An Awesome Review and a Sneak Peek at Chapter One!

The first Jo read through of Heart of the Raven is finished! I will now do a quick read through (aka two days) for plot flow and send it off to the next round of betas. As usual, it is well over 100,000 words. But, instead of panicking like I usually do and racing through the document slashing and cutting because “industry insiders” say that readers want books between 80,000 and 90,000 words, I’m going to relax a little and pay more attention to the reader data that Mark Coker collected (“…60% of the top twenty Smashwords bestsellers were over 100,000 words long…”) and not stress as much if it ends up a little longer. That’s not to say that there aren’t sentences, paragraphs and scenes that can, and will, be tightened up still, only that I see no point in agonizing over it because that’s the “length preferred by agents” for my genre. I’m not submitting to an agent, anyway.

Either way, it’s on schedule and I am still hopeful for a late February or early March release.

With that good news, I have two great links to share! First, fellow author Beth Muscat was kind enough to review Shades of Gray. If you haven’t checked it out yet, please stop by and tell her thanks for the great post! And while you’re there, check out her other reviews.

And if you haven’t heard, the first (unfinalized) chapter of Heart of the Raven is avaliable for your perusal via fellow author Vicki Hudson‘s First Look segment on her blog.

Also don’t forget about the Valentines blog hop which is coming up in a couple of weeks. If you’re an author or reviewer, there is still time to join the fun. I may be giving away a prize in my blog if I can think of something interesting.

signature for whiteNow, if I can just decide who to put on the cover of the new book….

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I agree. I cut my novel left and right and then had to go back and make it understandable. I took out a whole chapter and took pieces of it to put in two other chapters. Boy, my editor really didn’t like the way it read at that point. The number of words don’t bother me as a reader. I love getting into stories.

    Reply
    • I’m half way through the second read through and have cut just over a 1,000 words. i see another 1,000 probably going and that’s it. I think some stories are just longer than others, I know I can;t imagine yours any shorter!!

      Reply
  2. Hey there Joleene – I just wanted to let you know I tagged you for the Fantasy Circle Of Five challenge. 🙂

    http://paigeaddams.wordpress.com/?p=406

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • A Year of Short Stories

    A year of short stories kicks off with the Tales of the Executioners!

    Free short stories from the world of Amaranthine; a universe of blood and darkness where vampires don't sparkle and night is eternal. Each is about a member of the Executioners squad; the special vampire "police" force. Members both past and present share stories of assignments, origins, and more.

    Dark, light, love, laughter, death...you never know what you'll find in the shadows.

    Get all the details, including a list of available titles!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,535 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    Cocoa Cup Giveaway – enter for your chance at a vampire mug and cocoa.

     

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
