Help me choose a Pen Name

If you’ve ever visited my Smashwords author page, you might have noticed a book called The Do-Nothing Day that is about snuggly teddy bears and written for a target audience of four year olds. It was written and illustrated in roughly 2001, along with ten others, and they have since darkened my hard drive. Though, I originally uploaded it so people with questions could see what Smashwords books with images looked like, the book has gotten enough downloads that I’ve decided to upload the other ten as well. However, I’m not so sure that mixing children’s books and adult books is wise.

My vampire books aren’t erotica, but there’s enough of a difference that I wouldn’t want someone to judge either set of books based on the other. I already have enough of a fight convincing people that my vampires are not YA (thanks again, Twilight), and mixing kiddie books into my account isn’t going to help. But, I don’t see why someone shouldn’t be enjoying them. They are pretty cute, after all.

So, now comes the fun, interactive part of the blog where you get to cast your votes on what my pen name should be! Leave your vote in the comments or, if you have a better suggestion, then leave it, too. I’ll probably cross post this all over, but in the end I’ll compile them all together and whatever wins is the name I will use.

  • J. Harris-Naylor
  • J.R. Harris
  • Roey Harris
  • Sintiel Quen
  • Nic Constantinescu
  • Alex Marshall

All the names come from various things I’ve done over the years.  I could give you lengthy explanations, but I’ll refrain. I will say one of them is elvish.

Look forward to seeing what everyone thinks!

Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. I’m going to cast my vote for J.R. Harris. It’s easy to remember and pronounce. My second choice would be Roey Harris. Though it might be a little bit harder to get across in a verbal conversation, it’s unique enough to make an impression.

    I’m not so fond of the hyphenated name. Alex Marshall seems a bit masculine in my mind. The other two are too hard to pronounce and remember.

    Reply
  2. I like J.R. Harris too. Simple and easy.

    Reply
  3. I agree with J.R. Harris. The simplicity is why. I’d be able to remember that name better off the top of my head, and I think it also says ‘Children’s Author’ better than the others. I can see a kid having an easier time saying it as well. Roey would be my second choice.

    Now, should you venture down the erotic path, I can see Sintiel Quen being pretty cool for that. 😉

    Reply
  4. Sharon Clark

     /  February 9, 2011

    I like Roey Harris. I think it rolls off the tongue nicely and just kind of sounds fun and young. I *think* I could guess which one is Elvish, LOL! J.R. Harris would be a second choice for me, but I’ll bet you have a leaning already…

    🙂

    Reply
  5. My first choice was Roey Harris, but then I changed my mind. I always thought if I had a pen name, I’d keep my first name. In case the books became wildly popular and I had to do TV appearances. What if I used a different first name for my pseudonym and the interviewer called me by it? I might sit there with a stupid look on my face, wondering who she’s talking to.

    So I’ll pick J.R. Harris. Besides, look how good initials worked for JK Rowling.

    Reply
    • You know, I never thought of that! That would be embarrassing, wouldn’t it? Just sitting there, staring into space while everyone;s waiting!

      Tolkien and VC Andrews did pretty good with initials, too 😉 Different genres, though, LOL!

      Reply
  6. Bonnie Mutchler

     /  February 9, 2011

    J>R. Harris

    Reply
  7. I vote for JR Harris, it’s flows well and it’s memorable, easy to remember as well.

    Reply
  8. For my vote I say you use Jo Naylor. I know it’s not on the list, but I think I might be easier for people to remember, especially kids.

    Reply
  9. Call yourself (and i mean this purely in a jokey kind of way, not nasty at all)
    Because of the vampire theme you could call yourself ‘the bloody woman’
    I think that would catch the interest of many people

    Reply
  10. Sharon

     /  February 11, 2011

    JR Harris will attract the most attention. There are so many famous JR’s and Harris’s out there .

    Reply
  11. I like Stephannie Beman suggestion! So, will you open another Smashwords account? I’m asking because I plan on using different pen-names too to write in different genres… so I guess it means more than one account, right? Sigh…

    Reply
    • Counting Jonathan that makes three 😉

      Yeah, as far as I can see it involves having more than one account. The one I most curious about is how to transfer the book to another author I wrote Mark and he said yes, I could do that, but not sure how, so will have to mail them again when I get ready to do it. This also means a second email address, all for freebies, LOL!

      Reply
  12. I’ve seen yesterday the option “Update to Publisher status” which is also for Authors that use two or more pen-names… I think I’ll try that one (I do have my own “imprint” on Lulu, Unicorn Productions, I could apply it to Smashwords as well…) at least on Smashwords (still need a Unicorn Productions e-mail account)… what do you think?

    Reply
    • Oh yeah! If you have an imprint already I bet that would be way easier! You might not even need more than one account, that way. I like that name, by the way. Unicorn Productions 🙂

      Reply
  13. What if you went with “J. Triple R. Harris” That would be something

    Reply
  1. Tweets that mention Help me choose a Pen Name « Amaranthine Night -- Topsy.com

Share your dark side...

  • A Year of Short Stories

    A year of short stories kicks off with the Tales of the Executioners!

    Free short stories from the world of Amaranthine; a universe of blood and darkness where vampires don't sparkle and night is eternal. Each is about a member of the Executioners squad; the special vampire "police" force. Members both past and present share stories of assignments, origins, and more.

    Dark, light, love, laughter, death...you never know what you'll find in the shadows.

    Get all the details, including a list of available titles!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,534 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    Cocoa Cup Giveaway – enter for your chance at a vampire mug and cocoa.

     

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
