Interview with Oren

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer. 

Oren. Note the author was too lazy to redraw him for the third book's promo stuff.

Katelina: Or maybe not. You see, today it isn’t a character from another literary universe, instead it’s- AH. Oh boy. It’s….

Oren: Lovely. This is just how I’d like to spend a Sunday. Where’s Jorick?

K: He’s not here at the moment, so I guess you’re just going to have to answer my questions.

O: Ah.

K: you could fake a little more enthusiasm. I am, after all. *ahem*. As I was saying, today’s interviewee is Oren from my own Amaranthine series. You know, the gloomy-Gus who has lion colored hair, amber eyes and a permanent chip on his shoulder?

O: No, it isn’t a permanent chip. It’s quite new, actually, not that you would know. But then you’re good at dropping into the middle of things and making completely wrong judgments, aren’t you?

K: I’m the one asking the questions here! And no, I’m not. I think they’re pretty straight forward, on-target judgments. For instance, you’re petulant, moody and blame everyone else for your problems.

O: And you’re ignorant, bossy, whiny, demanding and not that attractive. Are we finished?

K: *makes obscene gesture* We’re about to be!

Jorick: *appears with a sigh* Can’t I have a little peace and quiet once in a while? Never mind, never mind. Oren, stop being obstreperous and answer her questions, and Katelina, stop being childish.

K: What in the hell? He just said-

J: I’m sorry, but you did insult him first. Now, if I’m finished playing Father, I am in the middle of a chapter-

O: I’d stay if I were you. It may be necessary for you to put your human back in line.

J: She has a name, you know. And it wouldn’t hurt you to cooperate. I suffered through this crap a few months ago.

O: *grimaces* Fine. *to Katelina* Then ask your stupi- ask your questions.

K: Fine. I will! What is the one event that you feel has helped to shape your personality?

O: *sarcasm* Oh, I don’t know. Watching the Executioners burn my wife and my children to death in front of my eyes might constitute as a life changing event. What do you think?

K: Yes, well, I suppose it does. But you might get over it soon, you know. I mean how many books can you winge on about it?

O: Excuse me? In case you can’t read a calendar, it’s been not quite two months! It isn’t my fault that our author is incapable of moving things along faster. Two months for three books? Really?

K: I think it’s closer to three months, but either way, you have a point. She is slow. But, hopefully after book 4 your winging will stop – or you’ll be dead. Whichever. And, speaking of our illustrious author, if you could say something to her-

O: Leave me alone you wicked witch! You killed my family, you burned down three of my houses – three! – and then you had the last one attacked and you sent me to the Citadel! What’s next? Are you planning to kill my sister? Or perhaps my brother-in-law? No, I couldn’t be lucky enough to warrant that, could I?

is it any wonder he is on the cover of the least popular book?

K: If it’s any consolation she’s terrible to all of us.

J: I don’t know. I don’t think I have it too bad. Except for having to put up with idiots. But the world is full of them.

K: Thanks. *rolls eyes* I’m going to ignore that-

J: I didn’t mean you.

K: Moving on. So who is your enemy of choice at the moment? You were warring against Claudius in Book 1, and then there was Kateesha in Book 2…

O: You know very well that I am in the process of launching an attack against the Guild-

K: That’s the vampires’ government-

O:- specifically against Malick-

K: – He’s the head of it all, and the leader of the Executioners. They’re the ones who-

O: Yes, I think that people can figure that out! Would you be quiet, or are you interviewing yourself? As I was saying, I am in the middle of launching a war against The Guild, specifically Malick and his underlings. Senya ranks very high on the list.

K: You already killed Bren. (He was one of the Executioners who helped kill Oren’s family.) But that wasn’t enough revenge, then?

O: *icily* Hardly. As you so poetically said, he was ONE of them. The rest will pay, as well.

K: Still, it had to be a victorious moment?

J: Sometimes victory is hollow. Killing Bren did not bring back Jesslynn. Now let it go and move on.

K: you want to do this interview? Geeze! Fine, how do you evolve during the course of the story? Bah! Besides getting grumpier and more petulant?

J: I think he’s gotten better, actually. You noticed that he defended you in the Citadel. I don’t think he would have done that in an earlier book.

O: it wasn’t out of affection for the human, I can assure you!

J: I don’t think you hate her as much as you think. I’m the one you’re angry at, not her.

O: Really? And why would I be angry with you?

J: Because you feel I jeopardized your war with Claudius by hanging around too long, which I did for her. Plus, she complicated things. Once Patrick found out my feelings for her, he became harder to control, and it was because of her that he tried to double cross us. And then, of course, you’re angry because I’ve stopped morning for Velnya and moved on. You’re grief over Jesslynn is new and raw and you thought to have someone in a similar situation to commiserate with, but instead I’ve let mine go. That’s hard for you to forgive.

O: If you know so much then perhaps you should answer these inane questions!

J: I could.

The dead wife

K: I don’t give a damn who answers them. What is the biggest challenge you face in the story?

J: Learning that revenge doesn’t accomplish anything.

O: That’s easy for you to say! You note that you’ve taken revenge every time you’ve been wronged, yet you preach against it! Fine words. Perhaps you should take your own advice!

J: Perhaps I should. Next question.

K: Um, okay.  Are you… ah. No, he’s not involved in a romance.

J: Maybe he should be. That might cheer him up.

O: *aghast* with who?

J: That’s a good question. Ms. Naylor is not one for making very eligible females. Generally they’re blood thirsty lunatics. Present company excluded. I suppose there’s Hectia, but that’s not a very good match. I’ll have to think on this. Next question.

K: What is the one thing you want most in the whole world?

J: To commit suicide, I imagine.

O: Of course not! If you’re going to give ridiculous answers then you can leave!

J: All right, then what is it?

O: Revenge. Obviously.

K: He’s very one track.

O: All right. A new author. Better?

K: I can’t argue there. Thankfully we are running out of time, though. So as a last question, if you could say one thing to your readers what would it be?

O: I have no idea. There’s only what? Twelve of them?

K: We’re up to thirteen now.

O: Fine, I would say, “My hearty congratulations to all thirteen of you for putting up with Katelina’s driveling, whining and general annoying behavior. You have more fortitude than I.” How was that?

K: Stupid. But we’re out of time. You can find more of Oren – as if you’d want to – in Shades of Gray, Legacy of Ghosts and Ties of Blood by Joleene Naylor – aka the author from Hell (And I don’t mean the city in Michigan!) He also has a bit part in the short story Alexander.


If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/


Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. That was fabulous! 🙂 I love it when these three get together. Interview Verchiel, have you done him yet.

    Reply
  2. LMOA!!! About time Oren got a chance to be tortured…err…interviewed. SO much fun when the three of them get together! Jorick has been pretty lucky…so far. He’s seen the LEAST amount of pain of the main cast of characters. Of course, there’s always book 4. He! He!

    Reply
  3. ROFL I love the banter in this post! I also love it when characters get an attitude with the author. 13 is a lucky number. Friday 13 is usually a good day for me. 😀

    I’m wondering, will Jorick think Oren and Katelina have fallen in love in a future book? I see possibilities for such a misunderstanding…. 😉

    Reply
    • My characters have attitude to spare! The only who is nice to me is Verchiel (that’s why I like him – hee-hee!)

      I totally had plans for something with Oren in the beginning but now I don’t know. He’s just so uncooperative!

      Reply
  4. Oh we love Oren!!!! He just needs someone sympathetic. Maybe a chubby redhead. What do you think?

    Reply
  5. Oh, this was great! I love the interaction. I love the line – Now, if I’m finished playing Father…
    Love your work

    Reply
  1. Vampire Morsels: Herrick « Joleene Naylor's
  2. Vampire Morsels: Jesslynn « Amaranthine Night

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep