Interview with Kol-ian

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer.

Today we are interviewing Kol-ian from Barbara Tarn’s Sci-Fi/Fantasy stories Technological Angel and Mind Link..

Katelina: Tell me a little about yourself.

Kol-ian: Hello, my name is Cole – well, that’s what I’d say if we met somewhere on your planet, actually. If we got to chat a little, you’d probably manage to find out my real name is Kol-ian and that I’m a Sire – or alien Humanoid. I’m a telepath. I reached your planet in 1933 and left in 1982. I’m currently orbiting around Earth and hacked through your internet to chat with you. My main physical feature is black bat-like retractile wings, hence the definition of Technological Angel. That’s me and the title of the book, the first of the Star Minds series by Barbara G.Tarn out at the beginning of December in e-book format – for the print version please be patient until the new year.

K: Did you enjoy your stay on Earth? How well do you get along with Earthlings?

Kol-ian: Yeah, I love Earth’s music. Do I get along with Earthlings? We’re very much alike. I blended in perfectly during my stay. Although I have “something” that makes me irresistible to you all – but don’t tell Daniele, he still thinks he’s Casanova, so he’d never admit he likes me!

K: Why did you come to earth?

Kol-ian: A broken heart. I had a crush on a winged being you’d call angel (he has white feathered wings, but he’s probably a little too dark-skinned for your Christian god) but is actually an alien hybrid (half Humanoid and half Carian – they’re the bird people, FYI). He’s gorgeous, but also heartless. But they tell me I’m heartless too, so I guess I deserve him…

K: So you’re not in a relationship, then?

Kol-ian: Not in this book. Okay, sort of. Before leaving Earth I met Chantal in Paris, France and she asked me to take her to the stars, which I did. She loves me, but I can’t say I love her. Hence they tell me I’m heartless. I’m not. I’m still recovering from my unrequited crush for the hybrid, that’s all.

K: Do you have an enemy or nemesis?

Protection pale color

Not quite Kol-ian but hot just the same – by me 😉

Kol-ian: In Earth years I was 20-25 when I lived on Earth, and my nemesis was my father, no, actually, my whole family, damn them! Heartless control freaks all of them!

K: So is your biggest challenge dealing with your family, or something else?

Kol-ian: It’s to try getting rid of invulnerable people – or better, people with genetically reinforced skin. You might end up chased all over the galaxy and killed by a bounty hunter like my sister’s father-in-law!

K: Wow, that sounds pretty dramatic. Are those events that helped shape your personality, or is there something bigger?

Kol-ian: That would be a big spoiler… When I left your planet, I wasn’t really thinking about revenge or anything, but then that happened and sent me on the warpath… I couldn’t forgive, no way!

K: What is the one thing you want the most in the whole world?

Kol-ian: I don’t know. At the moment I’m simply grateful they didn’t lock me in a prison forever. And I’m kind of sick of seeing people falling in love around me.

K: Well, maybe if you weren’t heartless *cough* no, no I didn’t say anything. Um.. where am I? oh, yes, if you could say one thing to your readers, what would it be?

Kol-ian: Please come and meet my crew! I stole an abandoned starship back in 1982, had a complete makeover done and called it Falstelo, which means Shooting Star. I have “hired” (we work together and I don’t really pay them, we earn our living as adventurers and rogues) a female cyborg, a mutant, two Earthlings (Chantal and the very Italian latin lover Daniele – actually, he’s a sci-fi geek, LOL) and more came on board later, so come over and visit. Of course you’d need a space shuttle, try asking the guys at www.citizensinspace.org, they look for volunteers for orbital flights – that’s all you need for now! But hurry, as we’re supposed to go back to Marc’harid (my home planet) soon…

K: Are they in the next book, Mind Link, too?

Kol-ian: Yes. If you enjoy Technological Angel, stay tuned. Star Minds is a series, so you will have more. We’ve been tormenting our Author to write it down for a few months now (hence her fantasy world suffers, mwhahahaha! We stole all her free time!). I mean, she already wrote a couple of versions in the past (in Italian), but she’s finally fine-tuning our adventures and finding more to say about us – better late than never.

In fact she might copy your author at some point, and add short stories about secondary characters when the main storyline is done. I’ll let my future lover answer these same questions and tell you more about the rest when book 2 comes out (just before Christmas, so not a very long wait)!

K: and speaking of authors, do you have anything to say to yours?

Extrasolar planet WASP-11b/HAT-P-10b

by Raven Vasquez via Flickr

Kol-ian: I know what you plan for me and my soon to be lover and I hate it! You’re the true Master Sadist, you wicked Author!

And with that we’re out of time! You can find Kol-ian in Barbara Tarn’s upcoming Sci-fi/Fantasy Mind Link as well as Technological Angel available at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Technological-Angel-Star-Minds-ebook/dp/B00AGHJO0O/

 & Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/260657

Also stay tuned for book 3 – The Slave Trader, or maybe some Star Minds snippets on barb’s blog that will give you insight into the characters past.

And a special thank you to Barbara Tarn for playing along!

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/


Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Sounds like an interesting read! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Looking good.

    Reply
  3. Sounds like a fascinating read. I love the whole story line.

    Reply
  1. Star Minds Sunday « creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator)
  2. Writer Wednesday « creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator)

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep