A Rough Draft…

for book four is…. *drumroll* DONE!

But when I say rough, I mean ROUGH. Because I did 50,000 words of it for NaNo I have not even reread what I wrote, just wrote and moved to the next chapter. This will mean an extra round or two of editing. Normally I write a chapter, reread it twice, tweaking as I go, then write the next chapter. Those two rounds of rereading and tweaking will now be separate, but oh well. It’s done.

Okay, except I think I need to go back and add three days into it towards the end.

This is easily the bloodiest book yet, and I think it will stay that way for awhile. I don’t think I can top, or even equal the body count in book 5.  I won’t promise, since I don’t know exactly what will happen, though if things go as planned I have a title ready for book 5, just not book 4. Yeah, book 4 is the one I’m working on. If you have any suggestions, I’ll all ears 😉

I don’t have a cool, snazzy synopsis done yet. truth is, I hate writing those, so I’ll put it off as long as possible. Instead, here’s some random samples I’ve been posting on facebook:

(it’s ALL unedited.)

“Well hello!” Verchiel cried in mock surprise. “How nice to see you again!” He let his eyes focus on the carnage behind Jorick. “I see now why they call you The Hand of Death, but really, isn’t this a little sloppy?”

**************

“Then how can you shelter her? Am I the only sane one left?” A strange smile twisted across his face. “The stupid human is the only one who makes any damned sense around here! At least she knows to hate us as mush as we hate her!”

**************

“It was another female. I can’t remember her name, but she said she’d take care of it immediately.” She paused and then added, “The reception was pretty bad on her end, so she must have been on a cell phone.”
Jorick rubbed his chin. “Migina? Griselda? Senya?”
“Wait! That last name! I’m sure that was it. I remember because it made me think of a sunset.”
Katelina shuddered. Senya was anything but a sunset – unless it was a blood colored sunset. Cold, cruel and vindictive, she was the epitome of the perfect Executioner, and just the thought of her filled Katelina with terror.

************

Katelina watched as Micah took the hose from Loren. “What are they doing?”
“Being idiots,” Oren answered crisply. “And I’m sure my sister’s encouraging them.”

**********

They reached the stairs when her strength gave out and she sagged against him. He pulled the basement door shut and leaned against the cool wall. His arms tightened around her as if he was trying to press her inside of himself.
“Oh Jorick!” She sobbed against his chest. “Oh God! Oh God! Why?”
He drew a deep, steadying breath and buried his face in her hair. “I don’t know,” he whispered softly. “I don’t know .”

*********

“I won’t spend another night in this den unless she’s put to death like she deserves!”
“Then I suggest you find somewhere else to sleep,” Jorick snarled. “Because I’ll kill anyone who tries.”
Katelina closed her eyes and tried to shut them out. She couldn’t understand how this had happened, or why. It was just another reminder that she didn’t belong with them.

**********

and here are some random quotes I like:

Verchiel: “I doubt you’ve ever forgotten anything. You don’t seem the type to let things go. More fun hanging on to them, I suppose.”

Jorick: “I warned you that my world isn’t a pretty one.”

Katelina: “Can’t you just knock me out too?”

And here is a special bonus snippet:

Jorick’s anger was palpable and obviously aimed at her. She tried to start a conversation, but it fizzled under his angry gaze. Finally she snapped, “I’m sorry, all right? I don’t know what you want.”

He turned to her. His usually warm eyes were cold and hard, and he hid his thoughts behind them. “What makes you think I want anything, Katelina?”

Her stomach clenched at his sarcastic indifference, but she refused to look away.  “You obviously do or you wouldn’t be standing there waiting for it.”

Now off to draw this week’s belated Turtles page then I have some book cover work to do.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Congrats on the rough draft. Have fun with the first round of edits

    Reply
  2. Well I missed most of these on FB but then I don’t look at everyone’s profile on a regular basis. I wish I could draft in sentences and scenes, sigh, I draft in ideas, not dialogue. I thought I gave you a title – can brainstorm next week. I need your help too, as always And this better have a happy ending……..

    Reply
    • erm, define happy….

      you probably did- my inbox is such a mess it;s gonna take until new years to sort it all out!

      Nothing wrong with that 🙂 I tend to not know where things are going so I end up having to do more editing on the back end, while I think writers who start the scenes as ideas and then slowly add to it have less editing to do.

      Reply
  3. Yay! Don’t you just love it when the first draft is done? I know the editing is the bigger pain than the writing, but at least the book is done. 😀

    How about “The Hand of Death” for a title? If it’s more horrorish or thrillerish, I think it could work. But it’s up to you. No pressure.

    Reply
  4. Good book 😛 I loved it

    Reply
  5. I totally love the part ‘fizzled under his gaze’ The book sounds great

    Reply
  6. Wow! This sounds like it’s going to be great! I like the snippets you’ve shared.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

