Lots-O-Links #22

This is the twenty-second edition of Lots-O-Links, posts where I randomly share links. Fun, huh? I can now call it the weekly post that two people have gone on record as liking. Pretty cool!

Writers – have a tough time with punctuating conversation? Donna has a great breakdown of the right way to use quotation marks on her blog Quoting your Characters.

For the manga fans out there, an article sent to me by Sharon S (of I Smell Sheep fame!) discusses why the manga industry is dying. Surprise, it’s the same reason all the print medias are in trouble including traditional book publishing, the music industry, etc. I really think the time of entertainment corporations controlling the media is on it’s way out – it’s just not economically feasible anymore with all the middle men the labels/publishers have to pay when an indy can do the same for peanuts. (end of mini rant)

and while discussing publishing, Stephannie Beman has an interesting post on self publishing: Writing Hobby or Career – Does it Really Matter? My opinion? nope. The story is what matters and it’s the same, no matter what “criteria” you’re meeting for being a “‘real author”.

And also in independent entertainment, The Art’s Web Show is back for season two. last month saw episode 1 and now we have episode 2. Go check it out!

Other things worth checking out: Photobotos.com promises one amazing photo posted a day, and form their archives they seem to be keeping that promise!

In vampires, Lariats and Lavender has an interesting article on real life vampirism; no, not the blood drinking, arrested for breaking into someone’s house kind, but Strigoi Vii. if you want to know more, go read her post!

And finally if you have two hours to kill, check out Star Wars Uncut, a fan made version of Star Wars. I haven’t made it through the whole thing yet (when do I have two hours to kill at a shot!?!) but I’m a third of the way through and it’s fun!!

If you have any links to share please mail them to me at Joleene (at) JoleeneNaylor (dot) com or else post them in the comments! And that’s all I have right now. Have a great week everyone!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. The Global eBooks Awards is now accepting entries for self-published authors in a variety of genres. They also look at book trailers, illustrations and book covers. I thought I’d pass it along in case someone is interested: http://globalebookawards.com/

    BTW, amen on the Writing: Career vs Hobby. It doesn’t matter because you still get the story done and in the end, that’s what matters. 🙂

    Reply
  2. OMG! Uncut Star Wars is hilarious!!!!!

    If I live to be a thousand, I still wouldn’t remember all rules of grammar. Grammar is one of my weaknesses. 😦

    I’m surprised that the manga industry isn’t embracing an e-format! I don’t know why, but I’ve always considered that genre as cutting edge, but what do I know?!

    Real author? Jo! Seriously? Do your fans need to chip in together and buy you a t-shirt that says you are? You know it’s true if it’s printed on a t-shirt! That settles it! We’ll have to pool our pennies together and buy you one!!! 🙂 Let me see…I’ve got seventeen cents, a button, and a gum wrapper in my pocket…hmm… On second thought, maybe you should cater to a wealthier audience! LOL GESH! Darn bills!

    Take Care Jo! Thanks for sharing the links! 😉

    Reply
  3. I love the Star Wars thing. No way I can watch the whole thing, but it is fun to skip through. What a great idea though. They should do that with other movies, like Lord of the Rings!

    Reply
  4. I love your links. Thank you for mentioning me. I was really interested in the manga one, although the Star Wars was pretty cool. And of course, I read Ange’s. She did a great job. As for author or hobby, like you, does it really matter?

    Reply
  5. Great post, Joleene! Thank you SO much for mentioning me. I finished Ties of Blood a few days ago and I am having SERIOUS withdrawals. I’m not even kidding. Your series is *amazing* and I can’t wait to read more.

    I’m sad about manga, because in reality I love sitting down and reading my manga, the feeling of the book in my hands. /sigh

    Reply
  6. It’s a Sheep attack!!! Thanks for the shout out btw. Baaaa. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Denise Z

     /  January 25, 2012

    What a fun idea – Thank you Joleene for sharing. I have decided to participate in this friendly Sheep attack!!! and spread the word of fun doings going on here. Waving to fellow sheeples and pointing to next linky listed – meet you at the Star Wars LOL

    Reply
  8. I’ll have to try to remember to check out that Star Wars at my next available opportunity

    Reply
  1. February 2012 Newsletter « Amaranthine Night

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,536 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
