Six Sentence Sunday

It’s time for Six Sentence Sunday, the fun group where participants post six sentences of something – a WIP, a published work, a contracted work, you name it.

This week’s six sentences come from my WIP Ties of blood. They’re about as rough as you can get.

(working cover)

A coyote called loudly in the distance, and the hair on the back of her neck stood up in response. She licked her lips, and tried to quiet her pounding heart. It was so loud that she couldn’t hear anything over it. Fighting for calm, she drew a tight, strangled breath and then something very near her moved.

A hand grabbed her shoulder and a scream tore from her lips. She tried to fight off her attacker, but strong hands held her arms to her sides and pinned her to the tree. The bark was rough, even through her coat, and their blood scented breath was warm in her face.

 

Be sure and check out the other participants and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. I’d be so sacred, I’m not sure if I’d be able to scream. Nice six!

    Reply
    • I know what you mean, Jessica. 🙂 My mother is a silent screamer. Wide eyes, open mouth, but not a peep comes out. Scaring the crap out her is a blast.

      Reply
  2. EKKK! Nail biting scene…omg classic example of why six just isn’t enough sometimes LOL

    Reply
  3. Sarah Grimm

     /  February 13, 2011

    Holy cats! I’d have swallowed my tongue. Great six, Joleene! Looking forward to reading more.

    Reply
  4. Who’s on the cover of this one?

    Reply
  5. Scary! I love it!

    Reply
  6. wonderful six. My kind of read!

    Reply
  7. Oh that’s creepy…the blood scented breath!

    Reply
  8. Great scene! Great drama!

    Reply
  9. Oooh, scary. Definitely makes me what to find out what happens next.

    Reply
  10. Great description! Powerful.

    Reply
  11. I loved it! I want to read more! 🙂

    Reply
  12. Either it’s a friend disguising himself, or a foe about to drag her off for killing.

    Reply
  13. Good writing. You painted the night scene to set it up.

    Reply
  14. laurijowen

     /  February 13, 2011

    Nice set up!

    Reply
  15. Nice descriptive snippet!

    Reply
  16. Eek! Nice and scary!

    Reply
  17. Ykes! That’s a tough 6! °___°

    Reply
  18. Bonnie

     /  March 7, 2011

    I’d be in trouble! I can’t scream, lol. Great sentences!

    Reply
  19. I don’t think I want to answer when that cayote calls.

    Reply
  1. Tweets that mention Six Sentence Sunday « Amaranthine Night -- Topsy.com

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,427 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    July 7 9-10pm Central, Takeover in The Kitty’s den.

    July 16 Final date for submissions in the Amaranthine fan Fiction contest.

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
