Do you…..

Like polls? Yeah, I do, too. There’s something about voicing my opinion that just makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside. If you like it too, then read on, as there are not one but three chances for you to chime in!

I’ve been trying to decide whether to publish my short Vampire Morsels on Amazon or not.  So, I thought I’d get the opinion of the world at large about short stories and prices in general!

and…

and…

and…..

Thanks for stopping in and – hopefully – leaving your vote 🙂

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. OK, I giggled at the black cover one! Here’s my take on it: “Um…I’d like to buy vampire story number 3,218. Yup! It’s the one with a black cover on it!” He! He! I’ve read your reasoning on the non-black cover issue, and I think it’s a valid point! Why is it that they ALL have a black cover? Who decided this in the first place? Romance story? Half-naked couple on the front. Vampire story? Black cover with blood. I LOVE a good vampire story. I like that your covers are creative and NOT cliche. JH

    Reply
  2. Voted.

    I prefer short stories, actually

    Eh, maybe, if I liked the author

    I doubt I’d notice

    Yes, but for the love of all vampires change the cover! Can’t we have some black? LOL sorry, I love black and that answer amused me so I had to go with it 😀

    Reply
  3. I think Amazon is a good idea, but I did choose other on the last one and added ‘as a collection’ which means putting a few shorts together at the $0.99 point. The trouble I’ve noticed is that authors get 1-star reviews for their books being ‘too short’, even though the author listed the word count, mentioned it was a short story, and priced it as low as they could. It really pisses me off that people are that petty with their dollar that they’ll have a fit over it. I can’t say putting it in a collection will buffer you entirely, but maybe your chances will be better of not getting them and people might be less likely to return them in order to read your stories ‘for free’. There’s a new fad going around where readers are buying Kindle books just to return them when they’re through reading them. I could go on, but I’d probably started ranting.

    If you do it, let me know so I can post a review over there for you. 😀

    Reply
    • That should be ‘start ranting’, though when I think about it, I already did start ranting about 1/3 of the way into the comment. lol

      Reply
    • That’s what I’m worried about, too. When they’re all done I’m planning to put them together into a single book and put it on Amazon and Smashwords for a price and in the meantime I was supposed to just keep putting the shorts up on Smashwords only as freebies, but it’s taking lots longer than I planed… I think it may depend on the genre. From what I understand erotica shorts do well, but these are hardly erotica…

      Reply
  4. I voted, i wrote on the third one ‘i’d buy myself a machine gun’ in the hope it would make people laugh but it only showed up as other. such a shame. ah well.
    You should put everything up everywhere because there is so much clutter on line, you need as many platforms as possible to be seen

    Reply
  5. It certainly doesn’t hurt. Lindsay Buroker posted on the topic today on her blog: http://www.lindsayburoker.com/e-publishing/how-well-does-short-fiction-sell-in-ebook-form/

    Reply
  6. Polling. it’s funner than the fun fun funnest
    Do you think there is more fun in polls.

    1 Yes
    2 No
    3 Only if there is chocolate
    4 Zoink

    Reply
  7. nice number 4 answer 😉

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,536 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
