My Fantasy Circle Of Five

The awesome Page Adams tagged me on the Fantasy Circle of Five. Be sure to check out her five choices in a super multi-media blog!

The Rules:

1) List five fantasy characters you’d like to spend time with, and give a little info on why you chose them.

2) Pass it on! :)

I don’t think it must be *fantasy* characters – as in from the fantasy genre – but most of mine are, anyway. They’re also all men. Most are hot. I think this says something, though I’m not sure what. Hmmm. (hey, that kind of rhymed! Hot/what… never mind.)

Legolas in Ralph Bakshi's animated version of ...

Legolas in Ralph Bakshi’s animated version of The Lord of the Rings. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

1. Legolas

The word fantasy conjures Tolkien  and I’ve always loved Legolas, long before the movies. Why do I love Legolas? He’s immortal (I have an immortal fetish, I know), he’s hawt (trust me, even before Orlando Bloom I knew Legolas was smokin’ – he’s an elf and elves are gorgeous by definition!), he’s wicked with that bow (Hello! He shot down one of the nazgul’s winged steeds!) and he’s funny (I always cracked up at the scene where he walks on the snow while everyone was struggling in it. I was so glad to see that in the movie! And when he calls them all children in Fanghorn) and he’s sweet, I mean he willingly goes back later and hangs out with Gimli in the glittering caves, even though he’s an elf who isn’t fond of caves. However, an elf would have limited patience hanging out with me, so I think after a day he’d abandon me in the middle of Mirkwood and hope one of the spiders got me. Ah well, I’d have my memories.

eomer.jpg

by Guru Meditation under CC license

2. Eomer

Tolkien #2 – I will try to switch universes after this one. Why Eomer? Um, because he’s hawt? And I mean pre-movie. Again, Karl Urban was just a super lucky bonus. What makes Eomer hot? Because he’s borderline Norse (another fetish of mine) has long blonde hair, lots of armor and a sword. Plus, there’s that whole banished from the kingdom thing for awhile, and everyone loves the black sheep who has been unjustly labeled so and only wants to save his country. *swoon* And he’s nice to his sister. That’s always hot. And he rides that big horse and… *cough* anyway. He’d likely have far more patience with me than an elf would, since the Rohirrim are used to short, fat, slightly scruffy little women, but once he found out I was scared of horses I imagine he’d dump me off on his sister or on one of the other soldiers. I like Eowyn, and hey, the other soldiers probably also have armor and long hair, so all in all it would be a good day.

David Tennant at Stratford upon Avon. This ima...

David Tennant at Stratford upon Avon. From Wikipedia.

3. Dr. Who

I’d take any incarnation, though I admit Tom Baker (the guy with the scarf) or David Tennant (the cute one) would be my first choices. I’d prefer to go when Rose was not around, though Sarah Jane would be okay. Why hang out with Dr. Who? Um because he’s friggin’ cool! And sometimes he’s even good looking. Plus he has that nifty blue box that takes him through all of time and space, so he can go anywhere he wants to! However, since I can’t really run very far before I black out, he’d probably get a bit aggravated with me. Assuming he’s not in his Collin Baker regeneration  I’ll assume he won’t say as much, but I think he’d get a sudden urgent message from Gallifrey and have to drop me off. Oh well. I’d have collected some souvenirs  so it would be okay.

Fred and George Weasley

by reidsrow under CC license – I was looking for hawt, but this was too cute

4. George Weasley

Another fantasy character. And before you point out the pervy old woman scenario, let me remind everyone that Harry Potter is, actually, MY age, having been born in 1980 and thus George Weasley is actually older than me. Ha! now that we have that out of the way, why George? Because he’s freaking hilarious for starters! Not to mention he can do all that snazzy magic stuff. And, well, okay, he’s hot. How do I know he’s hot? Because I just do. The Phelps kids who played them in the movies weren’t too bad, but I imagine the book version is even cuter. Sadly, after a couple of days, the fun of hanging out with a muggle would wear off, and they’d probably send me by floo powder to annoy someone else. Ah well. At least I’d have finally gotten to taste butterbeer. And hey, if they sent me to visit Snape that could always be fun. I love Snape.

Dave Lister (fictional character)

from wikipedia

5. Dave Lister

Yes, the last choice would be Lister from Red Dwarf. Why, you ask? Because I can’t help it, I always had a thing for him. Yes, I know he’s got bad manners, drinks too much, probably smells funny, and at one point spray paints his underwear to hide the hole in his jeans, but he has those hamster chubby cheeks and who can resist those? Not to mention, he’s really a pretty good guy. Plus, since his table manners are worse than a baboon, and his idea of a full day is lounging around a space ship discussing whose better looking, Betty or Wilma, AND he’s lost in deep space, light years away from earth, I think I’ve finally found a fictional character that wouldn’t abandon me. I have to be better company than Cat, after all.

And with that I am out of characters and lost in deep space surrounded by idiots, but it’s been a heck of a week so who am I to complain? Now, for tags!

  1. Julie Hoffman
  2. Bonnie Mutchler
  3. Roger Lawrence
  4. DM Yates
  5. Angie
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. lol, cool list 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ha, ha!! You’d dump Lister after a couple of days or you’d start harping about him dribbling chocolate milk down his chin, or extending the wear time of his underpants by three weeks by turning them wrong side out, he doesn’t like pasta… need I go on?

    Reply
  3. You could have stayed in Tolkien and I’d have been cool with it. 🙂 But you did score extra points for getting a Weasley in there!

    Reply
  4. Thanks for choosing me. There’s a world of fantasy characters I would love to hang out with. Loved your choices. Dr Who – now that’d be an adventure, for sure.

    Reply
  5. Thank you, Joleene. I’ll get right onto it.

    Reply
  6. I love your picks! 🙂 Lol, I went to Movie Tavern with the husband for the last movie and they were serving their version of Butterbeer. The server told us it was Killian’s Irish Red and Butterscotch Schnapps. 🙂 There are other recipes online, but this is the only one I can vouch for – it’s super tasty! (If you like butterscotch, lol.)

    Reply
  7. aaaah, the cartoon Legolas! That’s the only version of him I ever saw (haven’t read the books, haven’t watched the Peter Jackson movies, LOL)! 😀
    As for Dr Who, I’m stuck to the only series I was in the 1980s in Italy – Tom Baker and his rainbowy scarf…
    Showing our age again, I guess… 😉

    Reply
    • ops, typo: I SAW in the 1980s. Sorry, early morning here… 😦 and WP acting weird on Internet Explorer at work ISN’T helping! 😦

      Reply
      • Yes! Tom Baker was the best! Though I am partial to Tennant BUT… he’s just not the same 😉 The newest doctor is kind of Tom Baker-ish but there’s a lot more emo stuff going on in the series now, so not quite the same…

        Reply
  8. Hey all. I absolutely cannot get wordpress to like me or do anything I tell it so my circle of five is on my blogspot blog. http://threehoodies.blogspot.co.uk/

    Reply
  9. Yay Lister. LOL I just got hooked on the Red Drawf. 😀

    Neat list.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,491 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
