Amaranthine on Google Plus

gplus

As I mentioned in my previous post (Amaranthine on Pintrest ), some new Facebook policies have forced me tho think about promoting other social network options. Though Facebook is still the big one right now, MySpace used to be the top dog, and now it’s gone the way of the dodo. Who knows what may happen as Facebook continues to be more about how much we can pay them and less about social interaction.

As such, I am showcasing some networks I’m on. I mentioned Pintrest , Tsu.co already, and Twitter already, and, yes, I have a website ( http://JoleeneNaylor.com if you’ve never been there), but a website is like a poster at a subway station. Full of good information though not really a way to participate in a conversation.

As such, now seems like a good idea to start mentioning some of those other social media sites I’m on and telling you why you might like to connect with me there.

G+

What it is: Google’s answer to Facebook, G+ – or Google Plus – is a bit like facebook. You have a profile which, just like your wall, showcases everything you’ve posted, and other google things are organized under tabs, like your google reviews, photos you’ve uploaded, all of your “about” info, and thing’s you’ve +1’d. (That’s an interesting new verb). Your home shows the stream of content your friends have posted, so you can share, comment, and +1 their posts (+1 is the same as Facebook’s like function)

Why it’s fun: Like Facebook, but better organized, you can enjoy the same kind of content. Google Plus let’s you put people into “circles” and then via tabs on the top of your home page let’s you view content ONLY by people in those circles. For instance you could have an “authors” circle, that had only authors you follow in it, or  “people I work with” circle. When you share things you can choose which circles can view it. This makes it a lot easier to sort posts and lets you see the ones that are most important to you (such as family) without having to weed through every thing else.

Why you want to follow me: Though my G+ has more on it than my fan page, it has less than my personal FB profile. Blog links show up there, as do random things now and then, like youtube songs that are awesome and links to content that is totally cool (like blogs by other people you should check out). I don’t post a there a lot right now, but if Facebook does fall through who knows, this may be the new one we all hang out on. So why not go ahead and add me to your circles?

And remember that newsletter I mentioned? If you do subscribe to it right now you get the first three chapters of Clash of Legends (book 7) as an apology for the publication date being pushed back – http://www.joleenenaylor.com/books/newsletter.php

signature for white

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I loved Google +, until my latest round of hitting brick walls with them. Still, they are much better than facebook. At this point, most sites are.

    Reply
  2. I don’t do much on Google+, but I do like the format. Like you, I’ve given up on promoting on Facebook. I post on my fan page, but I’ve noticed fewer and fewer people are viewing my posts. I like this series you’re doing about branching out to different forms of social media.

    Reply
  3. The mention of MySpace takes me back. That used to be such a fun way to connect with people. I had the easiest time writing whatever I felt like over there. You might be right about G+ being the next thing to go to. I should start doing more over there. I have an account and have linked my blog to it, but I need to start doing more. That can be my project for this year. 🙂

    Reply
  1. Amaranthine on Goodreads | Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

Share your dark side...

