Spring Cleaning

In the last couple of days I’ve done some blog spring cleaning (yes, it’s the only spring cleaning I plan to do, so if you’re looking for a house to clean I have one for you. 😉 ). Anyway, I thought I’d take a moment and share my efforts.

*tour guide voice*

If you will look at the top of the page you will see a handy little row of links. Some of those links have always been there, such as the About Joleene Naylor , More Indie Authors and the All My Projects , though they got a bit of a dusting off.

A couple of the links up there are new, however. The Free & Cheap Resources is exactly that; a list of places to get free or cheap stock photos, illustrations, video clips, sound clips, music and more. Why would you want that stuff? For book covers, book illustrations, book trailers, websites, etc.

For Links You Should Know I took that long, long list of links that was cluttering the sidebar to the right and moved them all to a page instead. If I don’t have your link and you’d like me to add it drop me a line (email address is on my About page) or leave a comment.

And now if you will divert your attention to the right you will see some more tidying has occurred. You might notice the super spiffy little heading graphics? I think they’re much easier to see than the font that comes with this theme (and though I did consider swapping themes, I rejected it because I like this one!) The links  are still pretty much the same, though; there’s my books, the Vampire Morsels that have made it to Smashwords (Hopefully I will get it in gear and get the rest there!) , tags-n- banners, about me, the cool post calendar and a truncated list of links.

As for my other blogs, the most exiting thing is that I’ve added a feedburner subscription box to my From the Shadows blogspot blog. This lets you sign up for email notifications of the blog. Though some people swear by RSS, I like the mail subscriptions better because the last thing i need is another place I have to check! I also added my books to the sidebar and tidied links and such.

And on the Ramblings from the Darkness I took out the “about this blog” and replaced it with “13 Questions” that I get asked regularly.

The Pen Name:

You might remember that I ran a poll about what pen name to use on my children’s books. They were originally written and illustrated several years ago (like ten maybe?) but I thought I’d share them on smashwords as freebies. It was close, but when all was said and done Roey Harris won. I finally got the Smashwords account set up and the first book, Moving Day, uploaded.  I need to transfer The Do-Nothing Day over, still (though it got a brand new cover).

What’s Next?

That’s the Question, isn’t it? I’m going to continue to do Six Sentence Sunday and we have a few more Tuesdays with Terry (five I believe), and I am going to get back to the vampire morsels I hope. (I have Claudius started as I type this!). Other than that, I have some random thoughts, but I want to know what you guys are interested in seeing.  More articles on self publishing topics? How to topics? A weekly fun video? Interviews with characters from other books? Interviews with other indy authors?  More random vampire coverage? Or is there something else you’d like to see? Drop a comment and let me know!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. yes I can be your project

    and I forgot you did kid books – I still require assistance

    Crimson is mostly done – can’t bloggy it as the prompts suck but will read it in kid lit class on the 31 – someone else is reading her kid book she just wrote – actually crimson and gang is kid book for adults, apparently, according to class mate

    and yes someday – soon – I will catch up with the e mails

    spring cleaning ? I haven’t done fall cleaning !

    Thanks for the 13 questions – we sure do have stuff in common

    and I copies the free cheap resources

    and no time now to babbble – I did my bloggy called babble becuase the prompts sucked though some people did really really creative poems

    babble babble – g’nite

    Reply
    • yay! Ned to check my mail and see if you sent it to me, then! 😀 I think ti will boil down to how you handle the wording and how you handle them drinking blood as to whether it is a kid book for kids or not.

      Prompts have not been so great lately. Usually two good ones and one that is like “eh?”

      Reply
  2. Now is as good a time as any to get the blogs cleaned up. I, for one, thank you for the email subscriptions. I’ll forget to check otherwise.

    Thanks for the info on the children’s author pen name. I will read my kids the story this weekend and review it based on what they said. 😀 Who better to speak than the kids for a kid’s book?

    Can I ask what type of blog posts get you the most hits? Are there two topics that seem to get people’s attention more than the others? I like the short stories and publishing/writing/etc topics, I’m also a writer so that is easy to figure out. 😀

    Reply
    • ha! That’s the bizarre thing! My top posts (not counting six sentence sunday) have been Vampire paper Dolls, Vampire Sex, Tuesdays with Terry, Author Excerpts and the Arowenia short story. *shakes head* so it’s vampires in general, writing stuff and short stories as my top, LOL!

      yes! I am an email subscriber, too! So many people swear by RSS but, eh.

      Reply
      • I hate RSS. I need an email to remind me to check out a post because I’m so busy I’ll forget otherwise.

        I would focus on the areas you’re getting the most hits. Vampire stuff probably attracts your readers, so I’d definitely do that. 😀 The Terry posts are fun.

        It’s good your short stories are up there. Hopefully, it’s intriguing people enough to share them and then they’ll want to check out your books.

        Reply
  3. Here’s an idea.
    You could do like vampires murder case studies.
    And break then down into how the hell it happened. lol
    Perhaps even some comedy ones

    Reply
  4. I’m gonna go and try to take up more of your time bwa ha ha ha ha

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,536 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
