Lots-O-Links #12


I think this is the twelfth edition of Lots-O-Links, posts where I randomly share links. Fun, huh? I can now call it the weekly post that three people have gone on record as liking. Pretty cool!

Julie asks Why Can’t Everyone Play Nicely Together? and discusses the in and outs of social networking; when does it go from friendly to “creepy”?

Melanie Niles also talks about adult interactions, though she discusses adult bullying. She was kind enough to allow Ruth to repost it on the Self Published Authors’ Lounge.

And speaking of nice people and reposts, Reena Jacobs was kind enough to do a guest post for SPAL, too, about how to find book reviewers.

Swagday is back at I Smell Sheep – go play the author matching game for a chance to win LOTS of free stuff!  Also worth mentioning from the Sheep (yeah, that’s what i call them all behind their backs – ha ha! I mean it in a nice way!!) Why Women Love Vampires – see if you agree. And check out their other blogs – the Sheep are taking all the cool stuff (Renaissance fairs, superheroes, sci-fi, anime, comic books, you name it) back for the girls! yeah!

DM has an excellent post about proofreading with lots of great advice. Having just spent days on this, it was a topic especially close to home.

And while we’re discussing proofreading, Julie turned me on to a very awesome program called Natural Reader (which I used, by the way!) that not only reads your book to you on your PC, but is free – so long as you’re happy with Microsoft Sam’s monotone. I found it sort f fun as I believe he sounds a lot like Spock, especially on words with lots of a’s in them. Try it and you’ll see what I mean!

And though DM also links to this in her post, I thought it was worth mentioning twice – there is a kind of fun proofreading test that is a bit lengthy. As of writing this I haven;t finished it yet – though I will say they do things in a different order than I do, so it drove me nuts (I check for misspellings first, and that is not one of your first options.)

If you have any links to share please mail them to me at Joleene (at) JoleeneNaylor (dot) com or else post them in the comments!

And that’s all I have right now. Have a great week everyone!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. A friend of mine turned me on to Natural Reader and I went with the upgrade so I could have different voices. It really helps with edits/proofing because you’re using a different medium so the mistakes stand out more.
    I also convert the files so I can use my iPod and listen when driving.

    Reply
  2. Sam and I have been friends for awhile now. Glad you two are getting along together. 😉 He does have Vulcan thing going, doesn’t he? It used to bother me when he’d mispronounce my charcter’s names, but I’ve gotten used to it. I haven’t bothered upgrading to the “better” voices. Even though my two my characters are female, I don’t like the sound of Natural Reader’s female voices. They’re too much like the ones used on GPS, or as we fondly call her, “The witch in the box.” (We use another word that rhymes, but I kept it clean for your blog.) 😉 He! He!

    Juli

    Reply
    • haha! I loved how her pronounced Verchiel – it made me laugh every time (that was a lot of laughs for one book :p) he did pretty good on several of the names, so made me think “yay! I am spelling them phonetically” – wait… is that a good thing?

      Reply
  3. Hey Jo! Found another fun link for you, if you don’t know it already:

    http://www.wattpad.com/

    Another writer buddy of mine uses it. It seems pretty easy to use and it might be another place for you to promote your books, if you’re not already. I know, I know…yet ANOTHER social networking site! This one’s for writers and readers, so that might make this one better than some.

    Have a great day!
    Juli

    Reply
  4. Thanks for mentioning my blog.
    I love these links you find. I check them all out. great idea.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • A Year of Short Stories

    A year of short stories kicks off with the Tales of the Executioners!

    Free short stories from the world of Amaranthine; a universe of blood and darkness where vampires don't sparkle and night is eternal. Each is about a member of the Executioners squad; the special vampire "police" force. Members both past and present share stories of assignments, origins, and more.

    Dark, light, love, laughter, death...you never know what you'll find in the shadows.

    Get all the details, including a list of available titles!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,530 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    Cocoa Cup Giveaway – enter for your chance at a vampire mug and cocoa.

     

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
