Interview with Aria

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer. 

Today we have Aria from The Black Orb by Sabine A. Reed.

The Black Orb

Katelina: Hello Aria! Would you like to tell us a little about yourself?

Aria: Hi. I am a beautiful woman, a reluctant heroine and a thief by profession. What? Are you judging me already? Well. You would be a thief too if you had to live in Azmeer where it’s hard to find honest work. I’m an orphan, and the only family I have is my brother Marcus who is mentally challenged.

K: I imagine the death of your parents made quite an impact on you?

A: Yes. The loss of my parents at an early age forced me to become independent. I was the only one who could take care of my brother – and a fine job I’ve done of that.

K: What do you mean by that?

A: The evil queen of Azmeer abducts my brother and puts him under her spell. Naturally, that makes me angry, and I vow to bring him back. Of course, in the process, I end up saving the world, but that’s neither here nor there.

K: Wow? Really? Can you tell us a little about how you rescue him and save the world?

A: I have to break the spell the queen has weaved on my brother and in doing so I restore magic to our kingdom Azmeer. It makes me a hero – but then I don’t really crave attention.

K: That’s rare. A lot of characters are really attention hungry. I think it comes from having authors who only write us when they feel like it. *cough*cough*. I don’t suppose you can give us more details?

A: No, because it would be a spoiler – but I will say that I go on a quest, meet the Tsarina of Dryads and escape from fire and magical creatures to save the world.

magic

A: I am already quite evolved, thank you very much. Oh well, for discussion’s sake…we’ll just say that I realize I’m not as greedy or power-hungry as I thought I was. I had a chance to become queen but I shunned it because I love my brother more, and because I don’t want to be corrupted by power. In the end, I leave my thieving days behind, or at least I try to.

K: So with all this running around, world saving and such I’d bet there’s not a lot of romance in this story?

A: My destiny leads me to save the world and protect my brother. Who has time for romance? I certainly don’t.

K: Yeah, that’s what I thought. It sounds like your author is putting you through your paces. If you could say one thing to her, what would it be?

A: She should have me look more beautiful, and would it have hurt her to give me some magical powers? She set me out there to defeat an evil queen who has a powerful magical weapon – and all I got was the companionship of a wizard who couldn’t even use his magic.

K: A wizard? Sounds like you’re not very fond of him?

A: It’s the wizard Bikkar who helps me rescue my brother. And yeah, I hated him at first, but then he saved my life at the cost of his so I realized he can’t be all that bad. He has noble intentions and actually cares about saving the world – while I am just doing it to protect my brother.

K: At the cost of his? Oh my!  Does he come back somehow or – no, no, spoilers. *whispers* you can tell me later* Ahem. Moving on, what is the one thing you want the most?

A: To see my brother safe and happy. And perhaps I wouldn’t mind some magical powers.

Albion_Thegn_Viking_Sword_1

by Albion Europe ApS via flickr

A: I may appear cunning and sharp-tongued, but I’m lovable, brave and kind.

And we’re outta time! Thanks to Aria for stopping in. you can find more of her in The Black Orb:

Amazon Kindle link: http://www.amazon.com/The-Black-Orb-ebook/dp/B005VSIAD0/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1318656181&sr=1-1

Uncial Press Link: http://www.uncialpress.com/The-Black-Orb.html

And a special thanks to Sabine A. Reed for playing along!

Author Bio

Sabine A. Reed is the fantasy author of the e-book The Black Orb. The book has been released by Uncial Press and is available on Amazon Kindle and the Publisher’s website. She is currently writing the first novel of a as-yet-untitled fantasy trilogy. Her blog Writing and Publishing resource offers tips and information to new writers, and she had written articles on the writing and publishing processes for Suite101.

Writer’s website and blog link: http://sabineareed.com/    


If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/


Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. It must be tough saving your world and getting all that attention and still keep your being a thief seperate.

    Reply
  2. Another wonderful interview by Katelina. The book sounds interesting. Nothing like kicking back and reading an evil queen story.

    Reply
  3. Reena Jacobs

     /  November 21, 2011

    Love Aria’s priorities: Save brother, become more beautiful, acquire magic powers.

    Reply
  1. Story Editing for Self-Publisher Writers | Writing and Publishing Resource

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,531 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
