Interview with Gideon Thomas

Jamie’s interview will be posted next week because Katelina has another interview to do…

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer. 

Today we are interviewing Gideon Thomas from Susan Koenig’s short Nineteen Hundred. With short brown hair, deep brown eyes and sharp suit, he looks quite the businessman!

Nineteen Hundred

Katelina: Hello Gideon! Welcome and can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Gideon: For the past 40 years I have worked for Mr. D and that is all I will say about that. Since the job is fairly new, some of the conflicts I encounter surprise me and consequently I may not always make the correct choices. So be it.

K: Wait, 40 years? You look 30!

G: Yes, I am 70 years old but look 30, the age when I died.

K: The story is set in the year 1900, right? But, well, you don’t really LOOK very Victorian…

G: My moustache and beard were neatly trimmed in keeping with the Victorian fashion.

K: Oh, do you have a photo?

G: No. Cameras in 1900 did not produce a good quality image and anyway I avoided them at all costs.

K: I see. What challenges do you face in Nineteen Hundred?

G: It is more of a conflict really. *he reaches into his jacket producing his watch which he places into his cupped palm and clutches like a raft in the middle of the ocean*Wanting to be with Kathryn and make her happy but as I said earlier, I have secrets that must be kept about my profession.  It is an obligation I am bound to. In addition I had to blend into the society of the times and not stand out or be noticed. I could not bring undue attention to my actions.

K: How do you think you evolve during the course of the story?

by Geotrac | Dreamstime.com – 

G: The story opens the fateful night   Kathryn and I met.  My dark soul was drawn to her innocence. I knew she could take me places I have always longed for but would never admit to myself.  Up to that time I was resigned to the direction my life had taken me.  As we spent more time together, well, I guess the only way to put it… is… well…I fell in love with her.  My employer forbids that sort of thing but I was helpless to prevent it. By the end of the story I am no longer sure of my decisions. *His hands clasp and unclasp in his lap*

K: Sounds like a romance story –

G: Hmmm. * eyes scrutinize the ceiling* Well I told you before I fell in love with her It never occurred to me to call it a romance. Romance implies intimacy whether physical, intellectual or psychological. What Kathryn and I had… I enjoyed her intelligence and curiosity. She is so innocent and needs protection. Though her eyes are splendid. They mirrored her emotions.  And her hair enchanted me…. but romance? Perhaps the readers can determine if we were romantically involved.

K: Oh. Well, either way, it doesn’t sound like there’s a lot of running and screaming, so I’ll guess you don’t really have any enemies?

G: No enemies as such. Perhaps my nemesis, if that is the correct term, was my stubbornness, or a more positive word, my dedication. I have secrets to keep and possibly I sheltered them too well. The consequences would be dire if I did reveal them.   And who would believe me? I had been schooled in the art of duplicity for too long to change easily.

K: What event do you think helped to shape you and your personality?

G: Loving Kathryn affected my life for the next 110 years.

K: What is the one thing you want the most in the whole world?

G: Well that is an odd question. *squirms in his seat and stares into the distance*  Something I never (dared) think about.

K: Hmm. Okay. It looks like we’re running out of time, so two more questions. If you could say anything to your author, what would it be?

G: I do not blame you. You had no choice considering my behavior.

K: That’s an intriguing answer. And if you could say anything to your readers what would it be?

G: Ensure a good supply of tissues at hand when you read about us.

And with that we’re out of time! You can find Gideon in usan Koenig’s story Nineteen Hundred available at

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Nineteen-Hundred-ebook/dp/B00864KMXM

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/165037

And be sure to check out Sue’s blog at http://sassyspeaks.wordpress.com/

And a special thank you to Susan Koenig for playing along!

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:


https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Nice interview. I like this character. He’s very interesting.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep