Interview with Karina

interview

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer.

Today we are interviewing Karina, who is from The Beast Within novellas by Melissa Crowe.

Katelina: Hello Karina! Would you like to tell us a little about yourself?

Karina: I am tall, blonde and pale with deep red lips. I have recently learned that these are traits of the Tuatha De Danann. I live with my boyfriend of six years Ian, which is causing some friction with the Otherworld.

KL: What are the Tuatha De Danann?

KN: In book one I discover that I am a descendant of these Celtic warrior faeries called Tuatha De Danann. I know it sounds crazy right? It took a lot of adjusting, but it has brought Ian and I closer. He is my Guardian and was sent to me by the Goddess Danu to protect me.

KL: Mmmm. That sounds romantic! But why is it causing friction?

KN: Ian is my heart and soul. Without him I have no reason to live. Relationships between Danann and Guardians are forbidden. When Ian’s brother Ronan came to our aid (in book two) he was angry. He went back to the Otherworld and told the Goddess Danu. Ian was summoned to her and I refused to let him go without a fight. I have made a deal with Danu to keep Ian as my Guardian, but we will have to keep our relationship a secret. If anything happened to him…..well let’s just say there will be dire consequences.

KL: Why do you need a guardian? I mean, is there someone after you, or….?

KN: Lycanthropes are my enemy. They are people who have been cursed by the Roman Catholic church. At the full moon they turn into these werewolf type beasts. The blood of the Tuatha De Danann is the only thing that can break their curse. My race has been almost wiped out because of this.

KL: Holy cats! I thought I had it bad running around with vampires. They just want to snack on me, not use my blood to break a curse! Sounds hard.

KN: It is. And being the only Danann to live outside of Ireland is really hard. I have not been raised with my people’s traditions and Ian, being a Guardian, is unable to teach me in there ways. Also, part of the curse placed on the Danann is that they cannot cross water. So travelling with Ian to the Otherworld in Ireland, from my home in Australia was…. Let’s just say interesting. You will have to read Journey to know the details.

KL: That does sound challenging! I can’t even imagine. How did you find out about all of this?

KN: Meeting Xavier (in book one) was where it all began. My life got thrown upside down and he helped me discover what I am. It almost cost me my life in the process.

KL: Ugh. Been there and it’s no picnic. What’s the one thing you want the most?

KN:  To be normal. I didn’t ask to be born a Danann. I didn’t ask for my life to be threatened daily. Keeping secrets from my family and best friend is painful. But if I wasn’t a Danann, then I would never have met Ian.

KL: It looks like we’re running out of time. If you could say one thing to your author, what would it be?

KN: Give me an opportunity to speak to Ronan, he is the reason Ian and I are in this mess. He deserves to feel my wrath. I warned him if anything happened to Ian then I would sacrifice myself to a lycanthrope and my blood will be on his hands. I want to remind him of that.

KL: And to your readers?

KN: It’s more of a question: What adventures do you think will be in store for Ian and I in book four, Sacrifice?

KL: And with that we’re out of time! If you’d like to hazard a guess about what Melissa Crowe will do to her lovely characters, please leave it in the comments below and thanks so much for stopping by! Be sure to check out the rest of her blog tour and the Beast Within series.

Title: The Beast Within
Series: The Beast Within novellas #1
Author: Melissa Crowe
Publication Date: 5th June 2012
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Synopsis:
Karina’s world is turned upside
down when she meets the sexy and mysterious Xavier. Something powerful and
sensual is unlocked from inside her that she cannot explain and seems to have
little control over.
With Xavier’s help, Karina discovers she is a Tuatha De Danann, celtic faeries
long thought to have been eradicated. Xavier’s insistence on making her believe
troubles Karina, what dangerous secret is he keeping from her? Can her ex
partner Ian save her before it’s too late?This novella contains violence, and sexual situations which may not be
recommended for readers under fifteen.

Buy your copy-

Amazon
Kindle or Paperback
 
 
Title: Haunted
Series: The Beast Within novellas #2
Author: Melissa Crowe
Publication Date: 25th December 2012
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Synopsis:
Karina has now discovered her
abilities, but this only puts her in further danger. With a 600 year old
lycanthrope thirsting for her blood, Ian must summon the help of his brother
Ronan, the keeper of the Spear of Victory, a treasure sacred to the Tuatha De
Danann. Can the two Guardians protect Karina, or will her secret ultimately
bring destruction upon them all?
Buy your copy- 
Amazon
Kindle or Paperback 
 
Title: Journey
Series: The Beast Within novellas #3
Author: Melissa Crowe
Publication Date: 20th September 2013
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Synopsis: 
Ian has been
summoned by the Goddess Danu to the Otherworld, and Karina will not let him go
without a fight.
With a Tutha De Danann that is unable to cross
water, getting from Australia to Ireland will make for an interesting journey.
Supernatural beings, sworn enemies and the full moon are only half of the risk
as they try to cross three continents. Drug smuggling, guerrilla kidnapping and
lycans on the prowl will hamper their travels.
Davarus, self-proclaimed King of the
lycanthropes is building an army and on the move. Danger faces these forbidden
lovers at every turn.

Would you travel to the ends of the earth for
the one you love?

Buy your copy-

Amazon- Kindle or Paperback
 
 
About
the author: Melissa Crowe
 
I
am from Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia. I have been a lover of
Paranormal and strong powerful women all my life and now am lucky enough to put
the two together and share it with the world. In 2009 I started writing and
have not looked back.
Author
links
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Very nice. I’ve never heard of these before so it sure sounds like books that I’d like to read.

    Reply
  2. Melissa

     /  October 13, 2013

    Thanks for giving Karina the opportunity to chat with you. It was a lot of fun.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

