Unedited Snippet Two from Book Five & Meter Link

First, since there was so much interest, here is the link where I got the meter from – http://www.writertopia.com/toolbox/meters. They have two styles. the bigger one is cooler but won’t fit on this layout 😦

I am going to be virtually nonexistent during October working on book 5.  I’ve set my email to autoreply and, except for two days a week, I have sworn off my Facebook, Twitter, Pintrest, and even my email. If you contact me via these channels and I don’t answer immediately, that’s why.

In the meantime, please enjoy a random, unedited snippet from Heart of the Raven:

CONTAINS SPOILERS for Ashes of Deceit. If you haven’t read that book yet, then read at your own risk.

“Good night, little one. Sweet dreams.”

Katelina mumbled the endearment back, but she had no intention of sleeping.

She was the only one.

If vampires snored, the din (in the plane) would have been deafening, but they didn’t. They slept as silent as the dead while Katelina sat rigid in her seat and prayed over and over not to crash. After an hour, her eyes were heavy and her bladder was insistent, so she risked a trip to the bathroom.

As Jorick guessed, it was towards the back of the cabin behind a polished door. Though more luxurious than a normal airplane toilet, it was still tiny, and she hurried.

She exited to find Verchiel sitting up on the couch, a magazine in his hands. She moved past him and he commented, “Still awake? After the big exciting day you had, I’m surprised you haven’t passed out.  Not to mention all that glaring at me. That has to take a lot of energy.”

“Shouldn’t you be asleep?” she snapped back.

He lowered the magazine and shrugged. “Unlike you, I can always have an extra big snack and –boom- I’m refreshed. But it’s nice to know you worry.”

“I’m not worried. I just don’t want you irritating me.”

“You tell yourself that if it makes you feel better.” He stretched and yawned. “So what happened with that whisperer, anyway?”

She wrapped her arms around herself and shuddered. “I don’t want to talk about it, least of all with you!”

“You’re really determined to play this mad card, huh? All right, suit yourself. But when you get tired of it, let me know.” He gave her a wink and picked up his magazine. “I think I’ll finish this article then take a nap.”

She had nothing to say, so she strode to her seat and buckled herself in.

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. ooo on a plane… that’s different. I love that red headed boy 😀

    Reply
  2. Great snippet! I love ‘mad’ cards, unfortunately, I dig them out and use them… poor hubby! You are so good! Take care, Emily

    Reply
  3. I really enjoyed the snippet’s – looking forward to more!

    Reply
  4. In fact I hate you’re auto-responder! 😦 But I emailed you anyway! 😉
    Not reading just because I haven’t made it to book 4 yet. TBR list never goes down, sigh! 😦

    Reply
  5. Sigh, i’m loving it. Sure peeked my interest right away.

    Reply
  6. Verchiel’s a pest, but you got to love him! 😉

    Reply
  1. Unedited Snippet Three from Book Five – Adult Content « Amaranthine Night
  2. Unedited Snippet Four from Book Five « Amaranthine Night
  3. Unedited Snippet Five from Book Five « Amaranthine Night
  4. Unedited Snippet Six from Book Five « Amaranthine Night
  5. Unedited Snippet Seven from Book Five « Amaranthine Night
  6. Unedited Snippet Eight from Book Five « Amaranthine Night
  7. Unedited Snippet Nine from Book Five « Amaranthine Night
  8. Unedited Snippet Ten from Book Five « Amaranthine Night
  9. Unedited Snippet Eleven from Book Five « Amaranthine Night

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    PRE-ORDER YOURS TODAY

    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3,696 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    April 30- Release of Goddess of Night

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
