First Day, First Paragraph Tag

first-day-first-paragraph-tag.jpgI was tagged by Rami Ungarrrrrr (sorry, I,ve been doing that in my head, like a pirate Arrrr so I remember to spell it with an “a” and not an “e”. Ignore me.) Anyway, as I was saying, I was tagged by the great horror author Rami Ungar to join in the First Day, First Paragraph tag. It’s a lot of fun, so here we go:

Those who have been tagged have to:

  1. Publish your own post on the first day of the next month.(if I tag you now, you will post January first. Afraid you’ll forget? Schedule it in advance!)
  2. Use the graphic above
  3. Thank and link back to the person who tagged you. (Thank you, Rami!)
  4. Explain the rules, like I’m doing now.
  5. Post the first paragraph of a story you’ve written, are writing, or plan to write someday.
  6. Ask your readers for feedback.
  7. Finally, tag someone to do the post next month (as I said, you’ll post January 1st), and comment on one of their posts to let them know the good news.

All right, so I’ve done everything except my paragraph and my tag. So first I am tagging the incredible Caitlin Coppola (It was really hard to just pick one person!) And now for the opening paragraph to Goddess of Night (which will probably change later):

SPOILER WARNING – if you haven’t read the series, this might be a spoiler. I warned you.

Katelina stared at herself in the bathtub mirror. The blue eyes that looked back held prism colors that she wasn’t used to. Long blond hair fell past her shoulders in salon perfect waves, and her pale skin was too perfect – no blotches or pimples. She looked like an airbrushed magazine version of herself.

And now for your feedback! As I said, it will probably change because i may change where the book starts, but anyway, that’s it for now. Thanks again to Rami for the tag, and be sure to check out his blog – and his books!

signature for white

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Interesting opening. Has a very strange feel to it.

    Reply
  2. I’m amazed at how much you’ve been able to do with this series.

    Katelina is finally the girl we see on Cosmopolitan magazine! 🙂

    Reply

Share your dark side...

  • A Year of Short Stories

    A year of short stories kicks off with the Tales of the Executioners!

    Free short stories from the world of Amaranthine; a universe of blood and darkness where vampires don't sparkle and night is eternal. Each is about a member of the Executioners squad; the special vampire "police" force. Members both past and present share stories of assignments, origins, and more.

    Dark, light, love, laughter, death...you never know what you'll find in the shadows.

    Get all the details, including a list of available titles!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,535 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    Cocoa Cup Giveaway – enter for your chance at a vampire mug and cocoa.

     

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
