Interview with Turtle

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer.

Today we are interviewing Turtle from Jennifer Priester’s novel  Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic.

Katelina: Hello Turtle and welcome! Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Turtle: I am a witch living in the Other Realm with my familiar. I have brown hair and green eyes. The first time I appear in the series is in Book Two, Mortal Realm Witch: The Magic Continues (avail. this Spring.)

K: I have to admit I am kind of relieved to be interviewing someone whose human after last week’s fish fiasco!

Turtle: Fish?

K: Yes. I interviewed someone named Sampson. Very single minded guy – well, fish. Do you know him?

T: Yes. Sampson is the closest I have to an enemy, although my experience and time with him was very short. He became my enemy while he was my familiar and kept getting himself in trouble. He once scared away my mom’s friends when he broke out of his cage. He did it on purpose because he thought it would be fun. Another time he taught me how not to use magic by actually having me do the wrong thing before telling me that it was what I shouldn’t do with magic. That one I couldn’t fix myself and had to get help from the Head of the Witches Council to get rid of what my magic had created.

K: He sounds like a pain in the you-know-what. Dealing with him had to be a challenge.

T: Yes. I would say that either learning how to deal with Sampson as a familiar or the challenge brought to me by the witch hunters was the biggest challenge I faced.

K: I thought as much. How would you say you evolve over the series?

T: I begin by expecting others to tell me what to do and I am not always confident in my abilities. Over time I learn to be much more independent and confident, although I still often look to others for their advice and opinions.

K: That’s always a good thing to learn.

nacho cheese fish

orange fish by Jo

T: And actually, I believe having Sampson as a familiar played a big part in this. I’m sure it would bug him for me to say I learned a lot from him since he wasn’t trying to teach me anything.

K: So the evil fish did some good, then? That’s an odd thought. Okay. Moving on, I don’t suppose you were involved in a romance at all?

T: Contrary to what readers might believe, no. Taron and I were just friends, we were never romantically involved.

K: Oh really? Who’s Taron?

T: Taron is a wizard who is one of my closest friends. We had many adventures together before I moved from the Mortal Realm to the Other Realm. Even though some mortals were now allowed into the Other Realm, unlike DWW’s friend Sam who came with her, Taron felt more comfortable in the Mortal Realm and because of this he lives there. I still see him sometimes. Besides living in the Mortal Realm he is married to a mortal and has a girl, Sky, who is a wizard like himself.

K: Oh. Do you think that if one of you had chosen differently, you’d have ended up together?

T: There is a strong possibility that if Taron had chosen to live in the Other Realm, or I the Mortal one, we would have been romantically involved, but even so neither of us regrets the decision we each made and both of us really love the lives we currently have.

K: And with that we’re out of time. You can find Turtle in Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic available at

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Mortal-Realm-Witch-Learning-About/dp/193878300X/  

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mortal-realm-witch-jennifer-priester/1111957728?ean=9781938783005

Also check out the website for more info: http://www.mortalrealmwitch.com/meettheauthor.html

 

And a special thank you to Jennifer Priester for playing along!

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. A witch living in the ‘other realm’ How cool is this!

    Reply

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep