Lots-O-Links #24

This is the twenty-fourth edition of Lots-O-Links, posts where I randomly share links. Fun, huh? I can now call it the weekly post that two people have gone on record as liking. Pretty cool!

I know, it’s been awhile since I posted one of these. I’d like to say I am going to get back to doing it weekly, but I can’t promise anything.

In author news, Sam Havens, author of Farr Point, has a new website at http://samwriter.weebly.com/ – check it out!

Also, Jonathan Harvey has posted the very fun origin story of Harold, the friendly grim reaper (who happens to also be the star of the special Halloween manga Jolly Death

Dani Harper tells us why we should be afraid of fairies and how to avoid them. This is a really fun post – and commentors have a chance to win a book by Dani Harper.

Enter to win a free Kindle Fire by voting for the best Magazine cover on Amazon.com. you need to sign in with your amazon ID in order to vote.

And while you’re entering, Stephannie Beaman and Ruth Anne Nordin have cooked up an awesome, awesome give away! Dave Larson (hero of Eye of the beholder by Ruth Anne Nordin) has disappeared – but who kidnapped him? Follow the blog posts with interviews of the suspects and then see if YOU can solve the crime! The winner gets a HUGE pile of autographed books from multiple authors.

I Smell Sheep is giving away three new releases from Penguin, including the newest in the Morganville Vampires series. Enter at their blog for a chance to win.

Win a copy of Kristy K. James’ novel Enza by commenting on the stops in her blog tour. the first stop is at Reena Jacob’s awesome blog.

You can also enter to win an ebook from Randi Alexander who is guest posting on Lindsay Down’s blog. And speaking of Lindsay, she has also shared the For the Love of Paws project from Astraea press, asking authors to contribute short stories for inclusion in a compilation book whose proceeds go to charity to help pet owners who can not afford vet care for their pets.

Also for writers, The Self Published Authors’ Lounge discusses How to Use Real Places in Your Writing and Get Away With It. Some very good advice, if I do say so myself (and something I am turning over already as book 5 is going to see the vampire crowd head over seas to places I have never been and won’t be going to in person!)

(from site)Over 870,000 photos from an archive that exceeds 2.2 million images have been scanned and made available online, for the first time giving a global audience a view of a rich collection that documents life in New York City. Check it out to see some of the photos (Thanks to Steve Evans for the link!)

If you have any links to share please mail them to me at Joleene (at) JoleeneNaylor (dot) com or else post them in the comments! And that’s all I have right now. Have a great week everyone!

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. sharonstogner

     /  April 25, 2012

    wow, those historical pics are amazing! thanks for the shout out 🙂

    Reply
  2. Of course, I loved the links. My fav was the one on fairies. She did a great job.

    Reply
  3. You’re awesome, Joleene! 😀

    Reply
  4. This was SUCH a fun post! Please write more “Lots-o-Links” — I loved the introduction to a number of sites that are brand new to me. (PS – Was very pleasantly surprised to find my blog was part of the tour! Thank you!)

    Reply
  5. Reena Jacobs

     /  April 30, 2012

    Some great points in the Real Place article. I’m really bad with real places. I’ve practically added my own little community of buildings in NYC. I hope the New Yorkers don’t mind too much. I also added a community college in my hometown, Federal Way WA.

    It just seemed so odd using a real place for my adventures… almost as if I’d soil the real places by putting fictional people in them who did abnormal things. haha

    I do like the idea of the next post referring to fictional places. Might have been better to squeeze in a fictional town in the area.

    Reply
  1. And The Results Are In! | Kristy K. James
  2. And The Results Are In! | Kristy K. James

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,536 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
