Author Interview with Venancio Cadle Gomani Jr.

Last Saturday Katelina interviewed Diego, a character from the Crest of Dreams series by Venancio Cadle Gomani Jr. Today we have the author himself!

Thanks for stopping in! Can you tell us a little bit about your newest release?

Jpeg

provided by author

Venancio: My most recent book is Quantos Rising and it is the first in my Crest of Dreams series.

Crest of Dreams is the story of a world that has been split into four colonies after a Great War in which knowledge, civilizations, and time were lost from the world. After five hundred years of recreation civilization is split into four colonies: those that live on the ground call their colony ‘Damiroo‘; those who live in underwater cities call their colony ‘Retarctica‘; those who live in floating cities that hover above the clouds call their colony ‘Anotreshpore‘; and those who live in space cities following the same orbit as the moon around the earth call their colony ‘Centralis‘.

J: That sounds really interesting! What inspired you to write it?

V:The book was influenced by many experiences and it only makes more sense seeing as I took so long to write it—from 2012. However, there were two predominant accounts in my life that I referenced. Firstly was the idea of the city El-Versium which was domed on quarantine by reason of an outbreak of a deadly virus called the ATS-Dc which was allegedly engineered by the University of APEX’s research facility. When the Ebola virus broke out just over a little ago, all too often had I heard my friends’ panic and their greatest hope was that the virus never reaches the country. And when I took a little closer look at the situation, it seemed it wasn’t just my friends that were wishing that, rather even countries openly admitting that they would have done their best to make sure the virus doesn’t infiltrate their country. Now I never blamed anyone for that and it really wasn’t a bad thing, however I just personally thought no one was really looking at the bigger picture. Putting it in perspective, it seemed in a way that everyone was just thinking about their own personal safety and that was the funniest thing to me. I learnt earlier on in life that every problem faced by the people around me affects me either directly or indirectly. If I saw my neighbors dying of a disease from a distance, would it really be the wisest thing to start looking for a way to keep their disease as far away from me as possible? I just thought it was a little unwise and assumed that everyone’s first priority should have been looking for a cure together and that would help a great deal in, not only keeping the virus away from yourself, but also successfully keeping it away from others too as opposed to putting a glass dome over your neighbors’ houses each time one neighbor comes up with a strange illness. That experience greatly influenced a substantial portion of the story plot and it just helped me realize that it’s a little better to try as best as you can to help solve problems the people around you are facing because in one way or the other they do affect me either directly or indirectly.

Secondly was the project Lunar-Mount droid plot. I initially got the idea while learning about artificial intelligence and humanity’s persistence in creating artificially intelligent humanoid. And at that point I recall I loved watching a documentary series on the Discovery Channel called Visions of the Future when I saw the innovations. I never necessary pictured that the world would finally create a droid that would realize that humanity is obsolete and must be destroyed, being a computer savvy and a little of a programmer at the time I explored a little more on the notion of the danger of ambiguity in AI source code and how that would play a large role in the malfunction of a droid. The droid was programmed to wipe out any threat (or group of people with a large enough arsenal capable of wreaking a significant amount of havoc upon the world). It was programmed to detect threats and arrange them in an orderly array called “threat level” and wipe out threats based off who has the highest threat level first, then the one with the second highest threat level, and so on until it had completely eradicated every threat in its orderly array. However the algorithm was designed to constantly keep scanning for threats so the question became “when every threat was wiped out and the world was free of perhaps terrorists and rebel groups, who would be the next biggest threat?” How many more bad people does it have to eradicate until it starts considering good people as threats too?

J: Oh nice! This really sounds good! Can you tell us a little about your writing process?

V: How I love to write books is that I would first create or recreate a whole world before building stories inside, and what takes the longest in my process is the quality of the detail in the world I create so it shouldn’t come as much a surprise to know that it takes me quite a while to fully have a story ready because of the heavy processes involved. I began working on the Crest of Dreams world in the last few months of 2012 and I’ve been working on the story ever since. And since the story is so exciting and detailed, I would love to tell the story of each of the four Domiciles.Quantos Rising is simply the first and introductory short novel to the Damiroo Domicile and there will be three more short novels to tell the story of the other three Domiciles (T-16 to tell the short introductory story of Retarctica, The Superimposition to tell the short introductory story of Anotreshpore, and Sons of Time to tell the short introductory story of Centralis). After each of these short introductory stories will come full length novellas of each of the stories of the Domiciles.

J: What would you say is your favorite part?

V: My favorite part of the book is the three concepts of the Project Lunar-Mount (a threat seeking robot droid that built to destroy anything it considers a threat, be it innocent or otherwise), the Project-QR (resurfacing the long since sunken city, Quantos, fro, the times before the war that hit the reset button on civilization as we know it) and the idea of the deadly ATS-Dc virus and how and why it was developed.

J: And your least favorite?

V: Definitely the editing. QR was supposed to be a full length novel but it turned out to be far too long in pages with roughly around 600 pages to it. That was purely unacceptable: I want to entertain my audience, not try to bore them to death with a majorly long story. So as you would have guessed it, I chopped up the novel into four different short novels and these are the four introductory stories to the Crest of Dreams world (Quantos Rising, T-16, The Superimposition, and Sons of Time) before the launch of the full length novels. Now with a lifeline of around 8 months of writing 600 pages, editing and reading through those 600 pages line by line and over and over again was perhaps my least favorite part.

J: I understand that! I had that trouble with my first book – It later became two books, which is always challenging because now you have to do introductions, climaxes, restructure each one… *shudder* Sounds like you had your work cut out for you! What do you have planned next?

V: I’m currently working on the second Crest of Dreams novel called “T-16”. However since the series will take quite the number of years to complete, I would also like to start another series called “Ghost Tribes” and tell it simultaneous with the Crest of Dreams series, each of which will have 9 books and will take up a substantial amount of my next few years.

J: That sounds awesome! Love the title! In your Crest of Dreams series, who is your favorite character?

V: My favorite character in the novel is the Colonel Kurt. I love him mostly because he’s a reflection of one of the aspects of my own personality: the “Go hard” kinda personality. The man would do practically anything to get his job done and make sure with his own eyes that it’s done.

J: So he’s like you! That’s interesting – and speaking of interesting, can you tell us something interesting about you?

V: The most interesting thing about myself and my books is that I usually tend to model characters after individual elements of my own personality, experiences or feelings I felt but to only let out or portray in novel form.

J: And how about something interesting about your book?

V: What makes QR so compelling isn’t so much the story as it is the recreated world. The world of Crest of Dreams is a world that has been divided into four civilizations. And what makes each one of them interesting is that each Domicile is governed by a different arena of leadership. For instance, Centralis is ruled by a democracy, Retarctica is ruled by a monarch, Anotreshpore is ruled by an autocrat and Damiroo is ruled by Chiefs. The world of Crest of Dreams is also a world that had lost time because of the 100 year long war which forced humanity to recreate time and seasons because all the records of time and civilization before that war were allegedly wiped out during that war…or were they?

J: Oh! Great way to end the interview – I feel like some dramatic music should play there!

Image1

Thanks for stopping in and checking out today’s interview. You can find more of Venancio and Quantos Rising at:

Author’s website 

The Crest of Dreams series Facebook page 

Author Facebook page 

Author Twitter 

Author Instagram

 Goodreads 

Amazon 

The novel, Quantos Rising, is available  at:

Amazon 

Kobo 

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Reblogged this on Readsalot.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,427 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    July 7 9-10pm Central, Takeover in The Kitty’s den.

    July 16 Final date for submissions in the Amaranthine fan Fiction contest.

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
