I’ve been Smacked! (And I Liked It!)

jo n chucky

I suspect this does not count as a picture of me…..

I want to apologize to everyone for being gone. We had a death in the family, followed by a round of horrific stomach flu. Hopefully that’s it and life can get on with gettin’ on.

No, this is not the smack I am talking about.

The smack came from Emily Guido, author of the Light Bearer series where angels and vampires run amok. If you’ve never checked her out you should. She is such a sweet person.

On to the tag.

I know a lot of you don’t like AWARDS… but this isn’t an award. You haven’t won anything. You’re not getting this because you did something excellent. You got it because I feel like giving it to you, so there!

here are the rules:

The Rules:

1. Post these rules.
2. Post a photo of yourself and eleven random facts about you.
3. Answer the questions given to you in the tagger’s post.
4. Create eleven new questions and tag new people to answer them.
5. Go to their blog/twitter and let them know they have been tagged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Who’s up? You-all have been TAGGED! SMACK, YOU’RE IT!! (see end of post for your questions)

  1. Donna Yates
  2. Roger Lawrence
  3. Tricia Drammeh
  4. Sassy Sue
  5. Stephannie Beaman
  6. Juli Hoffman
  7. Janet Coulter
  8. Lyndsey Parsons
  9. Paige Adams
  10. Vicki Hudson

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

tttc

I doubt this image from the Terrible Turtle Conspiracy counts either…

Now it’s time for Emily’s 11 questions:

1. What is your favourite genre of literature?

Fantasy and romance. If you put them together I am in Joey heaven.

2. What is your favourite genre of film?

Fantasy, Sci-fi… giant robots, aliens, elves, hobbits, Vulcans, Stormtroopers, things like that.  I LOVE 3D and good CGI will make me salivate.

3. Do you read in bed? How? Book? Kindle? Both? Does Mommy sit by your bed and read to you? Sigh.

Very rarely. The last books I read in bed were the last two Hunger Games books because I stayed up to read them when I was supposed to be sleeping.

4. How do you take your coffee in the morning? If you don’t drink coffee, how do you survive your day?

 Though I love coffee I don’t drink it because I don’t own a coffee pot. I also don’t own a microwave (though the neighbors do and I use theirs from time to time). When I do drink coffee it is with LOTS of cream and sugar.

5. Do you consider yourself fashionable?

I wish. But, sadly, to quote Emily “I have no grace or beauty. I would have been better off born as a line-backer…”  If I’d been given naturally thin genetics, or even semi-thin with work genetics, and the right face, and the right hair I’d dress like either Galadriel or Morticia Adams. Alas instead I wear t-shirts and jeans.

6. If you could live anywhere on earth, where would it be?

By the ocean, preferably on the East Coast. however that’s not meant to be in this lifetime. Afraid I’m a midwest girl, but maybe in the next round.

7. Have you retained any evil habits? If not, with what will you bargain when you’re marooned at sea in a lifeboat?

To quote Emily “I don’t… smoke or do drugs. So if marooned at sea, I would die of starvation. What a shame… I would finally be able to fit into a model’s size!!! Haha!” I do however have a glass of something alcoholic now and then and once or twice a year I do have a cigarette, usually while drinking that alcoholic beverage.

8. What is the worst TV show that you love anyway?

We’re watching the animated X-men on netflix right now. it’s cheesy but fun. I love cheesy.

9. When you vacation, do you want to be in an urban or rural environment?

 Rural. As much as I wanted to be a city girl, I’m not.

10. Where did you go on your all-time favorite vacation?

Virginia Beach, Va. My brother and I spent all day at “the big beach” and a good portion of it just sitting on a bench watching the waves. the sky was cloudy, it was October so it was nice and cool, not too crowded. It was awesome.

11. Are you a morning person? Has anyone ever punched you for being cheerful before coffee?

My morning is at 2 in the afternoon, so it is easier to take. If someone wakes me up, then not so much, but if I get to wake other people up that makes me cheerful. “Up, up, up!”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jo - she refuses to update her online pictures because she likes the black hair in this one. Sad.

Oh fine. here’s the real Jo – but she refuses to update her online pictures because she likes the black hair in this one. Sad.

Factoids about me:

1. I love pink sparkly things.

2. I am studying to get a ham radio license.

3. I wrote my first sex scene when I was twelve in a book called The Devil’s Niece. I later threw it away.

4. I make more money from books covers than from writing books. Sad but true.

5. I believe in wearing clothing (see the above question about being not graceful etc.). As such my husband calls me a prude.

6. All of my pets are rescues. We just keep finding strays, lol!

7. I am fascinated with the Titanic. I think I must have drown there in a previous life.

8. I like rocks. I have them stacked randomly all over my house.

9. I love the jelly Lychee juice, though it is hard to find.

10. I don’t like my food touching unless it’s Mexican or Asian. I don’t even like my garlic bread to sit on the spaghetti.

11. I could have graduated high school at semester but chose to stay through to the end of the year.

.

And now my 11 questions for those I tagged:

  1. Mountains or ocean?
  2. Are you anything like your astrological sign?
  3. What is one thing you wish you had/hadn’t done?
  4. Have you ever broken a bone?
  5. What’s your favorite book of all time?
  6. If you could write anything, even things you’re not normally good at, what would it be?
  7. What was your best Halloween costume?
  8. Have you ever done anything weird to your hair?
  9. If you were stranded on a desert island, how many packets of crackers would you take?
  10. What is your ereader of choice, or do you still like paper books best?
  11. If you were to wish on a star right now, what would the wish be? (since you’re not really doing it, you can tell us. 😉  )

signature for white

Leave a comment

36 Comments

  1. Thanks for smacking me Jo!!
    Sorry to hear you’ve been having a bad time, sending you big hugs and hoping things will get much better for you from now on! xx

    Reply
  2. I’m doing the A-Z Challenge and I blog twice a week – if you think I have time for another blog… you’ve been eating too many twinkies

    1. Ocean
    2. Technically I’m a virgo but no longer have those traits thank goodness so decided I’m a cancer
    3. I have no regrets
    4. Well I didn’t break the bone, the car my dad was driving (he had an award for worst driver of all time) went into a soft shoulder on the road and the front seat hit my leg in the back seat. I’ve never broken another person’s bone
    5. I don’t do favs for anything – it varies though right now reading Jasper Fforde who is awesome
    6. I’m surprised I can write at all
    7. Gypsy every year – no imagination and mom’s wardrobe only suited for gypsy
    8. I straightened it – does that count?
    9. Packets of crackers? Wait I’ll ask Polly
    10. Still read the real thing
    11. More hours in the day

    Now I’m out the door for screen writing class

    Reply
    • I hear you there. I need to do some posts for other blogs… yeesh.

      “…I’ve never broken another person’s bone..” hahaha! nice!

      Reply
      • my personal fav was #9….. homework for class – good class but this will be time consuming

        Reply
  3. Ha ha my husband doesn’t like his food touching either!!!! Good to know when you come over for dinner!!! haha! Lots of love, Emily

    Reply
  4. LOL on #5. So wearing clothes makes you a prude. 😀

    Judging from your picture, I’d say you’re pretty (and I mean the final one), though the drawings are pretty cool, too. You shouldn’t be so hard on yourself.

    Reply
    • Hubby seems to think it does. I guess in his ideal universe we all run around naked all the time :p Oh, he says no, not all the time, just alone at home. Sounds cold to me. LOL!

      Reply
  5. Thanks, Joleene. I’ll get right onto it. I’ll probably do it on my own blog because WordPress hates me and loses most of my blogs with malicious spite. Roger

    http://threehoodies.blogspot.co.uk/

    http://www.threehoodies.com

    Reply
  6. Emily Guido smacked me, too! 😈

    Reply
  7. As the saying goes – things can only get better – and I hope they get better for you very soon. I enjoyed reading your factoids – this was a fun post.

    Reply
  8. Jo, I’m sorry to hear you’ve had such a rough time. My condolences to you and as for that bug, I hope you feel better soon!

    Reply
  9. Thanks for the smack, Joleene. I hope everyone there is feeling much better. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    Reply
  10. I am SO SORRY for everything that’s been going on, sweety. 😦 So sad. *big hug* I hope everything starts shaping up for you and your family. Much love, happiness and good health!!!

    Rescue pets, yes!!! Stone collecting, yes!!! I don’t mind when some food mixes, but I hate having bread/crackers/etc. on top of other foods. Such as garlic bread on spaghetti like you mentioned, crackers crumbled on soup (eeek)… and so on. 😛

    Reply
    • Yes!! I can’t stand crackers in soup! My hubby eats it that way – he turns his soup into this big ball of cracker much and it is sooooo gross, LOL!!

      Thanks so much for the kind thoughts! HUGS!

      Reply
  11. very nice. fun. But – I’m sorry to hear about all your troubles lately and losing a loved one. We’re all here for you, Jo.

    Reply
  12. Hi, Joleene. I’m really grateful for being smacked (colloquially speaking) by you, but I’ll have to leave off doing my own for a few days. I didn’t want you to think I was ignoring it but my arm feels like someone else’s has just been sewn on. Sooner or later I’ll get it fixed, but you know us men – leave it until it really does fall off. Thanks again. Roger.

    http://threehoodies.blogspot.co.uk/

    http://www.threehoodies.com

    Reply
  13. Thanks Joleene. I just saw that you reviewed the 4 Types of Artists 🙂 I appreciate your taking out time to read and review it. Enjoyed reading your questions and and answers – and especially factoid #6 🙂
    – Shafali

    Reply
  14. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com

     /  April 2, 2013

    HI Joleene,sorry to hear about your loose.Hope you are well.Emily is a unique friend and writer..I liked your answers ,very interesting.Thank you for the like.Wishing you beautiful Spring.jalal

    Reply
  15. A million years later, and I’ve FINALLY responded back! Gesh!!!!!!! 😉 Take care, sweetie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *Hugs*

    Reply
  16. I’m so sorry to hear about your loss, and that you weren’t feeling well. I hope you’re feeling much better now.

    I’m totally with ya – I’m a t-shirt and jeans kinda girl myself. If I could get away with it, I’d totally go for the Morticia/Galadriel route though. Ooo – or steampunk! I *love* steampunk fashion. XD

    Lol, and the animated X-Men is awesome! I haven’t seen that show in forever. Now I have to Netflix it. 🙂

    Thank you again for tagging me – I’m super excited to get started. 🙂

    Reply
  1. I’ve Been Smacked and I Liked it! (Like a REALLY long time ago… Gesh!) | The Williamson Vampires

Share your dark side...

  • A Year of Short Stories

    A year of short stories kicks off with the Tales of the Executioners!

    Free short stories from the world of Amaranthine; a universe of blood and darkness where vampires don't sparkle and night is eternal. Each is about a member of the Executioners squad; the special vampire "police" force. Members both past and present share stories of assignments, origins, and more.

    Dark, light, love, laughter, death...you never know what you'll find in the shadows.

    Get all the details, including a list of available titles!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,534 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    Cocoa Cup Giveaway – enter for your chance at a vampire mug and cocoa.

     

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
