Interview with Rebecca Ross

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer. 

Today we have Rebecca Ross from Wedlocked: A Novel.by Bonnie Trachtenberg.

Wedlocked: A Novel

Katelina: Welcome Rebecca! Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Rebecca: I’m an actress who presently lives in Manhattan although I spent a decade in Los Angeles too. I’m five-foot-five, blonde, and my aunt thinks I look like Grace Kelly. I’m also ambitious, smart, daring, and ultimately pretty strong. I hate cigarettes and will make your life a living hell if you try to smoke them. I also like to adjust thermostats to my liking at public venues and have an intense fear of cockroaches. Otherwise, I’m a very nice, normal, and easy-going person.

K: I’m with you on cockroaches. Those things are SO gross! *shudder* You sound like a pretty well rounded person, so how do you evolve during the story?

R: Well, I start out as a perfectionist Pollyanna growing up on Long Island, but then life deals me a bunch of hard knocks. Next thing you know I’m “a slothful, bedridden disaster,” living back in my old bedroom at my parents’ house and eating homemade macaroni and cheese for lunch every day.  It’s then, when I’m most vulnerable, that I meet Craig Jacobs and decide to give up on all my dreams of fame and fortune and choose a more conventional life in hopes it will bring me some semblance of happiness and contentment. However, I have no idea what I’m in for when, out of fear and desperation, I decide to marry Craig, a man whose full of surprises—none of them good. I eventually realize that taking the easy way out can often mean things will be all the more difficult. I learn a lot about myself, including the fact that I don’t have to be perfect to be happy.

K: I guess there’s not much point in asking if you’re involved in a romance, huh?

R: Actually, I’m involved in three romances over the course of the story. One, is Evan Shays, a Hollywood director and the most exciting and attractive man I’ve ever met. Another, is my sister’s boyfriend, Michael, but don’t hate me. I don’t admit it to him or myself and so it is unrequited. And the last, Craig, can barely be described as a romance, as his favorite pastime is crawling under my skin. Of course he’s the one I end up marrying!

Wedding Rings

by firemedic via flickr

K: Oh wow! So with all those men do you have any enemies?

R:  Well, my mother starts out as a nemesis in many ways, but then happily, she gets into therapy. My real nemesis turns out to be my husband!

R: How to deal with the fact that I just married a lunatic.

K: Man, it makes me feel a lot better about Jorick. Sure, he’s a vampire, and bursts into flame in sunlight, but at least he’s kind of sane. Wait… Erm.. Never mind. Moving on! What is the one event that you feel has helped to shape your personality?

R: Finding out my grandmother was a dancer in a big Hollywood movie gave me the inspiration and fortitude to pursue my dreams of being an actress.

K: That’s cool, kind of like following in her footsteps. So I’d guess the one thing you want most in the world is…

R: On the outside, to be a Hollywood star. But deep down, I just want to be loved for me.

K: I think that’s probably what everyone wants deep down, though most people don’t recognize that. It looks like we’re running out of time, so real quick, if you could say one thing to your readers, what would it be?

R: Thanks for tuning in to my crazy and eventful life story! I’d buy you some popcorn if I were three dimensional.

Popcorn

by Jessica Diamond via Flickr

K: I’ll take some popcorn! *laughs* And if you could say one thing to your author?

R: Boy, we sure do have a lot in common, don’t we?

K: And we’re out of time! Thanks to Rebecca for stopping in! You can find more of her in Wedlocked: A Novel  available at:

 

http://www.amazon.com/Wedlocked-Novel-Bonnie-Trachtenberg/dp/1462022677/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1312143581&sr=1-1

 http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/wedlocked-bonnie-trachtenberg/1103833821?ean=9781462022670&itm=1&usri=bonnie%2btrachtenberg

 http://www.booksamillion.com/search?id=5100030429510&query=Bonnie+Trachtenberg&where=book_author&search.x=36&search.y=7&search=Search

 

And a special thanks to Bonnie Trachtenberg for playing along!

    

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/


If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/


Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Wonderful interview, as always. This sounds like such a great read.

    Reply
  2. The being loved part…so true! Great character interview. 😉

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,531 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
