Interview with Asantra

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer.

Today we are interviewing Asantra from Jennifer Priester’s novel  Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic.

Katelina: Hello Asantra and welcome! Can you tell us a little about yourself?

A:  I am a protector witch like my mom, DWW. I have white hair with black hair tips, fangs, yellow eyes, and other than this I look like anyone else. Because I am a protector witch I can turn into an animal. This animal is what I protect as well as what I can turn into naturally without the use of magic.

K: What animal do you turn into?

A: For me and my mom, this animal is a white wolf, although we protect wolves in general regardless of color or wolf species. When I turn into a wolf the ends of my hair go up to cover my ears so when I am really a white wolf with black ear tips.

K: So if you’re DWW’s daughter then you’re not in the first book?

A: I first appear in Book Four of the Mortal Realm Witch series, Mortal Realm Witch: The Adventures of DWW2. I am also going to be in the unnamed Fifth book in the series as well as the book, Tales of Young Asantra: The Second Mortal Realm Witch Series Companion. While I might not appear for a while, you can still learn about my mom and her adventures in: Book One, Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic.

K: What kinds of things do you do throughout the series?

space

from flickr under CC by Sweetie187

A: In my younger days (Tales of Young Asantra) I was a superhero called Wonder Wolf, I created two dangerous creatures from potions, I search for a Horsebat for a familiar and have some fun with them, I meet my soon to be familiar, Screetche, a Double X Bird from X Island in the World of Islands located in the Other Realm, I turn some mortals into cats, I meet and live with a genie, and a lot more. Later (In The Adventures of DWW2, which actually comes before Tales of Young Asantra for the order they are best read in.) I travel into space, let some dangerous creatures loose in the Mortal Realm and have to catch them, explore a secret lab, get captured while in my wolf form by animal control, get controlled by black magic, teach sorcery, get caught by witch hunters, and that’s just some of it!

K: Wow! That sounds really exciting! How would you say you evolve through all of this?

A: I learn to be more patient, control my emotions, be responsible, learn to get along with others, and I become a hero. At the start I am a stubborn, independent, adventurous, and often troublemaking, witch. I don’t like mortals and don’t get along with them. I like to get out of doing work whenever possible and if I can use magic to do something I will. All this later changes but first I become the biggest villain in the series. (I actually do this more than once.)

K: Is there a moment that you think really defined who you are?

A: The time black magic took over my life. Until I was being controlled by black magic I didn’t know exactly who I was. The things I did during this time, upon looking back at them, made me realize who I wasn’t and helped me learn who I was.

K: You’ve mentioned your mother, but who is your father?

A: I want to tell you but I’m not sure my mom would approve. If you want to know read Mortal Realm Witch: The Adventures of DWW2. All I can tell you is that my dad is someone who first appears in one of the first three books in the Mortal Realm Witch series but I can’t tell you which one.

K: Your mom was vague about it too when I met her. Speaking of her, do you share the same enemy?

A: Yes, Sampson. He became my enemy from the moment I learned that he hated something that I was and wanted to destroy it. When he told me he didn’t know this about me. Until then I didn’t think that he was too bad. I actually kind of liked him.

K: I guess it takes all kinds. You’re not involved in a romance with him or anything?

A: No! Not with anyone else, either. I’ve been too busy being everyone’s enemy to even think about something like that.

sun.jpg

contentment by Jo

K: Sounds like a tough life. Sadly, we’re running out of time, so let me ask you, if you could have anything in the world, what would it be?

A: I don’t think there is anything. For once in my life, I think that I have everything that I want.

K: And with that we’re out of time. You can find Asantra in Mortal Realm Witch series. For right now there’s only one bok available, The Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic available at

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Mortal-Realm-Witch-Learning-About/dp/193878300X/  

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mortal-realm-witch-jennifer-priester/1111957728?ean=9781938783005

Also check out the website for more info: http://www.mortalrealmwitch.com/meettheauthor.html

 

And a special thank you to Jennifer Priester for playing along!

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. sounds like a good book to give a kid for a gift.

    Reply
  2. Hello Joleene, I don’t always comment but I’m enjoying your weekend interviews.

    Reply
  3. Interesting storyline. Nice interview too.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep