Interview with Mr. M

downloadWelcome, Mr. M. Please tell us a little something about your newest release.

Brian is that boy in middle school that is trying to fit in. That is definitely how I felt in middle school.  I wanted to fit in. He soon learns that he is not your ordinary, average, boy. His grandma is a ghost that practices black magic. Brian learns that in order to save his mother he will have to become a ghost and take down his grandma.

 What inspired you to write it?

Writing is something that I like to do for fun. The first three chapters are part of an unpublished short story. I really enjoy writing about relationships.

What was your favorite part?

I love the moment where Brian reveals to his best friend Johnny, that his grandma is an evil witch. They are both staring at this porthole with Murdock (a ghost tracker). Johnny sort of thinks he is losing his mind.  Brian knows he has to rescue his mom and his uncle.

            “I’ve got to get my mom and my uncle back,” I said.

            “Who is he?”

            “That’s Murdock. He’s with us.”

            “Nice to meet you,” Johnny said with a nod. He looked over at me. His blue eyes were the widest they had ever been. “Okay,” he said. “I believe you.”

 I like it because it is important to have friends you can count on. Johnny is the kind of guy Brian counts on.  The rest of the passage continues to show just how important good friends are.

 Do you have a favorite character? Why are they your favorite?

I obviously love Brian. He is the main character. I like him because he is real. He isn’t a goody two shoes. If anything, he sometimes comes across slightly sarcastic. However, Brian is always a guy you can route for. I really enjoyed writing about the close relationships Brian has with his friends.

What do you have planned next?

I want to write stories that appeal to you adults.  Some writers want to be the next Tom Clancy or John Grisham. I enjoy writing for young adults. Some of my favorite books of all time are young adult stories. I love Catcher And The Rye, The Outsiders, Rumblefish, and Wonder.

Where can people find more of you and/or your work?

This is my first book.  I am working on another.  Stay tuned for more!

Tell us one interesting thing about yourself or your book.

I am a huge sports fan.  I love the Dodgers and the Lakers.  Watching “Showtime Basketball” was an amazing time for Laker fans.  I am really excited that Byron Scott is returning to the Lakers as a coach.  He was one of my favorite players.

 

About the Author

Mr. M. lives in Los Angeles, California. A long-time fan of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Roswell, and Lost, Mr. M. always wanted to write his own stories. The Magical Adventures of Brian Leonard is his first published book.

You can get your copy of  The Magical Adventures of Brian Leonar by Mr. M at Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Magical-Adventures-Brian-Leonard/dp/1497511305

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Good interview. Sounds like a book I’d like to read.

    Reply
  2. That was an interesting interview. And we are fans of the same stuff too,

    Reply
  3. Nice interview. lol, my gram is an evil witch. I love it.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

