Interview with Maureen Rogers

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer. 

Today we have Maureen Rogers from Mark Mackey’s Maureen: A Vampire Tale.

Maureen: A Vampire Tale

Katelina: Hello, Maureen, and welcome! Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Maureen: Sure, Maureen Rogers, eighteen, believe it or not, I’m five foot nine, completely unmanageable jet black hair, a body to kill for.

Loren: *suddenly appears – as if summoned by something Maureen said* Well hello there.

K: Did you need something, Loren?

L: Well, it’s just you’re interviewing a vampire and all, and since Jorick’s busy I thought someone should keep an eye on… things. *winks at Maureen*

K: Uh-huh. And it has nothing to do with that “body to kill for” line, right?

L: No, of course not!

K: *rolls eyes* Anyway, where were we. Oh, right. You were telling us about yourself.

M: My best friend is Wendy Listers, she’s obsessed about vampires, and has fantasy dreams about them

L: Really?

K: You’ve been down that road before, remember? Jorick had to chase them off.

L: Yeah, but they were crazy.

K: Moving on. *looks back to Maureen* So, is Maureen: A Vampire Tale you’re only book?

M: I’m also in a short story in The Comet: An Alison Duncan Tale and Other Stories

K: sounds like you’re pretty busy! How would you say that you evolve or change during the course of your story?

M: Tough one. I started off as a super smart, gorgeous geek, and ended up a blood craving vampire hell-bent on revenge.

K: Okay, that’s a pretty big change.

L: Yeah, it is. I remember when I got changed and-

K: Loren, I’m not interviewing you. Chat Maureen up on your own time. *back to Maureen* I imagine that’s probably going to figure pretty prominently in the events that changed your life and shaped your personality, huh?

M: Yeah, My violent death ranks number one.

K: I could see that. DO you think your life would have been better if you hadn’t been turned into a vampire?

M: No, and this issue will be shown in a future book.

K: That sounds interesting. I always like to see what would have been, you know?

L: Yeah, me too! So-

K: As I was saying-

L: Aw, come on, let me ask some questions at least. I’ve got one! A real one! *turns to Maureen* So, do you have a boyfriend – or a girlfriend *waggles brows*?

M: My precious Peter, he’s my heart and soul, but Miriam’s a close second. It’s sort of unconventional, what with the whole werewolf thing.

A Very Emo Werewolf

Kevin Lavner via Flickr

M: Figuring out this whole vampire thing.

L: So is this Peter like, a vampire, too or-

K: *talking over him* So do you have an arch nemesis or enemy, or is your author nicer than that?

M: Hands down it would be Chelsea Chaseford.

K: Ah. I suspected as much. I’ve met a few of Mark Mackey’s characters before and he seems to be especially evil to them. If you could say something to him, what would it be?

M: Thanks for giving birth to me, to Miriam, a werewolf who was created back then as well, and to the individual who eventually would become Michael Argus, and be responsible for my becoming a vampire – all of which was in a now-lost- forever short story entitled Maureen, that Mark wrote while he was attending Northeastern Illinois University. All his other characters were an afterthought.

K: So, do you think you’re his favorite character? Does he like you better than, say, Elizabeth Duncan?

M: I used my vampire powers to probe in Mark’s mind, and as I came into existence a few years before her, yes, I am.

K: Wow. This is what he does to his favorites? I’m just saying.

L: Our author isn’t any better.

K: No joke. And it looks like we’re almost out of time. If you could say one thing to your readers, Maureen, what would it be?

M: Value life, for you never know when it can be taken away from you.

K: And with that excellent advice I want to say thanks a lot for stopping by and-

L: you know, if you and that Peter ever split up, or you just feel like a change for a night-

The Comet

K: Loren! My God, you’re all hormones! Go away! As I was saying, you can find more of Maureen in Maureen a Vampire Tale and in The Comet: An Alison Duncan Tale and Other Stories.

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Maureen-Vampire-Tale-Mark-Mackey/dp/1461139147

B&N : http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/maureen-a-vampire-tale-mark-mackey/1034092297

And a special thanks to Mark Mackey for playing along!

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/


Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. he is such a horndog 😉

    Reply
  2. Well he’s still a teenager after all – I wanted to hear more about the were…

    Reply
  3. I love the humor in this piece. It sounds like her book would be great reading.

    Reply
  4. Sounds fun like a fun read! I suppose if Loren’s author won’t given him a little romance, he has to make his own. LOL Like Sue said, he is a teenager!!!

    Reply
  5. It looks like an interesting book. 🙂

    Reply

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep