Interview with Ellie Bourke


Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why,  Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer. 

 

Today we have Ellie Bourke, the blonde 23 year old main character – heroine, even – of G’Day L.A., a suspense/thriller by Tony McFadden.  This promises to be fun, so let’s get started!

Katelina:  Hello, Ellie and thanks for being here! Wow, if you don’t mind my saying so, you’re tall! 

Check out that cool cover!

Ellie: I’m almost six foot.

 K: And is that an Australian accent?

 E: As a matter of fact, I’m Australian, but acting moved me to L.A. a year ago.

K: Oh wow! An actress! You must be really confident.

E: Actually, I start out pretty insecure about myself and my acting abilities. Self-doubt is a constant companion for those of us in creative work. Actors, painters, even, I’ve been told by the author, writers. With some really good advice from a couple of good friends, plus having to fight for my life on more than one occasion I’ve come to believe in myself a lot more.

K: Fighting for your life will do that to a person. Though I have to ask why did you move from Australia to L.A.?

E: I was in a schlocky B-Grade Horror movie called Beast of Bondi filmed around Sydney, Australia, where I’m from. I was one of the few that lasted to almost the end before I was killed off. Bart Sweeney was the director and he thought I did a great job in the movie. It was he who suggested I move to LA. I’m living in his guest house in the San Fernando Valley while I’m trying to make it as an actress.

K: Well I bet you won’t have too much trouble! (whispers to audience, Take a look at that cover! Yeah, that is what she looks like! Some people have all the luck, huh?) *clears throat* I bet you have to beat off the men with a stick! That is if your boyfriend doesn’t do it for you!

E: No, no boyfriend right now. Way too busy. I’m lousy at relationships anyway. The thing I find most appealing about guys is their ability to make me laugh, though.

K: Fun guys are – erm… fun. *glances at Jorick, who is hovering in the background* Change of topic! What would you say is the most life changing event that happens to you in G’Day L.A.?

woulda worked for a motel bathtub - oh well

by Jo Naylor

 E: That would be discovering that my roommate and best friend died in the bathtub. Totally rocked me to my roots.

K: OMG! I bet! I hope there’s not too many more horrible surprises for you!

E: Oh, there are.  I definitely have an enemy. No names though; I don’t want to spoil the book. I can tell you it comes out of left field at me. Completely shocked me.

K: Oh wow! Well, at least you don’t have a nemesis, too!

E: As for a nemesis I guess Constable Larry ‘Life-Time’ Perkins would qualify. It took almost forever to convince him that my best friend Joel didn’t commit suicide and was actually killed.

K: Your author sounds as mean as mine! Hopefully he takes it easy on you after that!

E: Not really. I spend a lot of the book trying to stay alive. Once the killer knew that I knew he was a killer he did everything in his power to kill me. I had to avoid that while I attempted to Nancy Drew up enough evidence to convince Constable Perkins that I was right.

K: Are you these authors don’t know one another? That sounds familiar… *eyes Jo*. Speaking of authors, if you could say something to Mr. McFadden right now, what would it be?

E: Do you have a sequel planned? Because, despite all the fighting I had to do, this was fun.

Tony McFadden: *whispers from off stage*  Yes. Early next year.

K: Wow, instant answers. I’m impressed! Talk about a well-organized machine!  Well, while we’re doing shout outs, would you like to say anything to your readers?

E: Something I was told. “Every time self-doubt crawls into your skull, grab it by the throat and kick it’s head in.” Seriously.

Moore Hotel ninja kick

Hi-yah! “Every time self-doubt crawls into your skull, grab it by the throat and kick it’s head in.” (image by Seth Sawyers)

K: That is fantastic advice. Do you mind if I write that down? *digs randomly through pockets for a pen*. Okay, well, maybe not. I’ll just have to remember it, I guess. Though I think we’re almost out of time. Before you have to go, though, what is the one thing you want the most in the whole world?

E: World peace? Ha. Just kidding. No, really, world peace would be great, but it’s not achievable. What I really want the most in the whole world is to be able to be financially comfortable while I pursue acting. Financially comfortable means I can choose what I want to do and not have to show for auditions for roles that are so not like me that I want to head back to Australia.

K: That seems pretty reasonable to me! Ellie, thanks so much for stopping in! You’ve been a great interviewee (Unlike some vampires I know!) and I wish you the greatest of luck in your sequel and hope that someday I’ll turn on the TV and see you there! (Not like I ever get to go to the movies…)

You can find Ellie Bourke in G’Day L.A., available at Smashwords ( http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/55698) and Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004XWC0AO)

Also a special thanks to Tony McFadden for playing along!

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Whew I was tired by the end of this – very action packed. When do you have time to audition, much less actually act?

    Good interview !

    Reply
  2. Sue, if it’s okay with you, I’m going to reply on Ellie’s behalf. She’s surfing at Zuma right now.

    Ellie managed to land a recurring role in one of her favorite TV shows and a lead in a movie across from Colin Hanks and Neil Patrick Harris. ;^)

    More details in the book.

    There’ll be a sequel of sorts early next year. Being rich and famous isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

    Apparently.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep