Blog Tour – Day Eight

Join me on my first ever blog tour!

Today fellow author Reena Jacobs was kind enough to let me share what I’ve discovered about the Power of the Freebie! Are you a freebie hoarder, or do you only download the ones you want to read? Come tell us andΒ be sure to enter on Reena’s blog for a chance to win a free ebook! While you’re there, check out her other awesome posts, including excerpts of her WIP!

http://reenajacobs.com/blog/2012/06/joleene-naylor-blog-tour/

Check out the rest of the schedule for more chances to win:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/2012/06/07/my-first-blog-tour/

Thanks for stopping by and helping to make my first tour a success!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Interesting post, Jo! I didn’t read any of the Vampire Morsels until AFTER I’d read Shades of Gray. I tend to download more books off of Amazon than Smashwords, etc. I know there’s a way to read on other devices using Smashwords, but I’m too impatient to learn how and I don’t want to always read off of my laptop. I do 80% or more of my reading using my phone as a e-reader. That way, I always have my book with me.

    While I have downloaded a lot of freebies, I can think of at least a half-dozen writers, off the top of my head, that I follow and BUY their books, simply because the first one in the series was free. I don’t know what that says about me and my reading habits, but I suppose if you think of writing as a business, you could think of free reads as part of advertising. Businesses dump a TON of money into advertising, a RIDICULOUS amount. So the whole “time is money,” stuff…still holds true if you look at it that way. I don’t think it’s a good idea to offer up your whole library as a free read. That’s just silly! But…if an author has a few books under their belt, maybe offering just the first one as a freebie, isn’t such a terrible idea, If a reader types the word “vampire” out on Amazon, for example, freebies tend to show up first on this list.

    Reply
    • I checked Amazon… Your “freebie,” 101 Tips for Traveling with a Vampire, is #28 on the list as of this post. πŸ˜‰

      Reply
    • I download the .mobi file from smashwords, save it to a folder and then hook my kindle up via the charge/usb cord and copy it into the documents folder on the kindle πŸ˜‰ I could save it straight to the kindle but I like to have a back up version. Yeah, I am not into reading whole books on the PC either unless I am editing them πŸ˜‰

      Oh yeah, I think freebies do help, the trouble is there are just such a glut of them on Amazon now with the KDP select promo that it’s not doing what it used to. For instance when 101 tips first went free I had a huge surge of sales and downloads. The other day I was talking to another author whose book went free via price match and they didn’t have even a quarter of what I pulled in (and compared to 80% of the authors out there mine was small, small potatoes) because people just don’t treasure the free like they did. I think if you have enough of a list it is worth trying a free book, after all, it might be genre specific, too, as different personality types are drawn to different genres.

      Reply
      • Oooohhh!!!! I’ll have to try this! Thanks for the tip!

        Reply
      • “Treasuring the free”… I like that! You might have a point there, but then again, so many “new” e-readers have come on the market, I would imagine that wouldn’t hurt. If you look at it in terms of this being a numbers game, YES there are more free books than ever, but there are also more people with devices to read them. I don’t know. I’m curious to see what the future holds, in that regard. πŸ™‚

        Reply
        • LOL! yeah me too! it is an interesting phenomenon to see that fewer people are donwloading the freebies than they were. i am sure there is a lot to it – perceived value, supply vs demand, the fact that people are doing more promos for their freebies so no one has to look for them like they used to, etc. I think some of it is people are already full up on the reading list (like I’ve stopped for the most part) so even if there are more new people, the old people have quit, so that cycles them out of the equation – it still leaves more people downloading, yes, but the free books are growing at a faster rate than the people who have the time to read them. It will all pop pretty soon. be interesting to see. but then the whole Inide movement will eventually – nothing lasts forever, LOL! but the ride in the meantime is what counts πŸ˜‰

          Reply
  2. Your blog tours so far have been sooooo interesting.

    Reply
  3. Great post! I think free works best when you have other books to buy. My mistake was giving everything away for free. LOL I’ll never do that again. I did recently put another book for free, but it was at $0.99, had been out for two years, and is the first of a trilogy. I made sure to add that there were two other books after it. Then I made another book free that I have dropped the series idea for (a contemporary which wasn’t selling more than 50 copies a month at $0.99). I figured I’d rather have it read and enjoyed than stalling out.

    I wish I could write short stories, but it’s a skill I don’t have. It really takes a lot of talent to pull one off. I’m impressed at how well you do it, and I do think the morsels are a great way to show your style. I’ve enjoyed them and think it enhances your novels. πŸ˜€

    I think you have a great system, and I’m so excited you’re sales have increased!

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • A Year of Short Stories

    A year of short stories kicks off with the Tales of the Executioners!

    Free short stories from the world of Amaranthine; a universe of blood and darkness where vampires don't sparkle and night is eternal. Each is about a member of the Executioners squad; the special vampire "police" force. Members both past and present share stories of assignments, origins, and more.

    Dark, light, love, laughter, death...you never know what you'll find in the shadows.

    Get all the details, including a list of available titles!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,535 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    Cocoa Cup Giveaway –Β enter for your chance at a vampire mug and cocoa.

     

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
