Heart of the Raven Blurb

double covers

This is the long version. A couple of shorter versions will appear later, though I have to admit that, after having done some research around the web and such, I don’t think those 100 word blurbs are always doing us authors the favors we think they are. There are plenty of complaints out there about book descriptions that are too short…

Katelina has barely recovered from the chaos of Malick’s revolt, yet she and Jorick must go to Munich to testify before the True Council. All hopes of a vacation are dashed when they ‘re assigned an entourage that includes Verchiel, a vampire Katelina never wants to see again.

Her hatred is forgotten when Malick and his henchmen penetrate the stronghold in Munich. Jorick hijacks the trip and diverts them on a quest to reclaim the Heart of the Raven. Said to be the disembodied heart of Lilith, the relic may be more reality than myth, and if it falls into the wrong hands it could have disastrous consequences for the world. Can they reach its hiding place before Malick?

The fifth installment of the Amaranthine series sees Jorick and Katelina draw closer as they surround themselves with their own miniature army and try to outwit the machinations of the ancient master. Katelina grows stronger and learns to stand on her own because there’s no room for the fainthearted in a world where darkness is eternal and the night tastes like blood.

signature for whiteAnd… opinions? I know you have ’em, and we all know I like to hear ’em. So fire away.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I don’t like long book descriptions, I hate knowing too much before I start reading. If the book is part of a series I’m enjoying I will purposefully not look at the back until I’ve finished so I haven’t a clue what’s going to happen as I read! But perhaps I’m just very quirky!! 😀 Did like this description though, seems just right to me.

    Reply
    • I do that with movies! I prefer to know nothing about them except the basic genre, LOL! I always think that way I experience the way the film writers had in mind – no one writes a story with the idea the audience will know half of it first, after all 😉 So I know what you mean!

      Reply
  2. Great!!! So good Joleene!!! Lots of love, Emily

    Reply
  3. This description seems just right. Not too short, not too long. I’ve read some that are so long, I lose interest halfway through. This seems perfect.

    Reply
  4. What intrigued me most was the heart of Lilith and how it might not be a myth. I wonder if you could bring it more to the top, like in a sentence that goes before the description? I wish I could come up with an example, but my mind is drawing a blank because I’m not familiar with Lilith and how it could tie into disaster for the world. But I love the idea that something like a heart could have that kind of power.

    Sorry I can’t be more help. I suck when it comes to writing descriptions. I end up having my writing group help me.

    I do think the length is perfect.

    Reply
    • Yeah, I hate writing them, too, which is why I have been putting it off but I have like 10 days to release so better get at it.

      Thanks for the input! i think I know what you mean… off to ponder it 🙂

      Reply
  5. I can’t wait to grab my own copy. The series just gets better and better

    Reply
    • Thanks Donna! 😀 I was hoping to send out paperback version gifts but it seems it will be a month or two before they make it to paperbacks 😦

      Reply
  1. Random Wintery Photos |

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,491 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
