is so worth the read . Yeah, I’m a fangirl 😉

    Reply
  22. Meeting the parents is always rough. In this case…she’s in for a surprise. LOL

    Reply
  23. You can’t hide anything from moms, and she smells trouble. Uh oh!

    Reply
  24. Whoa! Who has the fangs? Jorick or the mom? Very cool.

    As for Katelina getting him to go…awesome! I love it when the woman’s in charge. 😛

    Reply
  25. Guess who’s coming to dinner. LOL I have to admit, Mom does seem to be this vampire’s match. 🙂

    Reply
  26. Laurel Kriegler

     /  February 10, 2011

    He gave in did he?? good boy 😉

    Reply
  27. A vampire’s worst nightmare, disapproving parents!!!

    Reply
  28. Love it!! I wouldn’t mind meeting a vampire boyfriend

    Reply
  1. Book review – Legacy of Ghosts by Joleene Naylor « creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator)

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,427 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    July 7 9-10pm Central, Takeover in The Kitty’s den.

    July 16 Final date for submissions in the Amaranthine fan Fiction contest.

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
