Fan Fiction Fling Entry #5

fanfic vote

I’ll post each of the eight fan fiction entries, one a day, and then on August 15th we’ll vote on our favorites! (Voting will be anonymous – no one will know who you voted for!)

Today we have:

Old Friends and Enemies by DM Yates

Oren arrived home just morning light, exhausted. The search had been futile.

Etsuko hurried into the front room when she heard the door. “I was worried about you. You’ve been gone for days. Did you find who you were looking for?”

“No.” Oren’s answer was curt and he could see the hurt in Etsuko’s eyes. He ran his hand over his face. “We’re no farther ahead than the last time. Are the children home?”

“They’re both here. Jayleth arrived while I was asleep and waited until I woke. We had a nice talk about his first semester in college. He’s excited to see you. Paylin came home past curfew. You will need to punish her again, but I can see you’re very tired. Sleep, and tomorrow night you can visit with them.”

“I need to see them tonight…by myself.” Oren headed up the stairs to Paylin’s room. She had already showered and was reading a book in bed.

“I know. I know,” she said. “I’ll be grounded again.”

Oren said nothing, but walked to her bed and sat down. He placed a kiss on her forehead. “Did you have fun?”

“Yeah. We went to some new club and drank and danced all night. I forgot about the time.”

“But you kept our secret?”

“Why do you ask me this every time I go out? Of course I did. Jayleth and I would never say that our parents are vampires. Besides, who’d believe us?”

Oren nodded then became pensive. He studied his daughter’s face.

“What’s wrong, dad?”

Oren sighed deeply. “Forgive me.” Before Paylin knew what was coming, he’d bitten her. She barely got a scream out before she went unconscious.

Jayleth had heard his sister’s scream and ran to her room. It was easy for him to see what Oren had done.

“Why?” yelled Jayleth. “You gave us the right to choose and we made our choice. You had no right.” Jayleth could get no other words out before Oren was on him and bit him too. He lifted his unconscious son in his arms and laid him next to his sister.

He could hear Etsuko hurrying up the stairs and he waited. She rushed in and her eyes showed her shock and horror. “No. No, Oren san. Why?” She shook her head as she looked at their children lying there. “We agreed to respect their wishes. Why?”

“I chose to,” said Oren.

Etsuko flew at him and slapped his face until he held her hands still. “Please explain,” she begged. He said nothing and showed no emotion. Finally, she fell to the floor bent over and sobbed. “You had no right. I’ve always respected your word, but this was wrong.”

“I had every right.” He turned on his heel and stormed out of the room.

Etsuko pulled herself together, kissed her children’s cheeks, and took out her phone. When the vampire answered, she could only say between sobs, “You must come quickly. Something is wrong with him. He’s not talking and he turned our children.”

The next day,  as soon as Etsuko heard the knock, she opened the door and Jorick entered. “Welcome to our home, Jorick sama. He’s in our daughter’s room.”

Jorick nodded and walked up the stairs. He stood at the entrance to Paylin’s room and found Oren sitting on the edge of the bed in contemplation. “Still no luck?”

“None. When I got home, this was tacked on our front door.” Oren handed Jorick a folded letter, which Jorick read.

“Another threat,” said Jorick. “How many now?”

“Three.”

“Why haven’t you told Etsuko?”

Oren shrugged, but said nothing.

“It’s her right to know, and maybe she could shed some light on this.”

“I’d rather not upset her. Besides, what can she do to help us?”

“So you turned them. I would have too, but Etsuko has the right to know that someone is threatening to kill your children and return their corpses to you.”

Etsuko had just reached the top of the stairs and walked sadly into the room. “This is what you’ve been doing? Searching for someone, but you’ve had no luck?” She sat next to him on the bed and held his hand. “They are 20-years-old. They’ve lived through their childhood around vampires with no harm, and now they might die? I’m sorry for hitting you. Where have you looked?”

“Everywhere,” replied Oren.

Jayleth had just woken up. With a cry, he lunged for his father, but Oren easily threw him over his shoulder to the floor where Jorick held him down with one foot.

“You will respect your father,” said Etsuko softly. “He had his reason.”

The sheets rustled and Paylin pushed herself to a sitting position. “Why?” she asked. You agreed to let us stay human.” She grasped her throat. “I’m parched.”

“I will take care of that,” said Etsuko rushing out of the room. While she was gone, Jayleth grappled with Jorick’s leg.

“Let me up. I’m going to kill him.”

“If you agree to listen to him before you kill him, I’ll let you up,” said Jorick with a twinkle in his eye.

“I’m glad you find this funny,” said Oren.

Etsuko had come back in with bags of blood.

“Yuck. Dad, please,” said Paylin.

“Drink. You need it,” replied Oren without looking at her. Jayleth had grabbed a bag and was already gulping it down, but Payleth only stared at her bag.

“You must drink,” said Etsuko. She walked to her daughter, opened the bag, and held it near her daughter’s mouth.

For a moment, and only for a moment, Paylin refused, but the smell of the blood and her dry throat couldn’t resist any longer and she drank. Jayleth was already on his second bag.

“Tell them,” said Jorick.

Oren looked his son in his eyes. “I’ve received threats against you two. We raised you. You are our childrend. I love you too much to lose you. To be safe, I felt I had no choice but to change you.”

“But I wanted to finish college,” said Jayleth. “I could have defended myself.”

“Not against a vampire,” countered Oren. “You can attend evening classes.”

“That will take a lifetime,” complained Jayleth.

“You have that and more,” retorted Jorick.

“Not funny,” said Oren and Jayleth at the same time.

“What about me? I love to party. I love dances,” said Paylin.

“Vampires party and dance,” said Jorick.

“Name one time I’ve ever see you or dad party, Uncle Jorick.”

“We’re not the partying kind,” replied Jorick.

“Shall we leave tonight?” asked Oren.

“If you wish,” said Jorick.

“I’m going with you,” said Jayleth. “I’ll never forgive you for changing me, but I will fight beside you everytime.”

“I’ll go too,” said Paylin. “Maybe we’ll find those mysterious vampire parties along the way.”

“We will go as a family,” said Etsuko.

“I want all of you here where you’ll be safe,” said Oren.

“They won’t be any safer here than with us,” replied Jorick.

“Who do you think it is?” asked Paylin.

“Who else, but one of our long time enemies,” said Oren.

“Well, to search out all of your and Uncle Jorick’s enemies will take at least two lifetimes,” quipped Jayleth. Oren flicked his son’s forehead.

“One semester of college and you come back too smart for your britches,” said Oren.

“Oh, dad,” said Paylin with a roll of her eyes, “noone wears britches anymore.” She and Jayleth laughed.

“Get ready,” said Etsuko, “and quit teasing your father.”

“It’s my favorite game,” said Jorick.

“Don’t I know it,” replied Oren. “Fine. We all go, but keep in mind our enemies are dangerous.”

Paylin clicked her tongue. “All vampires are dangerous.”

“I’m sorry for changing you,” said Oren, “but I can’t lose another family.”

“Yeah, well, you might anyway when we run ahead of you, old timer,” said Jayleth. Oren flicked his son’s forehead again.

“It is easy to see they’re no longer angry with you,” said Etsuko. “We will find this enemy of yours, and it will be good to see old friends again too.”

_______

Check back tomorrow for the next entry!

my sig

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Fan Fiction Fling Voting | Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

Share your dark side...

  • Goddess of Night

    A war four-thousand years in the making.

    The final installment of the Amaranthine series raises the stakes. No longer the weak woman she was, Katelina will have to step up or lose everything she’s ever cared about.

    ORDER YOURS TODAY
    Amazon
    Smashwords.com
    Barnes & Noble
    Apple iBooks
    Kobo
    Paperback
    Collectors' Edition Paperback

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,491 other followers

  • Coming Events!

    August 5 Super Star Saturday 5-7pm Central in Once Upon a Page

    August 11 Author Live Reading and Q&A 8 Eastern/7 Central in Book Born.

    September 3  Sunday Share live reading and Q&A, 7-8pm Central in Once Upon a Page

  • Find me on Facebook

  • Blog Categories

  • get featured

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Find me on Barnes & Noble

  • I’m on Goodreads

    Joleene Naylor's books on Goodreads
    Shades of Gray Shades of Gray (Amaranthine, #1)
    reviews: 13
    ratings: 49 (avg rating 4.00)

    Legacy of Ghosts Legacy of Ghosts (Amaranthine, #2)
    reviews: 9
    ratings: 27 (avg rating 4.37)

    See More at Good Reads
  • Find me on Twitter

  • Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Graphic by Nina Paley

  • Authors db

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • The Ink Slingers Guild
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep
  • Awesome Facebook Book group!

  •  photo authors and bloggers against piracy_zpsqem5dvt7.png
  • My pet hamster!


    Get your own hamster
