Cut Scene

Scissors

Scissors (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am in the rewriting/rereading stage of Heart of the Raven and have added some new scenes. Of course, whenever I do that bits get deleted. Most of the time it’s just a few sentences and I can work the good ones in after a fashion, but I had to cut a chunk  between Micah and Katelina that just won’t fit anymore. However Micah is convinced that since he’s so clever (his words, not mine) that it’s worth sharing. We’ll see if you agree.

Micah spied Katelina suddenly and spun towards her. “Lunch! Where the fuck is that fruity prick?”

“I don’t know.”

He stormed towards her, shaking his fist. “You better not be protecting that son of a bitch after what he did to Loren!”

She was irritated enough and that did it. “Fuck you, Micah. The last time I saw him he was in Thadimus’ office trying to get his money back.”

Micah came to a stop and towered over her. “You knew he was here and didn’t fucking tell me?”

“Sorry, I had other things on my mind!”

“Maybe I should sign up to join the list of people you’re fucking so you’d remember!”

She punched him in the stomach and he flinched backwards in surprise. “I’m not fucking a list of people, you ass! And even if I was, you’d never be on it!”

He recovered with a snicker. “Of course not, Princess, I’ve got better taste.” He turned away and stormed towards the nearest building.

So now I have to ask: was Micah right? Was this cut scene worth the time it took me to post it? Or should it have just stayed in the dustbin?signature for white

And if you’re dying for more Heart of the Raven action, you can read the first unfinalized chapter via Vicki Hudson’s First Look  as well as the first chapters of other WIPS!

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Interesting bit, but without context…I don’t know. A little extreme if they’re just hanging out at Walmart, 😉 but I could see this working if the rest of the chapter were dramatic.

    Reply
  2. I still have stuff for you but today major plumbing problem. If it’s not one thing it’s another

    Here is the dish for K to eat Kushari

    http://listverse.com/2011/10/28/top-10-delicious-and-unique-egyptian-foods/

    I had it for lunch but not impressed

    Micah spied Katelina suddenly and spun – spun suddently?

    Why not leave it in?

    Reply
    • TY! That looks like something poor K can look sad about 😉

      Well, in the rewrite Micah finds who he is looking for, so he doesn’t need to ask her,LOL!

      Oh man! Plumbing?? and you just got home!!

      Reply
      • Been home bit over a week. Still tired. I have more stuff for you but not now – going to bed

        Reply
  3. Jen g

     /  January 23, 2013

    Totally worth posting!!! Loved it!!!

    Reply
  4. Keep it. I blushed at all the rude words being English and prudy, but you should definitely leave it in.

    Reply
  5. I don’t know, Jo. I love all of the characters and their scenes. But I do love Micah’s comeback.

    Reply
    • He’s really proud of it and sad he didn’t get to use it. i managed to sort of get the same general feel elsewhere but it lacks his “better taste” remark, LOL!

      Reply
  6. Knowing he finds out without asking her, I say delete it. Just my two cents. 😀

    That hamster is addicting. I keep feeding it. hehe

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,491 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
