Interview with Trom

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer.

Today we are interviewing Trom from Jennifer Priester’s novel  Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic. 

Katelina: Hello Trom and welcome! Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Trom: I am a warlock and the first Head of the Witches Council that you meet in the Mortal Realm Witch series. I am short with black hair and dark brown eyes, and I am much older than I look. Specifically several hundred years older.

K: Like a vampire, huh? We interviewed DWW last week and she was telling us about this Other Realm…

T: Yes. I was born in the Other Realm where I was raised by my dad for the first part of my life. Then, as it was required by Other Realm rules for all witches and warlocks to spend at least a year in the Mortal Realm, I did so with my mom. Even though my parents lived separately they weren’t divorced or anything. What separated them was rules. See, my dad was a warlock and had a job in the Other Realm as the Assistant to the Head of the Witches Council which required him to live in the Other Realm. My mom was a mortal and one of the Other Realm’s biggest rules was, no mortal allowed. There were no exceptions to these rules.

K: I guess those rules have probably played a big part in shaping who you turned out to be.

T: Yes. Living in the Mortal Realm with my mom helped to shape who I am. I learned a lot from her and the mortals I went to school with. The reason had much to do with my second power which I discovered while I lived here that allowed me to see things in a whole new way.

K: I imagine asking about your second power would be too much of a spoiler, huh? Mortal realm Witch is a series, right? Which books can we find you in?

T: I first appearance in the Mortal Realm Witch series is in Book One, Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic, but you will be able to discover my orgin story in the unnamed Fifth book in the series. I am in all the books of the main series (1-5).

K: How would you say you change during the course of the series?

fun with sparklers 5.jpg

photo by Jo

T: I learn that even as the Head of the Witches Council, who is in charge of everything and everyone with magic and is required to know a lot, there are some things even I don’t know about magic until DWW comes along. Up until that point I thought that I knew everything there was to know about magic.

K: What would you say is the biggest challenge you face?

T: Teaching DWW. It can be hard to teach a witch rules that has the ability to find ways around them almost every time!

K: So you don’t really have any enemies then?

T: The closest thing I have to one is Sampson, although I don’t really think of him this way. Sampson could be considered an enemy because this is how he sees me. The reason is that I was the one in charge of punishing him the first time and he doesn’t like me for that, but even as true as this is Sampson’s real enemy is DWW.

K: It looks like we’re running out of time, but before you go, inquiring minds want to know: are you involved in a romance?

T: No, I don’t really get out much and meet new people anymore.

K: And with that we’re out of time. You can find Trom in Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic available at

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Mortal-Realm-Witch-Learning-About/dp/193878300X/  

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mortal-realm-witch-jennifer-priester/1111957728?ean=9781938783005

Also check out the website for more info: http://www.mortalrealmwitch.com/meettheauthor.html

 

And a special thank you to Jennifer Priester for playing along!

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/

 

Leave a comment

Share your dark side...

