Interview with Dr. Laura Covington

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer. 

Today we have Dr. Laura Covington from Lessons of Evil, A novel of Psychological Suspense By Linda B Myers

Very cool Lessons of Evil cover

Katelina: Hi Laura! Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Laura: Nice to meet you, everyone. I’m Laura Covington, Doctor of Psychology. My clients call me Dr. Laura. I call them Diaper Man, Weasel, Candy Rapper or whatever else they request.

K: Ha ha! So were you always a psychologist?

 L: I left my corporate job in Portland, Oregon for a small town in the high desert to work for community mental health. I wanted a grittier, needier caseload … and boy did I ever get it. On a personal note, the move might have gone smoothly but at the last moment I had to take along my barracuda of a mother and a little boy whom I know almost nothing about. I hadn’t expected to become a mother myself at the age of forty.

K: I could be totally off base here, but it looks to me like you’re dressed for the 1980’s?

L: As a matter of fact, I am! Like most women of the 80s, I have a couple different styles. During the day its conservative khaki slacks and maybe Izod top; for a date I fluff and mousse my curly chestnut hair almost as big as the Flashdance cast. I shimmy into acid wash jeans then add an extra large sweater cinched with a wide belt. Put on my pointy-toed ankle boots and I’m bodacious, dude.

K: Oh! I didn’t realize this was another time traveling interview *glares at her author* She never tells me anything! How cool is that, though? I remember the 80’s! That was a fun time. 

L:  I really hate this 80s slang. Gag me with a spoon.

K: hee-hee! Okay, so your author isn’t much better than mine?

blood on metal

by Joleene Naylor

L:  I just hope next time she puts someone else through all this murder, terror and mayhem!

K: I hear you! But, speaking of terror and mayhem…

L: I’ve always considered myself a pretty together person, but events knock me off my pins. I realize I’m not as in-control as I thought. And that some things can’t be solved in a psychologist’s office. Sometimes you have to use methods more cold-blooded than your adversary.

K: You used the word adversary?

L: Yes. In the 1980s, Oregon was the World Capital of Weird. Every crackpot cult got a foothold. Some were just foolish, but the one brutalizing my clients was deadly. As I fought to free them from this psychopath, he upped the game. After he attacked my family, I quit playing by the rules.

K: I don’t blame you! It sounds like the fruit loop crossed the line. (It is okay to call him a fruit loop, right?) I usually ask about the biggest challenge character’s face, but I’d bet fighting that guy is yours.

L: Actually, I was bequeathed a troubled little boy by a client who had nobody else. I was not prepared for motherhood and had to learn to be good at it even when I resented his claims on me and my time. But the more I got to know Wade, the more I realized this child needed me even more than my clients do. I knew I would care for him … but could I learn to love him?  And if so, could I save him?

K: That’s actually kind of sweet. Not that I’m looking for kids or anything. Jorick is enough to handle *coughs* Um, anyway, speaking of men, is there anything exciting in the romance department?

L: Much to my surprise, yes! After my ex dumped me I didn’t expect to tumble again. A little mattress dancing was fine, but no permanent bunk for me. Then Rob marched straight into my heart and shortly thereafter, my bed. Long, lean. Yum. Full of secrets and smart enough to keep me guessing.

Day 137: Bed Time

Photo by Tom Small via Flickr

L: As a psychologist, my role is to help people gain control over their own lives. But this psychopath? He terrified my boy. That event taught me that true evil exists … and you have to be willing to fight dirty to stop it.

K: And it looks like we’re almost out of time. real quick, if you could say one thing to your readers, what would it be?

L: Trauma victims are punished a second time when they are overlooked or not believed. Multiple Personality Disorder may be a child’s response to trauma as surely as a Post Traumatic Stress Disorder is for many battle-weary soldiers. Be open to its existence.

K: It never hurts to be open minded about a lot of things, after all, who knows what someone else has gone through? Thanks again, Laura! It was great having you here!

You can find Laura in Lessons of Evil, A novel of Psychological Suspense By Linda B Myers. There is a free excerpt at www.lindabmyers.com

And the eBook available now on

Kindle

Nook

and other eStore locations

 

 And a special thank you to Linda Myers for playing along!

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. From the sounds of it, this is the kind of book you should read with the lights on and a trusted (yeah, right) friend with you.

    Reply
  2. I loved the names for your clients–a bit of whimsy is needed in the profession. And quite agree about trauma victims. As you know, PTSD is not only a disease of soldiers. It’s unfortunate that is only in ebook….don’t have one; would love to read it. The book sounds entertaining and educational as well. How much research did you have to do? Best of luck to you.

    Reply
    • Primary research was with a counselor who worked community mental health in the 1980s … there were actually more resources for troubled people back then than now what with all the government budget cuts. Lots of research into psychopaths, too, as defined at that time.

      Reply
  3. Yes I agree – the cutbacks have made the problems worse, governments can’t handle it, and they don’t see the long term effects. Have the definitions changed? I started a book about a crazy psychiatrist …maybe I’ll get back to it. thank you

    Reply
  4. This sounds like an interesting read. I think I’ll have to give it a go.

    Reply
  5. Now you got my attention with this post. Deep, very interesting.

    Reply
  6. Steve Wasilewski

     /  August 1, 2011

    Myers is a master at plot and character development. Read her other novel, “Fun House Chronicles”, for a sobering yet playfull look at the nursing home experience – something most Boomers will have to deal with.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep