Interview with Grace Langdon

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer. 

 

Finding Grace

Today, not only are the literary universes mixing, but it seems someone’s doing a little time traveling! Our victim – er, interviewee – is Grace Langdon from the novel Finding Grace by Sarah Pawley, and she joins us from 1920’s America!

Katelina: Hello Grace, and thanks for joining us! Wow, you’re from the 1920’s. Anywhere I’ve ever been?

Grace: I came from Virginia, but I live in Lincoln Park now, just outside of Chicago.

K: I think I’ve been to Virginia, actually. For those of you who can’t see us, Grace has blue eyes and an interesting shade of hair. What is that called?

G: It’s dish-water blond. That’s a country term, which means I’ve got light hair in the summer and darker hair in the winter.

K: Oh! Yeah, I’ve heard that term before. So what would you say is your biggest challenge in “Finding Grace?

G: Finding peace. It seems everybody wants something from me in one way or another.

K: Oh wow! Do you have a lot of enemies?

G: I don’t figure on calling my Mama and Daddy my enemies, but we ain’t exactly friends. They never did think much of me, but that’s a long story and there’s no point in diggin’ it up. Then there’s Charlie, who used to be my friend when we were kids. He’s not anymore, and that’s all I have to say about that.

K: I’m sorry to hear that, but you’re right. No point in dredging it up. Hopefully, though, you get a chance to move past it.

G: I do. I learn to put the past behind me, and I learn to trust people. That one hasn’t been so easy for me.

Jane Eyre

photo by Stephen Cummings from Flickr

K: Trust is never easy, is it? What would you say is the one defining moment that changed your life?

G: Sounds funny to say, but when I was in school, my teacher gave me a copy of Jane Eyre and it changed my life. I’m not kiddin’ you.

(Jo: *prods Katelina* – “That’s by Charlotte Brontë. You’ve probably seen the movie.”)

K: *glares*. Yes, I know. *looks back at her guest* It definitely didn’t inspire you to be a governess!  So it must be…

G: I want to be a writer. My imagination goes wild sometimes with all sorts of ideas. I really should get it all down on paper.

K: Exactly what I was thinking! I hope you’re better to your characters than the author I have! Speaking of that, are you happy with your writer?

G: Oh yes, I’d like to say thanks to her for getting me out of there. And thanks for my wonderful husband.

K: Oh Husband! I can’t believe I didn’t ask about that, already!  

Chicago in the 1920's - from wikimedia commons

G: Yes, I’m a married woman now. My husband is Henry Shaw. He owns a nightclub in the city, and I worked there for a little while. He’s a stubborn jackass sometimes, but he’s got a sly sense of humor and a good heart, although he don’t like to admit it. He’s a pure city boy and I’m as country as they come, but we actually have a lot in common. We’re both from Irish blood, and out tempers prove it. We’ve both come from the school of hard knocks, as they say. And by the way, did I mention that my husband is a looker? He’s about 6’2” with baby blue eyes and black hair. I’m a lucky woman to have him.

K: *looking far too interested* He sounds like a looker…. *clears throat quickly* Of course, erm, that vampire I’m dating is, too… um… moving on… It looks like we’re about out of time. Before the rules of the universe fall back into alignment, is there anything you’d like to say to your readers?

G: Something my teacher once told me. Helen Keller said it. She said, “Never bend your head. Hold it high, and look the world straight in the face.”

K: Excellent advice! Thanks so much for coming to talk to us, today, Grace! It’s been a real pleasure!

G: Thanks for the talk.

K: You’re very welcome!

You can find Grace in Finding Grace (ha ha! Get it? find Grace in… oh never mind.) which is available from Amazon in both paperback and Kindle. Look for it in other ebook formats, soon.

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Finding-Grace-ebook/dp/B004T53AWW/

Paperback:  http://www.amazon.com/Finding-Grace-Novel-Sarah-Pawley/dp/1449559468/

A special thanks to Sarah Pawley for playing along with us today!

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/

Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. gonna get the book – love the 20s 😀

    Reply
  2. Interesting interview.
    It sounds like a really good book, maybe one day i will read it. lol

    Reply
  3. Sounds like a good time in a book. I think it should be on my maybe someday list

    Reply

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep