Interview with Rebecka Saberhagen

Hello! My name is Katelina, and welcome to Weekend Character Interviews. Using state of the art-mumbo-jumbo author magic, Jo has temporarily bent the laws of fictional space and time to allow various literary universes to converge long enough for me to ask different characters a few questions. Since I spend a lot of time in the Amaranthine series quizzing vampires on what they’re doing, where they’re going and why, Jo thought I would be the perfect interviewer. 

 

Today we have Rebecka Saberhagen (I love her name!), the vampire heroine from Fledgling, the first book in the Coiree Guardian series by Mari Miniatt.  

A nice black cover 🙂

Katelina:  Hello, Rebecka and thanks for being here! Though I’ve had fun with my mortal guests the last couple of weeks, I have to say it’s great to get back to some vampires! (That is, vampires who don’t want to eat me!)

 Rebecka: You’re safe. I don’t plan on attacking you, or anything.

 K: *laughs* Always best to check. So tell me a little about yourself!

 R: Well, I live (ha!) in Deerbow City. You can see I’m a heavy girl, and I hate my hair. Although not as much as I used to.

 K: So when Fledgling opens you’re a mortal, right? And then you get turned into a vampire?

R: That’s right. Steopa bites me.  It was horrible, scary, and painful. But if he hadn’t, I would still be the “drama queen” as a friend put it.

K: “Drama Queen”?

 R: Yes. During the story I learn to be myself. I had a point in my life where people took care of me, and I expected it from everyone. Looking back, I was a real horrible person. But then I learned I was strong. I didn’t need people to look after me.

 K: Oh, I see! Would you say that’s your biggest challenge in the story?

R: No, the biggest challenge would be learning to be a vampire. It was a challenge in that there was so much to learn. But a fun challenge.

Pam (True Blood)

from Angie22arts

K: Hmmm. I dunno. I mean it’s such a commitment, isn’t it? Once you’re a vampire, you’re a vampire with no going back. Though, I guess it helps if you’re romantically involved with your vampire, huh? *wink*

R: Actually, it’s not romance. Hard to explain to non vampires. But Steopa and I are linked. I suppose it’s like that bond that couples develop after a few decades. It happened when he bit me. But luckily my friend stepped in and explained to me that Steopa wasn’t the monster I thought he was. He taught me a lot in the first few days. I know he is good looking. He could have been ravishing village women on horseback, if you know what I mean. But that is not what I… like about him. I like how he let me learn on my own, too. He never tried to control me, or tell me when or what I should do. He showed me and let me decide. Not since my real father, had someone done that.

K: Speaking of family, how did they take the vampire transformation, or do you see much of them now?

R: I see my brother John, yes. But then I found out before Steopa bit me that he had been feeding our friend Vincent. I had been living with a vampire in the same building and didn’t know it (I told you I was self-centered!). Anyway, Johnny didn’t seem to be too freaked out. So I can still see him. As for my mother, I am staying away. Too much temptation to harm her.

K: If she’s as annoying as my mother I understand – *cough* – erm, I mean, anyway, so, being a vampire has really changed your life. I have to admit it would be kind of nice to be super strong and not be scared of anything, anymore. Or, is there something that scares you still?

R: Ghouls. Humans don’t understand when they see those things. I think that sightings of them inspired zombies. But they are vampires that could not or would not drink human blood. Now they “live” in cemeteries digging up corpses to eat. And sometimes go after fresh meat. They don’t care what or who they eat. Steopa had a chunk of his arm taken out by one. But I knock it away. First time I realized how strong I had gotten. They are nasty vile, parasites. I hate running into them.

Zombie

Photo by Mark Hill

K: Wow! I was thinking something like rejection – holy crap those sound scary! *shivers* You don’t have any other enemies, do you?

R: Enemy by proxy. This short vampire by the name of Jalmari. He locked horns a few times with Steopa. And during the story was threatening my friends and family. We had to stop him. He was up to some real nasty things.

K: What is it with authors writing us into books full of nasty things? Is yours as bad as mine?

R: My author did a good job. She could have made me thin, pretty, and strong from the beginning. I thank her for not doing that. Though, I’m sorry the readers had to meet me when I was difficult to deal with.

K: Well, if you don’t change and evolve then what’s the point? Who wants to read a book about someone who is already perfect? It takes all the fun out! Sadly, I think we’re almost out of time, but before you have to go back to your universe, what is the one thing you want the most in the whole world?

R: Before I met Steopa. Something to settle my head. That’s why I had so many pills. Now, I want to spend the rest of my time with him. I can’t see me going anywhere else.

That’s one of the sweetest answers I’ve gotten so far! Thanks so much for stopping by, Rebecka! I have to say you’re one of the nicest vampires I’ve ever met! It’s been a real change not to have to fear for my life for a few minutes!

You can find Rebecka in Fledgling, the first book in the Coriee Guardians series by Mari Miniatt. The book is available in soft cover or Kindle from Amazon  http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0982666004?ie=UTF8&tag=thecoi02-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0982666004

Or from Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/13210

And a special thanks to Mari for playing along! Be sure to check out her website at http://mariminiatt.com

If you’re an author and would like your character(s) to be interviewed by me, then check out this very cool page that has all the details:

https://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/character-interviews/

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I love your weekend interviews! I’ll have to check out Fledgling. It sounds like an interesting read.

    Reply
  2. Yes, it does sound interesting. And I’m sure it gave Katelina something to think about 😀
    I’m just a tad confused though. Is Mari a pseudonym ? I’m always interested in why people use alternate names since I do that as well.
    Hey, very impressive – Jorick stayed out of her way (for a change)…..

    Reply
    • hee-hee, I know! I guess Jorick must have been busy or something. Probably off with Oren planning God knows what 😉

      Reply
  3. Thanks for letting Rebecka do the interview. She doesn’t like to talk to too many people

    Mari is my real name. 😀

    I am sure Rebecka and the rest would love to have you read the books.

    Reply
    • And thanks to Rebecka for being willing to chat with us 😉

      That’s cool! I like that “i” at the end instead of a “y”, though I bet you get a lot of people spelling it wrong. (That happens to me a lot!)

      Reply
      • It ends being Marie or Maria most of the time. LOL.
        Since I came an author, I have run into a few others, so who knows, it might be a big name one of these years, then I might be able to buy a key chain with my name on it!

        Reply
  4. It was a good book, and it was refreshing to not have the drop dead gorgeous, super-strong heroine for a change. Buffy comes to mind when I say that. 😉

    Reply
  5. Another fine interview. Gouls can be scary creatures.

    Reply

Share your dark side...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Eternal Night : Amaranthine Gender Swap

    When Kaden meets the beautiful but strong Johanna, he doesn't know he's entering a world of eternal night; a world of vampires. Is it worth the death, pain, and nightmares to stay by her side? Enjoy all the books in one long saga.

    This is NOT the gender swap previously published on Patreon.

    Start reading today on Kindle Vella!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,375 other subscribers
  • Shades of…Jorick?

    You asked for it, so here it is! Join me on Patreon to read Shades of Gray from Jorick's point of view! Peer into Jorick's mind and get all the behind the scenes events Katelina couldn't see.

    Become a patron!

  • Amaranthine: The Complete Saga

    Find the complete Amaranthine Saga, as well as Brothers of Darkness, the expanded Vampire Morsels, and the expanded Tales of the Executioners on Dreame, WebNovel, AnyStory, and more!

    Start reading today!

  • Blog Categories

  • Coming Events!

    Nothing for now

  • Joleene Naylor

    Joleene Naylor

    An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

    Personal Links

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • Find me on Facebook

  • get featured

  • Authors db

  • Want your ebook autographed?

    Check out Authorgraph.com to get your digital ebooks autographed!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Joleene Naylor

  • Editing services

    devilinthedetailsediting
  • Awesome Review Blog

    I Smell Sheep