Interview with Riley Abbott

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer. 

 Today we have Riley Abbott, one of the Characters from the Remember the Eyes Trilogy by Beth Muscat. Riley looks to be about 18 with brown hair and brilliant blue eyes. Let’s see what she has to say. 

Book 1: Remember the Eyes

Katelina: Hello Riley, thanks for coming. Could you tell us a little bit about yourself?

 Riley: You’re right, I’m 18 years old. I come from a small town called Bent River in Ontario, Canada, and I now go to school in Shrevedale. I attend university there, where I’m taking Art History.

 K: Wow. So you’re an artist?

 R: I’d like to be an art restorer when I’m finished with school. During the summer I worked in the local art gallery, and while all the paintings are intriguing to me, one in particular captures my eye, and my heart.

 K: Oh, I see. Can you tell us about this painting?

 R: The painting totally enthralls me; I can’t stop looking at it. But, that’s not all. I start having these dreams. Come to find out, they’re really past life dreams that I’m having, and one of the dreams centers around this painting at the gallery. Not only are the dreams from my past, but they’re so real. Sometimes, after having one of the dreams where I push a heavy fruit and vegetable cart down the path to the marketplace, I wake up in the morning with aching hands, as if I had been the one that was pushing the cart. I guess in a way it was me…just me from another time. I have several of these past life dreams, but not all of them end pleasantly.

 K: Oh wow! Do you usually have psychic dreams like that?

 R: I do have some special abilities like telekinesis, mind-reading, the ability to astral travel and being psychic (to name just a few).

 K: That’s cool! Do a lot of people know about your abilities? How does your family handle it?

 R: I grew up with very loving and supportive parents. They didn’t always understand everything that I could do, but we were all lucky to have our friends, George and Vera to help. George and Vera both are mind-readers, although they can’t do all the things that I can do. But, they’ve helped me to hone my special abilities and to only use them when I was alone. Most people wouldn’t understand my abilities. I make that mistake with my boyfriend when I tell him that I can read minds. He didn’t understand at first. I don’t blame him for running away from me.

Book 2: Nothing Without You

K: So you have a boyfriend, then? Or, at least start the series with one?

 R: Yes, I’m in a relationship with Michael. Michael Stone is his name and he’s from London, England. He came over here to Canada for the music program here at the university, but he’s told me it was more. He’s told me that he felt a ‘pull’ to come here that he couldn’t explain. But, when I looked into his eyes, I knew what that pull was. Remember those past life dreams I told you about? Well, he was the man in my past lives. He was there with me, my husband and my prince. You might ask how I know it was him…our eyes. Our eyes are the same as the eyes from the people in my past life dreams. That’s why I knew that I could never be happy without him. We were meant to be together.

 K: That is SO romantic! *sighs* I suppose your author is as cruel as all the others and has to throw something evil at you.

 R: Yeah, that’s an understatement. The “something evil”‘s name is Brenda Coxwell and she’s got her claws in my boyfriend. She’s got green eyes, fiery red hair, and a killer body that any woman would love to have. I’m plain compared to her. But, she’s mean and nasty, and according to my premonition, willing to kill to get what she wants. And, what she wants is my boyfriend. Oh, and she’s also a mind-reader, so she knows everything about me.

 K: Holy crap! Your author is out to get you! Do you have anything you’d like to say to her?

 R: I guess if I could ask her something, I’d want to know why she made my good friend Maggie just cut Jess and I out of her life. The three of us had always been inseparable, but then the three of us get separated because of school. But, Jessica and I remain friends; Maggie stopped calling and stopped answering her messages. She doesn’t even reply to her emails. I guess she found new friends at her new school. Cooler friends. Still, Jess and I miss Maggie.

 Beth Muscat: *leans in*  You find out in the third book (called “Infinite”) what happened to Maggie.

 K: Wow! Instant gratification! Your author’s more professional than mine, anyway! *cough* Even if she’s not nicer. Are there any other challenges that you face in the story?

 R: There’s someone that I need to protect during the course of the series. I have these terrible premonition type dreams as well, where someone I love is in danger. These aren’t the past life dreams I spoke about, but rather dreams that could actually come true in this time. I have a shield of sorts (amongst my other special abilities) that I can use to protect myself. But, I want to try to protect my boyfriend as well. He’s the one I’ve been having the premonitions about. I’ve been having some difficulty with this task but I want so badly to protect him. I can’t let anything happen to him; my only hope is that if the time ever arises, I will be able to protect him.

Book 3: Infinite

K: It looks like we’re running out of time. What’s the one thing you want most in the world?

 R: For Brenda to leave us alone. She just won’t quit. Michael tells her that he doesn’t love her and that he never did. (There was a period of time when Michael was unsure about me. I’d told him about my special abilities, and he didn’t quite understand them.) But, when he comes back to me, she just doesn’t get it that he doesn’t want her, but instead, wants me. I just want her to leave both of us alone. She’s the one that I’ve been having the premonitions about.

 K: I could tell you how I got rid of the competition, but I guess you’d probably get in trouble for that. It is effective, though. *cough*cough* Okay, okay, last question. Do you have anything you’d like to say to your readers?

 R: Never give up. During some of my past life dreams, I gave up when I should have fought harder. Once, during a pioneer life, my family and I were being attacked by some awful drunken men from the saloon. People were watching what was going on, but no one would help us. I started to give up, but my husband wouldn’t. He fought the men, but paid the price with his life. They shot him. During another past life dream, I was a lonely old poet man who was too afraid to speak to the woman I was in love with. I’d given up all attempts to show her that I loved her. So, I would say, “Never give up.” When it came to Michael, I didn’t.

 K: I love that advice! Thanks so much for stopping in and letting me interview you!

 R: I thank you for the wonderful interview, and I hope I was able to answer the questions effectively for my readers to understand a little bit about me. I’m simple, yet complex with my special abilities, but the love I feel for Michael is what keeps me alive. Look for our continuing love story in the second book in the trilogy (called, “Nothing Without You”), where both Michael and I discover that I’m not the only one with special abilities

 You can find Riley Abbott in Beth Muscat’s Remember the Eyes trilogy

On Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=beth+muscat+remember+the+eyes&x=0&y=0

On Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/search?query=remember+the+eyes

And a special thank you to Beth Muscat for playing along!

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/

Next Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Thedesertrocks

     /  July 9, 2011

    I can’t wait to read this stuff Beth. I have a book I started before the one I’m writing about other lives, but it is not past lives and it will end up being my second book- if I ever finish the first. Good luck and your reviewer did a great job. Thanks again. I love it!

    Reply
  2. I love this! But then, I’m already one of Riley’s many fans.

    I think I’ll subject some of my characters to being interviewed. They can handle it!

    Reply
  3. William Kendall

     /  July 9, 2011

    Terrific interview!

    Isn’t it fun letting your characters step out of their usual place?

    Reply
  4. This was a fun interview. Riley did a great job.

    Reply
  5. Yea! another Canadian – yes Jo – er – Katelina – does great interviews and, Beth, your books sound intriguing. I recommend these interviews to everyone. I’ve had one set of characters interviewed and preparing for my second set. The prep for the interview really helps the author with the characters. Good work everyone!

    Reply
  6. I’ve occasionally wondered what my Maggie would say in an interview. What a great concept!

    Reply
  7. It was a lot of fun doing the “interview”….I’m hoping that lots of people will be reading all about me…they can find me at Amazon.com

    Thanks for making me feel special.

    Love, Riley

    Reply
  8. awesome interview. I’m just getting into the YA/New Adult genre.

    I love the idea of Riley thinking she’s unique in terms of special abilities only to find she’s not the only one. Very cool.

    Reply
    • There are several YA books that I like – i used to read them and just not tell anyone until one day I discovered all the other “grown ups” were too, LOL

      Reply
  9. I think its good for authors to slap thier charecters around a bit. Makes em strong.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,506 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 1 Final date for submissions in the Amaranthine fan Fiction contest.

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
