Back – And I Have a Link and a Question to Ponder!

Hope everyone had a great holiday! I took advantage of the season and have finished my edits on book 4 (I think Web of ___Β  may be the title). The lovely Bonnie *cough* is giving it a final typo check and then it is off to the mighty Ed, and then the Beta readers. Yay! I don’t want to make promises, but with the apocalypse coming up (LOL!) I am*hoping* to get books 4 & 5 out this year; 4 in the Spring and 5 close to Christmas (12-12-12 would be an awesome release date!). Since I haven’t started book 5 yet, (tentatively titled Heart of the Raven which will ruin my pattern of three word titles) it’s hard to say if it will come to pass, or not. But, four should definitely be out by summer, unless some major catastrophe occurs.

Now that I’ve bored you to tears, here is a cool bonus link. Angie at Lariats & Lavender has started a new weekly segment called Vampirism Mondays. She has some fun links already (I want the vampire victim necklace!) and I’m sure there will be more every week for us vampire lovers πŸ˜‰ (She also had some very kind words to say about Shades of Gray that made my New Year quite happy!)

As for the “ponder-y” question, it goes as such: WordPress has released a white version of this blog theme. While I’m attached to the black because it looks “cool” and “vampire-y”, I’m the first to admit that I can’t read white words on a black background for very long (for decent sized posts I have to copy the content and paste it into a document, read it, then come back to the page and comment). I don’t know if this is an affliction anyone else suffers from but, just in case, I have been considering swapping to the white version and making new wallpaper etc in white and grays. So, the question is: does reading white words on a black background mess with your eyes, too? Or is it just me? Is the black cooler, or would white make you go “Yay! I can finally READ this crap”?

And I’m off. Have to get to work on a stack of book covers a mile tall πŸ˜‰

Hope everyone had a great New Year and has a happy 2012-year-of-the-dragon-apocalypse.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. *sniffle, sniffle* *wiping bored tears away*
    Fantastic about 4 and 5. I’m thinking of having an Emily Dahill, CID story released 12/22/12.

    Reply
  2. Good luck on books 4 and 5! 12-12-12 is a creative date. Here’s hoping the world doesn’t end so people can read it. LOL

    As for the background color, I prefer white but do what you like best. πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • I think I am going to switch it over when I get some time in the next couple of days. I did a quick screen cap and “negative” on the image and hubby said he liked it better, too.

      Reply
  3. I’m so happy for you, Jo! Two books would be amazing! πŸ™‚ I like the idea of a 12-12-12 release date. It seems lucky…or perhaps unlucky, as far as your characters are concerned. Poor characters! I look forward to reading your “evil” plans for their futures! πŸ˜‰ LOL

    As for the background, etc…It’s totally a matter of what works for you. I can read your posts….without my glasses on. Ooooohhh aaaaahhh! πŸ™‚ Yup! It’s just like magic! He! He!

    I’ve missed you, but it sounds like you had a great and productive “birthday month.” Take care!

    Reply
    • yeah, 12 is my lucky number – is maybe it would be a lucky book and sell a billion copies. If so that will guarantee there is an apocalypse on the 21st πŸ˜‰ whenever things go way too good for me it means the end is coming for something (example, I blogged on Myspace for years to a tiny audience. all of a sudden I was getting hundreds of views a day – Myspace upgraded, everyone left. Superpoke pets, i couldn’t afford gold items, finally got the $$ so i could, i started getting all those things i wanted, they announced they’re closing it. the list goes on.) So maybe we better hope it’s not a success πŸ˜‰

      I’m willing to sacrifice to save the world :p

      Reply
      • Well as long as you don’t try to publish while I’m on vacation! People tend to die when I’m on vacation. Houses, restaurants, and cars catch fire. Bad things happen to everyone I care about. If there was to be an apocalypse, it would occur on my vacation!

        So…just in case, I promise NOT to go on vacation the week of the Dec 12th or the 21st. LOL

        Reply
        • ha ah! yeah, you killed my computer last time you went on vacation, LMAO!!!

          I say, no vacations for you for the whole month of December, play it safe in case all those people who translated over the Mayan Calendar were off by a day or two, LOL!!

          Reply
          • LMAO! I was going to put something about my vacation “killing” your computer, but I couldn’t remember if that was your computer or someone else’s computer. It turns out I killed your computer on one vacation and someone else’s computer on a different vacation. My vacation powers are so strong, it affected her ALL the way in Ireland! My vacation time reeks havoc world wide!!! LOL

            So…for the good of the world, no vacations in December! πŸ˜‰

            Reply
  4. Most people don’t like the white on black because it is hard on the eyes. I would make the switch if you can keep the cool factor going .

    Reply
  5. Wow, 4 and 5. I can’t wait! There’s so much I want to know. Congrats on them. Angie loved seeing her blog mentioned. I like the black background because it is different. But the white would work if you had some nice gray/black time items to catch the reader’s eye. Surprisingly, the white words don’t bother me. Glad you had a good vacation.

    Reply
  6. I’d say it all depends on what you like. Though if you do the white background you could make it look like your book covers. Or you could chose a theme that puts the words in their own white boxes and leave the background as is. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Sometimes just changing the background from white to an off-white helps. I think the contrast between black and white is so strong it makes reading difficult.

    Reply
  1. February 2012 Newsletter « Amaranthine Night

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    PRE-ORDER YOURS TODAY

    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3,697 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    April 30- Release of Goddess of Night

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

    • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
    • Graphic by Nina Paley

    • Authors db

    • Joleene Naylor

      Joleene Naylor

      An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

      Personal Links

      Verified Services

      View Full Profile →

    • Editing services

      devilinthedetailsediting
    • The Ink Slingers Guild
    • Awesome Review Blog

      I Smell Sheep
    • Awesome Facebook Book group!

    •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
    • My pet hamster!


      Get your own hamster
