Ties of Blood on Barnes & Noble

Ties of Blood is now on the Nook:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ties-of-blood-joleene-naylor/1106014034

Funny story, though.

So last Thursday I mailed Smashwords, about why the book was still not up a month later. They answer promptly and said it would likely go out next week (yesterday) and would take two weeks after that to show up.  At that point it was another three weeks, so i said “forget this!” and joined pubit and uploaded my first book directly. Here’s where it gets funny. Because of my annoying hyphenated name (it seems like a good idea, ladies, but it’s’ not. No one is equipped to deal with it.) My account was pending until Wednesday, when it was approved any my book began processing. Today, it is published – and now for the hilarious part – meanwhile the Smashwords version magically showed up and is also there! Ha! So there are two identical versions – one through pubit and one through smashwords! Insane, I know. But anyway, it;s there, so I guess that’s what counts.

Anyway, go get it for your nook!

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ties-of-blood-joleene-naylor/1106014034

of course you can also get it from:

Paperback – https://www.createspace.com/3661748

Amazon US (kindle) – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005M9B77O/

Amazon UK (kindle) – http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B005M9B77O/

Smashwords – https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/87705

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. For the future: Pubit can sometimes be very slow with the last phase of processing. If it hangs for more than three or four days, you need to contact Help. It apparently will never clear up on its own. Annoying as hell, but still better than waiting for it to go through Smashwords. If you haven’t shut down the B & N channel on Smashwords, you need to do that.

    Hope I didn’t dump any typos on you. The white on black theme is cute, but it kills my eyes.

    Reply
    • yeah, it kills me, too! 😉 I used to have the blog all in white/gray with black text but got some random comments about it not seeming very “vampirey” – gotta love people!

      yeah, I went in and turned it off, though it takes some time I guess before they will pull it… just figures, though! LOL!!

      Reply
  2. what hyphenated name? had no idea what you were talking about but that’s cause I haven’t published

    Reply
    • My legal last name is Harris-Naylor – I hyphenated it when i got married. It has been nothing but a pin the you-know-what. I don’t recommend it.

      Reply
  3. I have a few books like that on B&N also. I’ve published all my for-sale pieces through B&N’s Pubit as well as Smashwords. I opted out of distributing to B&N through Smashwords in most cases. However, when I decided to offer some works free, I decided to opt in, since B&N’s Pubit doesn’t do free.

    Here’s the kicker. B&N doesn’t price match, so I had the Pubit version with a price on it and the free version listed as free (rolls eyes). Later when I took the free version down via Smashwords, I didn’t get to keep the sales ranking. That’s right… separate sales ranking for the Smashwords version and Pubit version.

    I don’t even bother trying to play the game any more. I publish everything through Pubit and KDP (24 hour listing) and Smashwords (weeks to populate the channels). Folks will figure out what they want, and I still get a bit of freedom over the pricing (free).

    Reply
    • I wish that B&N and KDP would allow free titles – though since they don;t it gives Smashwords that edge. 🙂

      I think Smashword’s speed issues are that they have grown too big, too fast. Hopefully they will soon get this all sorted out and go back to the speed they sued to do things at!

      Reply
  4. I’m going to second what Catana said. You can opt out of B&N distribution at Smashwords, and it should be down soon (hopefully).

    But I will say that the timing of when it finally went up was hilarious. And yes, stuff like that happens to me all the time. Just when you give up and do it yourself, things tend to fall into place.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

