Interview with John Hendry

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer.

Today we are interviewing John Hendry, who is from Roger Lawrence’s horror novel Kongomato.

Katelina: Hello John! Can you tell us a little about yourself?

John: I’m an Exo-biologist which is just a fancy name for someone who searches for mythical or just extinct animals. I like the job because I don’t have to deal with people too often. I live in London now since I got fired from my job with a university which funded my research. I’m in my mid thirties. I’m no Brad Pitt but the girls seem to like my appearance and I am always keen to be with them when my research allows, which is not often. For some reason they don’t really get what I do.

K: Sounds safe enough. Not the kind of job where you have a lot of enemies, is it?

J: My biggest enemies are the government bureaucrats I managed to upset by breaking into that foreign embassy and stealing secrets. Oh, and calling the Prime Minister of Great Britain a rude word couldn’t have helped much. Compared to them, the monster currently roaming the skies of London and eating people, is relatively harmless.

K: Whoa! Monster? There’s a monster?

J: Yes, that’s what the Kongomato of the title is. A rather large, nasty monster.

K: Wow, so you’re fighting a monster?

J: Yes. I’m trying to end this madness before it’s too late by working with someone I hate and cannot trust while trying to work out what is really going on behind the scenes.

K: Do you hate the monster?

J: No not really. He’s just looking for food. But if it comes near me and I’ve got a gun, I’ll kill it.

wet rubble 3

photo by Jo

K: So, you mentioned government bureaucrats as enemies. I imagine there’s some kind of government cover up – or else it’s all their fault?

J:…

K: Are you saying you really don’t understand what the government is doing?

J: No I really don’t. Our government wouldn’t do anything to hurt us, then cover it up – would they?

K: Ah. I see. But you’re fighting the monster and fighting the government. Doesn’t that make you a hero?

J: To which I’d answer yes, but in reality, not really. I’m terrified most of the time.

K: Well there’s nothing wrong with that. I’m scared a lot of the time, and I’m just dealing with vampires! I don’t suppose there’s any time for a romance in all this, is there?

J: I have to work with my ex-girlfriend, whom it turns out, was working for someone else against me. So I never thought I would meet another girl that I could love. But now I’ve met a young doctor called Annie. My friend Carl has a thing for her. I can’t help myself. I think there could be something between us but it’s going to hurt Carl.

K: Man, nothing in your life is easy! What would you say is the one event that has helped to shape who you are?

J: My mum and dad’s money. I never had to work really hard and a result, I’m very selfish. It’s a bad trait and I hate it in myself.

K: Ah. Well how do you evolve during the story?

J: I’m a user. I’ve been doing it for years and hate myself for it. So now I am trying very hard to stop it and repay my friend, Carl’s kindness. I think I’m managing it, some of the time.

Graduated cylinders and beaker filled with chemical compounds

photo by Horia Varlan via Flickr

K: Well that’s good, right? You’re getting better. And you recognize the problems. They say that’s the first step to recovery. What would you say is the one thing you want the most in the world?

J: My own research project, where I discover the remains of the most fantastic mythical creature. A bit childish, I know, but we all have our dreams.

K: Nothing wrong with that. At least it’s a goal. It looks like we’re almost out of time. If you could say one thing to your readers, what would it be?

J: If you have true friends, don’t abuse them. I’ve done it all my life and now I don’t know who I can trust.

K: And finally, If you could say one thing to your author, what would it be?

J: I’d say: Can I have a bit more time with Annie. And why couldn’t she live in a different block of flats from Carl, and why did he have to know her? And of course – if you’re thinking of it – please don’t kill me off.

K: And with that we’re out of time. You can find John in Roger Lawrence’s Kongomato available at

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Kongomato-ebook/dp/B008GMVZ08/

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/276611

And a special thank you to Roger Lawrence for playing along!

 

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

 https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Thanks, Joleene. I had a good time.

    Reply
  2. Been a while since had one of theses. Characters have been talking around the web sphere and the word has not been good about the questions Kateline asks. Well that interview went pretty well for John. Maybe he’ll spread the good word. Oh, Kately, all governments are out to get us by the way.

    Reply
    • LOL! She’s got a few lined up for the next few weeks, I think they must be new characters who haven;t heard about it yet, LOL!

      Reply
  3. Loved it. I read this book and it is a true horror story. Great job on the interview (as always, Katelina) and the answers.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep