Dark Shadows Synopsis Released

Dark Shadows

Image via Wikipedia

Slated for a May, 2012 release, the remake of Dark Shadows starring Johnny Depp as the infamous Barnabas Collins looks like it’s going to not only be pretty faithful to the original plot line, but also just a darn good movie. Of course, I may be biased as I am a fan not only of the original franchise, but also of Depp and his efforts with Tim Burton (except Edward Scissor Hands.. I dunno, that one just didn’t “do it”)

And here it is:

In the year 1752,Joshua and Naomi Collins, with young son Barnabas, set sail from Liverpool, England to start a new life in America. But even an ocean was not enough to escape the mysterious curse that has plagued their family. Two decades pass and Barnabas (Johnny Depp) has the world at his feet—or at least the town of Collinsport, Maine. The master of Collinwood Manor, Barnabas is rich, powerful and an inveterate playboy…until he makes the grave mistake of breaking the heart of Angelique Brouchard (Eva Green). A witch, in every sense of the word, Angelique dooms him to a fate worse than death: turning him into a vampire, and then burying him alive.

Two centuries later, Barnabas is inadvertently freed from his tomb and emerges into the very changed world of 1972. He returns to Collinwood Manor to find that his once-grand estate has fallen into ruin. The dysfunctional remnants of the Collins family have fared little better, each harboring their own dark secrets. Matriarch Elizabeth Collins Stoddard (Michelle Pfeiffer) has called upon live-in psychiatrist, Dr. Julia Hoffman (Helena Bonham Carter), to help with her family troubles.

Also residing in the manor is Elizabeth’s ne’er-do-well brother, Roger Collins (Jonny Lee Miller); her rebellious teenage daughter Carolyn Stoddard (Chloe Moretz); and Roger’s precocious 10-year-old son, David Collins (Gulliver McGrath). The mystery extends beyond the family, to caretaker Willie Loomis, played by Jackie Earle Haley, and David’s new nanny, Victoria Winters, played by Bella Heathcote.

You can read more information on The Lexington Vampire Examiner, where I was lucky enough to find this at!

http://www.examiner.com/vampire-in-lexington/johnny-depp-s-dark-shadow-summary-is-released

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Bonnie Mutchler

     /  May 27, 2011

    sounds exactly like the soap opera I used to rush home from school to see back in the 60″s. Can’t wait and though I had a crush on the old Barnabas, I always felt cheated he wasn’t better looking. Not so this time, lol. Johnny is SO sexy!!

    Reply
  2. Technically, Barnabas couldn’t have been buried alive (maybe unalive?). But this sounds like a great movie. I was a fan of the series, but I only got to watch it during the summer; my school didn’t let out until the show was half over, and before I could make it home, it was done.

    Reply
    • I understand how that is! I caught it on the sci-fi channel back in the 90’s. They played one episode a day if I recall, so I got behind when school started back up and eventually had to just skip whole chunks.

      Reply
  3. Johnny Depp playing Barnabas Collins, the first vampire that truly influenced my writing and me as a person (she says as she types this, wearing a black oval ring on her left hand…)

    It’s just too awesome for words. I LOVED Dark Shadows, it was such a cool thing, the coolest soap opera ever…

    I truly think it’s one of the reasons I ended up writing and loving vampires…

    Reply
  4. I admit I’ve never seen this soap opera, but the cast of the movie looks impressive. It’s been years since I’ve seen Michelle Pfeiffer in anything. I need to click the link and see the pictures of the cast, assuming some are there. 😀

    Reply
    • I know! It’s one of those moments where you blink and go “Wow, I didn’t know she was still alive” hahahahahahaha!

      Reply
  5. I used to watch the show’s reruns after school. i am looking forward to it.

    Reply
  6. I have never seen the original soap opera but I’ve heard about it plenty since my hubby wanted to be Barnabas when he was little. I am curious to see it though and am excited to see Michelle Pfeiffer in something new. I don’t think I’ve seen her in anything since I am Sam or White Oleander. And of course I love Johnny Depp lol. I’m not crazy it’s a Tim Burton film though. There’s only a few movies of his I appreciate. There’s a couple I think he completely slaughtered. For the most part I’m “meh” about his stuff. You’ve seen one you’ve seen them all basically.

    Reply
    • I like the ones he does with Johnny Depp (cough) there may be a connection there, that has little to do with him, though 😉 but I have been a bit disappointed in the non Johnny ones (well, and even Edward Scissor Hands). Nightmare Before Christmas was a huge one. I remember when it came out and at the time we weren’t allowed to watch it – then I saw it a couple years ago and it’s like “meh.” it certainly did not live up to my expectations at all. It’s “supposed” to be the goth lovers all time and i just thought it was, well, quaint. I didn’t even find it disturbing.

      Reply

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,427 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    July 7 9-10pm Central, Takeover in The Kitty’s den.

    July 16 Final date for submissions in the Amaranthine fan Fiction contest.

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
