Lucky 7

I stole thi image from Alannah’s blog 😉

I was  tagged by Juli on this, go check out her seven lines as they are quite fun – or perhaps sinister… hmmmm....

Okay, so, here are the rules:

1. Go to page 77 in your current manuscript.
2. Go to line 7.
3. Copy down the next seven lines as they are – no cheating.
4. Tag 7 other authors

I am skipping number 4 insomuch as if you are reading this and have a book you should consider yourself tagged.

I am not completely sure if we are supposed to do seven sentences or seven lines as per your current formatting. I chose the latter.

Set up: Loren and Katelina are standing by a tree. Senya, the Executioner b**** we all love to hate is there with a couple of other Executioners. Fun ensues. She has just asked a question and Loren answered. Here is her reply….

Senya’s eyes glowed with interest. “Really? How disappointing. I guess that’s one less thing I need to do.” She gestured to her underlings. “Grab them.”

Katelina tried to move around the tree. Her mind shrieked at her to run, but she knew it wouldn’t do any good. They’d only chase her and they were faster.

Loren flung himself towards them, his fists up. His first punch connected with Zuri’s stomach, but his second was blocked. The Executioner lunged for him and Loren dodged. The second vampire kicked his legs out from under him. Loren hit the ground like a sack of bricks and the Executioner grabbed him by the front of his hoodie and slammed his fist into his face.


And that’s it.  If the 7 test is supposed to be a measure of the books “excitement level” then I guess mine did pretty good as they are getting ready for Executioner style fun.

BONUS: I was tagged by Dawn Colclasure on Facebook and through a weird formatting twist it happens to be the NEXT seven paragraphs, so go check it for the rest of the scene. (I think you have to be logged into FB but you DON’T have to be my friend)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. I got tagged with the 7’s by three different people.

    Reply
    • I ended up tagged twice – which made me quite happy because when I originally saw it on another blog they did not tag me, LOL! And I am such a sucker for tags…

      Reply
  2. He! He! You’re stories are at least a ten on the excitement level!!!!!!!!! This is great! Thanks for the mention! 😉

    Reply
  3. Loren?? I miss him
    Hell of an exciting scene

    Here’s mine

    Kathryn and Mr. Thomas are preparing to go bicycle riding. That’s pretty innocent. What can possibly go wrong?

    “What say we do that then? I will meet you in half an hour I am sure the air will clear your head.”

    Suddenly, as if a hand had blown away her loneliness, she offered a bright smile “Yes let’s do that. That sounds grand.” She all but ran up the stairs and into her room to change into the bloomers she had brought with her for some unknown reason to New York and to fetch her riding jacket. As she changed she unconsciously hummed a tune.

    When she descended the stairs and met Mr.. Thomas by the front door, he noticed what she was wearing. They look well on her but they certainly are ugly ….

    Reply
  4. What a great idea, and of course I loved your lines.

    Reply
  5. Pretty good, lots of action. I like it. Oh and I “borrowed” the logo from someone else anyway, so no big deal lol.

    Reply
  6. I had the Lucky 7 image too, if you wanted to “steal” it from me… and it wasn’t clear if it was 7 sentences, 7 lines or 7 paragraphs either. I did 7 paragraphs both times! 😉

    Reply
  7. That was exciting. To bad this was posted so long ago, I think the tagging aspect of it is expired.

    Reply
    • No. you are still tagged. Though I don;t think you have a WIP, do you? You could use the vampire book we started and just go to page 7 instead of 77 🙂

      Reply

Share your dark side...

  • A Year of Short Stories

    A year of short stories kicks off with the Tales of the Executioners!

    Free short stories from the world of Amaranthine; a universe of blood and darkness where vampires don't sparkle and night is eternal. Each is about a member of the Executioners squad; the special vampire "police" force. Members both past and present share stories of assignments, origins, and more.

    Dark, light, love, laughter, death...you never know what you'll find in the shadows.

    Get all the details, including a list of available titles!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,534 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    Cocoa Cup Giveaway – enter for your chance at a vampire mug and cocoa.

     

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
