Author Interview with Lori Soard

Today we have Lori Soard, author of the Cupid’s Crossing series, with us. Let’s pick her brain! (Not literally, that would be too messy, and no one would ever agree to it anyway. besides, I left my brain pick at home.)

Jo: Can you tell us about a little about your newest release?

lori-head-greenLori: My latest release is Cupid’s Quest. It is the first in a new series called Cupid’s Crossing. Cupid’s Crossing is a fictional town I created where magical things happen. In Cupid’s Quest, the two main characters are both participating in a scavenger hunt put on by a local radio station. They have a little help from their friends, a zany bunch of senior citizens. Along the way, they find true love. It is a Christian contemporary romance.

J: That sounds like a lot of fun! What inspired you to write it?

L: Believe it or not, I kept thinking about the town and what if there were this picture perfect little town where amazing things happened. I created a map for the town and started to plug in the people who lived there. It all started with an abandoned book idea. The book just did not fit the lightness of the town. Over time, the characters and stories took shape.

J: I love it! Especially the idea of making the map. With all those characters it might be hard to pick a favorite, but do you have one?

L: Libby Henderson, the senior citizen I mentioned above, is definitely my favorite. Like most other people, there are times I don’t like Libby very much. She is cantankerous and she constantly tries to take everything over, even my stories. However, like my heroine Gracie, I see that Libby has a heart of gold underneath it all. She is wise, smart, sassy and a very strong woman. She will appear throughout the series.

J: Speaking of favorites, what was your favorite part of Cupid’s Quest?

L: My favorite scene in Cupid’s Quest comes after the senior citizens break out of the nursing home, steal a van, and go on a “high speed” chase at about 20 mph through Cupid’s Crossing. When Gracie, the heroine and director of the nursing home, arrives at the police station, Libby Henderson (in her 80s) has the officers cowering from her cane. You have to know the characters to really understand how funny the scene becomes and how quickly things escalate.

J: Ha ha! Even without knowing them I am chuckling, so I imagine it’s hilarious in the book! What would you say was your least favorite part of writing Cupid’s Quest?

L: There is a side story where the hero’s mother is very ill. I didn’t like writing those parts. It hits very close to home. We’ve had to deal with a lot of death and ill family members. However, I think it helps me write the emotions the characters are going through in these situations. When my husband was a deacon, we would often go visit church members in the hospital and pray with family members. There are some basic emotions that everyone goes through when faced with these things, believer or not.

J: I think sometimes it helps reading about them, too – kind of cathartic to have characters who are going through the same thing you are or have. You mentioned being a deacon’s wife, can you tell us something else interesting about yourself?

loritornadoL: The town I live in was the birthplace of Colonel Sanders of Kentucky Fried Chicken fame and one of my best friends is related to him. The only other thing the town is famous for is an EF4 tornado that tore our school apart in 2012. Lady Antebellum came to the town and put on a concert for us after and we’ve slowly rebuilt until you can barely tell the tornado was ever here.
We were so blessed. The second tornado that went through brought tennis ball size hail that did about $25K in damage to our home, but the EF4 beast went behind our neighborhood. My husband took some pretty startling pictures of it. It missed us (barely). I hope we never have to experience anything like that again. It was terrifying and an ungodly sound that can best be described as a growling monster, which is why I call it the beast.

J: Tornadoes are one of my ultimate, all-time fears, so… wow! Terrifying! So glad you were both unhurt! What do you have planned next?

L: I am working on the next book in the Cupid’s Crossing series. This one will be Sinclaire’s story. Sinclaire works with Gracie at the nursing home. She is broken in every way imaginable. Her heart has been damaged almost beyond repair, she is discouraged, and she does not believe in God when the story opens.

J: That sounds like a good read! Good luck, and before you go I have to ask, where can people find more loribookof you and your work?

L: I am on social media (Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, LinkedIn, Google +). I often update people on what I have going on there. I also have a website: http://lorisoard.com. All my books are on Amazon.

Thanks so much to Lori for stopping in an letting us… talk to her today. (You thought I was going to mention brains again, didn’t you?) Be sure to check out her website and her newest release Cupid’s Quest. It sounds like a lot of fun!

Want to be interviewed? Check out

 

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Authors to Watch and commented:
    It’s an author interview on Joleene’s blog. Hop over and meet Lori Soard.

    Reply
  2. Lori, this was a really great interview. I remember when the tornado hit your town and how worried we all were about you. Cupid’s Quest is on my reading list for this month. Can’t wait to read it!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping in, Jenny! Lori was a great guest – and Cupid’s Quest sounds like a fun book! Hope you enjoy it 🙂

      Reply
  1. Author Interview with Lori Soard | carsonrenomysteryseries.com

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,427 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    July 7 9-10pm Central, Takeover in The Kitty’s den.

    July 16 Final date for submissions in the Amaranthine fan Fiction contest.

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
