I *heart* Books Blog Hop

valentine maekoPlease allow me to introduce myself! My name is Maeko Tsukino, and I would like to welcome to our entry for the I *heart* books blog hop. The hop is sponsored by the Ink Slingers’ League, a group of authors who hang out in google groups and share promotion ideas, small excerpts for critique and amusing banter. Please check out the other blogs involved in the hop for chances to win cool prizes and find new authors.

blog hop tag 300

As you have probably guessed, I am a new character in the Amaranthine series. Though we’ll meet officially in Heart of the Raven, the fifth book in the series, which will be officially released March 13, 2013, my author thought it would be fun to introduce me early. My author posted and asked what you’d like to know, so here are the answers:

How did you become entangled with Jorick and friends?

This is a tricky question for me to answer. I knew one of them a long time ago.

Are you ever saddened that you were turned?

I am not saddened by it anymore. perhaps I was at first, when I fully understood what it meant, but I have since come to accept it.

What’s your name?

In the United States you would say it is Maeko Tsukino

Are you good or evil?

Does anyone believe that they are evil? I would guess that Nordin-san means “Does Jorick-ue and Kate-chan consider you good or evil” and I would hope that they think I am good.

I hope this has answered some of your questions! Now for a Valentine’s prize.

Enter to win this Valentine prize basket (including everything you need for a romantic day with your books: a goblet for your favorite drink, a candle to set the mood, my favorite pocky sticks and a cuddly friend) by leaving your email address in a comment below. My author will use Random.org to choose the winner on February 17th, 2013. The winner will be notified by email and will need to provide a mailing address. Should the winner regrettably be allergic to the Red 40 in the pocky sticks, a chocolate variety will be substituted.

valentine prize

Thanks so much for stopping by. It was wonderful to meet you. Please be sure to visit the other great blogs in the I *heart* ebooks hop. Click the link below for the full list!



maeko sig

Leave a comment

44 Comments

  1. I enjoyed this post very much. I don’t think I’m evil and I don’t think I know anyone who is evil. Not sure anyone is evil, a person may do evil things though.
    Love the prize, so cute.

    miztik_rose@yahoo.com

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for stopping in Mary! I agree, I don;t think anyone is 100% evil or 100% good, we’re all a mixture, just hopefully more good than bad 😉

      Reply
  2. very cool post Jolene! you nailed Maeko’s character! i could actually hear her speak English with her native tongue’s accent. 🙂

    Reply
  3. “Should the winner regrettably be allergic to the Red 40 in the pocky sticks, a chocolate variety will be substituted.”

    OMG!!!!!!!!! You made me laugh so hard, I almost had a tragic coffee mishap!

    Maeko Tsukino is adorable!!! I love her!!! She is so pink! I want to give her a My Little Pony! Any gal who can carry a doll and a Glock, at the same time, is aces!

    PS…Hubby asked, “Where’s her schoolgirl skirt?” 😉 Bad Hubby! LOL

    Reply
    • Heh-heh, I thought of your plight 😉 Actually, I had never thought about being allergic to red before until I met you and now I’ll see something red and think “Man, you know, poor Juli can;t have that!” I’d think they’d come up with something better for the red by now! But then science has found a way to make childbirth less… um… birthy yet, either, so there you go 😉

      Tell him my brother wanted to know the same thing :p

      Reply
  4. I am so wanting this basket!!! Maeko has a wonderful attitude!!! Take care and good luck with the promo! Lots of love, Emily guido.emily@gmail.com

    Reply
  5. Pam R

     /  February 11, 2013

    I ❤ POCKY! The interview was awesome.

    Reply
  6. I can guess who she knew long ago. vampire children are special needs I would think. Recently I had a discussion with myself about when is it appropriate to add new characters to an ongoing series

    Reply
  7. What a fun post Joleene – I’ve seen how you’re sharing your characters on Pinterest as well – you are my marketing hero! I definitely have evil moments – at least in my mind. Makes me smile sometimes because you just really never know what someone is thinking do you?

    Reply
    • Thanks Marquita! I love Pintrest! Wish I had more time for it 😉
      Hee-hee, yep! I do, too… like those moments when a certain someone is standing at the top of the stairs and… bad Jo, LOL!

      Reply
  8. Love the interview. It really helps you get into the character’s head. I’ve never had pocky, but I’m all about expanding my horizons. My email is tartcoookies@gmail.com Glad I stopped by on the blog hop.

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for joining us, Karla! Pockey are fun – they’re like shortbread cookie sticks dipped in chocolate – or in this case it’s almost a strawberry yogurt. The coffee ones are a bot strong, though, as they then roll them in something that tastes much like coffee LOL!

      Reply
  9. Crystal Young

     /  February 11, 2013

    She sounds like a great character I am excited to read book five Thanks.

    crystaley73@yahoo.com

    Reply
  10. Great gift idea! Looking forward to the book.

    Reply
  11. Lol, Maeko-chan is awesome! 🙂 I love that she’s all pink and cutesy, and carries a big gun. And – I *love* pocky!! 🙂 Here’s my e-mail: bethanybeckman yahoo com.

    Reply
    • I think pink and guns just go well together, but then my Barbies had an arsenal (seriously – there was a gumball machine that had mini plastic keychain guns and we had the whole collection, LOL!)

      Thanks so much for stopping in, Paige!

      Reply
  12. Strawberry Pocky may be the most addictive snack food ever. Love those things! 😀

    kaysielynn at suddenlytheyalldied dot com

    Reply
    • I know! I thought about buying up a bug bunch because after valentines they disappear from the shop, LOL!

      Thanks for stopping in, Kay!

      Reply
      • I found them at Walmart once and promptly bought two boxes. I couldn’t believe that of all places, I would see them in Walmart! 🙂

        Reply
  13. Okay girls move over I just got to have that pink monkey. LOL! He’s so cute. I do think we are all a little bad now and then.. LOL, we just have to be sorry afterwards . . . right. 🙂

    Great blog tweeted shared and all of that. This is my first hop, and I’ll try to be hopping around to all of you guys and gals!!

    Samantha Fury
    Author of the Street Justice Series.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Sam! Isn’t he adorable? There was a moment when I was tempted to keep him, LOL!

      And we’re glad to have you on the hop! You;re doing great! 😀

      Reply
  14. Nice – now I am all the more curious to get through books 1-4 so I can read Heart of the Raven.

    Reply
  15. dm yates

     /  February 12, 2013

    She is such a cutie – dangerous but a cutie. Love the basket you put together. This is one of your most creative and fun characters.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Donna! I have actually had her planned for awhile – she was really the ONLY plan I had when I started the book – everything else was a surprise 😉

      Reply
  16. celina k

     /  February 12, 2013

    I have never tried Pocky, thanks for the opportunity! And the hop. I love blog hops, so fun!

    dreammie_angel at yahoo dot com

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping in Celina! Pocky sticks are kind of like shortbread cookies dipped in stuff. The strawberry taste kind of like strawberry yogurt 😉

      Reply
  17. Great post Joleene. I am really looking forward to meeting all your characters. I’m waiting for Shades of Grey to arrive from Amazon. I don’t have an e-reader so have ordered a paperback – it should arrive today or tomorrow. I can’t wait!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Barbara! I hope you enjoy it! 😀 Like any artist, I think the newest is the best and the old stuff is “eh” but don;t listen to me 😉

      Reply
  18. abutcherswife

     /  February 14, 2013

    Thanks for introducing us to this character. It must be very exciting to be so close to release date. Thanks for hosting the blog hop, it was a lot of fun.

    Reply
  19. Alicia

     /  February 15, 2013

    Great art and can’t wait to officially meet her.
    Skymartin86@Gmail.com

    Reply
  20. I’d sign up but people would think we cheated if I won, so just get me a monkey like that next time you go to springfield, ok:) The interview is great. and the book is as fun and sexy as usual and leaves me wanting more of your vampire world.

    Reply
    • Ha ha! Well, the shipping would be cheap 😉 I will do my best if there are any left. And thanks! You’ll get to read it again and maybe again so hope you *really* like it! LOL!

      Reply
  21. I assume she is one of the good characters then. 😀

    What a fun giveaway. I notice today is the cut off point. If I’m too late to enter, just ignore my entry. But in case you haven’t gathered emails yet, here’s my email ranalaska@yahoo.com. (It’s separate from my author email.)

    Reply
  22. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com

     /  March 5, 2013

    Hi Joleene, thank you for liking my quote ( if l tell )sincerely jalal ( the background it could have something to do with their behavior !

    Reply
  1. The I <3 Books Blog Hop – Presented by The Ink Slingers League « Amaranthine Night

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,536 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
