Interview with Selene Pierre

**A Special Apology – this should have posted over the weekend, alas I had it saved as a draft, not as a post.**

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer. 

Today we have Selene Pierre from Luna Charles’ debut literary novel Men Are Not the Problem.

Men Are Not the Problem

Katelina: Welcome Selene and thanks for coming. Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Selene: I was born in Port Au Prince, Haiti. But now live in Sarasota, Fl. Unlike most of my Haitian compatriots that most people see on television, my complexion is of a honey hue, which has caused me some difficulties fitting in both there and here.

K: I think it’s lovely. I used to spend hours trying to get a nice color like that! Of course, not so much time in the sun anymore. *cough*. Anyway, so a literary novel? I expect that means you’re not really running around killing monsters or fighting enemies, right? No real nemesis?

S: Hmmm. I don’t know if I can call my ex a nemesis. I don’t really thing he has the intelligence for mastermind anything. But he really was a complete and total selfish, egotistical, butt-hole. Who used me to get what he wanted and dropped like with the empathy of someone throwing away a used piece of toilet paper.

K: Wow. Sounds like a jerk. No wonder he’s an ex. You’re better off with out him! Though it’s probably hard, I guess.

S: The hardest part is overcoming my own self deprecation. I have spent my whole life taking care of everyone else, from family to men and never took the time for myself. And although what happened was tragic, it really opened my eyes to what kind of people I was basically giving up my soul for.

K: So would you say that was the one event that really changed your life, or is there another one?

S: This one. Falling in love with Michael, leaving everything I knew behind to be with him. The callous way he assume that the decision he had made for what I should do with my body was the right one, without even asking. I was so taken back by his audaciousness. Just plain insensitive, it was like, he never really care for me only had been faking it all the time.

The beauty we see, is the magic we feel, the urban landmarks are all supported by urban nature in the world! Explore my friends!:)

photo by UggBoy/Ugg Girl via Flickr

S: It’s more like the death of a romance, lol. I think women will find it very revolutionary how I finally stand up for myself and tell the bastard to go sit on one and twirl.

K: It sounds like you evolve a lot during the course of this story.

S: My evolution, if you can call it that was part voluntary and part, no real other choice. I grow up, to put in lightly. I go from, why does every men I ever gave my heart always treat me like poop and I must not be worthy of the love that I have so dearly desired? To, I have been allowing men to treat me this way and that why they do.

I learned that I needed to move on, by myself to find myself, before I can ever attempt to find real love

K: Do you see yourself sharing more of your story in another novel?

S: Yes, Luna is currently working on another novel starring me. I will be facing different challenges, but I have actually found true love at last.

K: Yay! I know, I know, I’m a bit of a romantic. It’s my author’s fault. And speaking of authors, if you could say something to yours, what would it be?

Loving yourself

photo by Jeremy Atkinson via flickr

<strong>S: Thank you. So many women my age go through these situations in silence without a voice. Now they know they are not alone and hopefully this will give them the strength to do what I did.

K: That’s nice! It must be great to have a good author! Do you have a message for your readers?

S: If you’re with a person that is hurting you, either physically or emotionally or even just taking for granted, you need to seriously consider that it’s time to walk away. I promise you something better is waiting for you.

K: That is so very true! And it looks like we’re almost out fo time! But, before you go, what is it that you want the most in the whole world?

S: To never to go back to the person I used to be. Always remember self love is the most important thing.

K: and with those sage words we must close this interview. Thanks so much to Selene for stopping by! Remember you can find more of her in Author/ Men Are Not The Problem by Luna Charles Hardcastle – check out menarenottheproblem.comfor more details.

And a special thanks to Luna Charles Hardcastle for playing along!

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. So that’s what they call a novel with no monsters? I mean paranormal ones. Sounds like an important message. Too many women are in the situation you were in and if you help even one woman then your job is done. Loved the language too!!

    Reply
  2. Love the interview and she’s so right. Learn to be your own person, not what someone else wants you to be.

    Reply
  3. Aww, I like this idea of her growing and changing. And I love her attitude towards her ex. More power to her, I say!

    Reply

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep